We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barracuda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barracuda
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Cozumel
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Located directly on the water and downtown. Perfect scuba diving trip. You get picked-up directly from the hotel dock every morning. Rooms are very basic but clean. We dive up to 4 dives a day so did not see the room much. Walking distance to many restaurants, ferry, shopping, etc..

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueBes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    51
    47
    10
    14
See reviews for
21
43
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

When I arrive the front desk tall me there have no reservation under my name and they couldn’t give me any room because there were no vacancy.
I did make the reservation on line 4 weeks prior and pay for it, but as I can see they have terrible organization, no booking or software control other than a simple paper list of who is arriving that day. The personal has terrible service and they didn´t even try to find my another option.
Also the Hotel look old and not to clean.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank luis_butron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cozumel hotels

Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed at the Barracuda over Thanksgiving week 2011. Note that this is not a "resort" or luxury hotel by any means. The rooms are modest, and there aren't any resort-type services or activities. It is a great hotel if you are on the island to dive and primarily use a hotel for sleeping. If you plan to hang out at the hotel a lot, you may be happier with a resort.

The pros - great location (walking distance to town, on the water, all rooms have an ocean view, most dive operations will pick you up at their pier, across the street from Mega), clean with daily maid service, safe, inexpensive (prices often drop to fill vacancies if you wait to book your trip - I paid $48/night by waiting until 4 days before my trip), mini-fridge in room.

The cons - no in-room safe (keeping stuff at the house safe is a pain). Pool area is loud and crowded during the day - generally not a problem for me as I would get back from diving at 2 or 3 and the pool area quiets downs around 5. Water pressure in my room (401) was pretty weak, but manageable.

Other things to consider: No elevator and I had a 4th floor room - I like taking stairs, but if it is a problem, request a room on a lower level. Beds were very firm - again, I like firm beds, but consider if you have a strong preference otherwise. Staff seemed friendly, but I had very little interaction with them, so I can't really comment much about that.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PSUsnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

My husband is a diver and I'm a snorkler, so we thought we'd try the Hotel Barracuda on this trip to Cozumel. My husband had stayed there many years ago on a dive trip, and didn't have very nice things to say about it, but that had been over 20 years ago. I was sure it had been updated since then. Turns out....not so much updating. Just a basic room with 2 double beds. HARD beds. TV, but no remote, no hair dryer, no shampoo; but we did have a small fridge. There is plenty of hot water and clean towels, and all rooms have a spectacular Caribbean/Pool/Bar view. From your balcony you can watch cruise ships come and go, parasailing, Mexican Navy maneuvers and many ocean swimmers and snorkelers. The dive boats will pick you up right behind the hotel, and you can snorkel right off the dock there. The pool is well maintained, food is decent at the pool bar, and the wait staff are friendly and helpful.The hotel houses the No Name Bar which is the gathering place for off-duty cruise ship crew. They are serious about blowing off steam, and the party goes on every day. Good news....they don't generally party late at night. The hotel is in a great location for restaurants, shopping, directly across the street from Mega, the local supermarket. Not a luxury hotel, but if you just want to dive and/or party, the Barracuda is fine.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kwhalen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel for going on 11 years. It is great for scuba divers. Dive Paradise picks up up at their pier. Comfortable rooms. No frills. Recently remodeled. Nothing for kids, homeymooners, ect... But perfect for what it is. Also walking distance from town

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavinnailbender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Loved the view from my balcony, snorklins, jumping off a sea wall and walking out with concrete steps and a handrail, swim up bar, MEGA store across the street (sells Kirkland products)THE EMPLOYEES REALLY MAKE YOU FEEL COMFORTABLE AND I ALWAYS WANT TO RETURN.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

I have stayed at The 'Cuda many times with my buddies on long weekend dive trips. If you want bang for the buck while diving and having a great time, then this is the place for you. The 'Cuda is not plush, its not fancy, its not high-profile. If you want all that spa-oriented stuff, The 'Cuda is not for you.

If you want a cool, laid back, CLEAN, diver-oriented place to stay that is in town and within walking distance to all the cantinas, then THE 'CUDA IS FOR YOU.

They have no problem with dive boats picking you up on their pier. The Mega store is across the street and all rooms have refrigerators...so you can load up on beer and snacks...no problem.

One bit of advice: Do not eat at the No Name Bar...I got deathly sick there last year. The bar is NOT owned by The 'Cuda...so dont say you were not warned.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ScubaMom07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.9 mi away
Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Safari Inn
Safari Inn
#38 of 50 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 50 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 stars 850 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#10 of 50 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
#21 of 50 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barracuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barracuda

Property: Barracuda
Address: Avenida Rafael E. Melgar 628, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barracuda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Barracuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barracuda Hotel Cozumel
Barracuda Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing