We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor condition”
Review of Barracuda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barracuda
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The hotel is in a very poor condition, no beach, lousy service only positive was that it was in the centre of town.. We left after 2 days, of 5 since it was so bad. We didn't like cozumel much either if that means anything :(

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 172 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed here for one night and could not have been happier! The staff was helpful and there is a dive shop on site. I scheduled a two tank dive for the following morning.

The food at the poolside bar was delicious and the staff was extremely nice.

The rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable. The location is great and if you like to dive this is the perfect location.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank aswift7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Close to downtown San Miguel and Ocean front. One of the older properties on the island and well priced for divers. The rooms are basic but clean and all have mini fridges. No telephones in the rooms, TV's and one queen or 2 double beds. Beds are not the most comfortable but I noted that they were using mattress toppers to soften the blow. Mega Supermarket right across the road is really handy.They have a great pool but if you like quiet this could be a problem as the NO NAME BAR have taken over the pool area and they have visiting crews coming in from the cruise ships,it gets loud during the day. Worst of all they play the same loop of music ad-nauseum, starting at 8:00 am every morning (WHY??) The waitresses working there are really sweet though. But the saving grace of this place is especially Gregorio at the front desk. He is extremely kind, helpful and a true gentleman,

Room Tip: You could ask to have a ground floor room - there are three only and are furthest away from the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valerievancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I have never stayed at this hotel, but have been to the bar, pool and beach club out back a number of times. The hotel shares the area with the No Name Bar. Pool, beach and hotel are SUPER CLEAN. Not crowded. Food is VERY GOOD and reasonably priced. If you are coming to the island on a cruise and want to go to an uncrowded beach, pool area with free WI-FI, this is the place. Even though, I have never stayed in one of the rooms, I did ask the desk clerk to let me see on last time I was there in Jan of 2014. Room was clean, comfortable, and functional. More than enough for a budget trip. Happy New Year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fwtxtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, decent rooms with mini fridge. No internet in room. Two bars around nice patio/pool area. Beach was rocky, great for scuba and snorkeling bad for swimming. Jeanie's Restaurant next door offers 10% discount for guests of Barracuda. Mega store right across the street. I would stay there again.

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank Lindsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Barracuda is a great diver's hotel. I've been staying there for 16 years. Nice rooms with a fridge. The staff are very friendly, attentive and helpful. There is a nice little beach area with a small pool and the world famous No Name Bar where the food is great and the waitresses make you feel at home. Located only a 10 minute walk from the town square, it is within easy walking distance to a myriad of great restaurants and other attractions. Right across the street from the largest super market, the Mega, in town, making it easy to do your shopping and keep the fridge well stocked! Dive Paradise has a dive shop on the premises. A lot of repeat diver customers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgdivemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

been there done that... this has been one of my fav. Restaurants in cozumel mexico... the owner is a dear friend now and the employees serve the best mohitoes and the best fajitas. I think there would hardly be any crew member who hasnt been to this restaurant on their visit to the island of COZUMEL... the pool, the sea, the food.. the drinks awesome.. the HOST will be the owner and he is a true friend...
There is a decent cigar bar as well attached.. and they surely know a lot about cigars... i have always tried their recommendations... they also have a good source of good original cubans.. as well.. in my opinion.. a decent place to hang out and chill for the afternoon... have fun when you are there and give my love to all of them there... enjoy.. ciao..

Room Tip: hand full of rooms and all are decently priced and have sea view... this place is to chill and not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shaj4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.4 mi away
Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Safari Inn
Safari Inn
#39 of 52 in Cozumel
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
#26 of 52 in Cozumel
253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Suites Bahia
Suites Bahia
#30 of 52 in Cozumel
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barracuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barracuda

Address: Avenida Rafael E. Melgar 628, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $63 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barracuda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barracuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barracuda Hotel Cozumel
Barracuda Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing