We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Price Make This a Winner”
Review of Suites Bahia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Suites Bahia
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Location and Price Make This a Winner”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This hotel is just half a block in from the main street and a couple easy blocks from the public ferry. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a parking lot available if you have a car, thought it is several blocks away. The breakfast is also a few blocks away but is very good. The rooms are clean and comfortable but certainly not anything fancy. Our room had a small kitchen, but we had to specifically ask for a stove top, which they were happy to provide. It looked like at one time there was a place for a little kitchen table but they have put in another king size bed in it's place.
Be aware that if you are not in an ocean view room you may likely be in a room with a big window and a view of the brick wall about three feet away.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikkiZyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    73
    34
    5
    8
See reviews for
28
74
37
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed here as part of a dive package with our dive shop. This is a great place if you are looking for a cheap room and close to main area. The breakfast is included which is one block away at Casa Mexicana. The buffet was nice with fresh fruit and juices, carrot juicer, omelet station and pancakes, yogurts, breakfast potatoes and sausages(hotdogs?) and other items. The price listed for breakfast alone was $13USD.

The kitchenette is large fridge, microwave and plates & utencils. Cable included but didn't watch TV, we're here to dive! AC is right behind TV? Close to ferry and right off of ocean street, Avenida Rafael Melgar, just two blocks to our dive shop. Quiet at night in our room. Hot water worked. Easy to walk to many fine restaurants and taxis always available. We had one king and one queen bed. Staff was very nice and helpful. They have a computer in lobby and Wifi for rooms

Good location and value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south face the street, can be a bit noisy. rooms on the west face the building next doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurfdogSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Suites Bahia is located three blocks from the ferry and just off the malecon, so very convenient. The kitchenette includes a microwave, plates, bowls, no cutlery and no dishcloth or dishsoap. Our room had one queen and one king sized bed, both were comfy. There was a nice balcony that looked onto a side street, air conditioning and lots of cable TV. The streets below are noisy with party people in the evenings. So, if screaming in the middle of the night bothers you, this is not the place for you. There is a safe in the room and the Mexican architectural feature of a window that opens into the hallway. So, people concerned about security, might be sleepless. Some of the staff spoke English, and sometimes there was someone at reception, and sometimes there was no one there. There's a GREAT coffee shop across the street.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10flags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Staff was gracious and friendly. Room was nice and well maintained. No noise problems for sleeping. They partner with another hotel about two blocks away to provide a lovely breakfast.

The location is good, too, if you like being near the heart of the action. Walking distance from the ferry, restaurants, supermarket, and the local municipal market. Also, near a shop selling fine tequilas (better than the Duty Free shop).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherZen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is a great value hotel. When off the ferry you to to the main street (turn right towards the cruise ships) - go down 4 blocks and look to the left down the streets and you will see it - or see the Pizza Hut. The hotel entrance is right across the pizza hut.
You don't need a taxi and can walk there from the ferry with a 5 min walk.

Location is great close to all the shops shopping and you can get to the town center and restaurants, grocery store anywhere to get anything you want really with a 5 min walk. If you need any recommendations the hotel staff will tell you where everything is.

I booked expedia.com.mx and got a deal and check-in was easy and seamless. The hotel staff and service is friendly and very helpful with anything - restaurant recommendations and getting set up on the free wifi. I was on the 4th floor off the street - quiet and great location. The room I had was two queen beds, a kitchenette with refrig. Simple- clean - and aircon and also TV.
Some rooms have a balcony and are on the street.
Includes a free breakfast at a sister hotel - Casa Mexicana - a short walk on the main road down a couple of blocks away from the ferry. Breakfast incl. - with cereal, made to order omelets, waffles, eggs, toast, fruit and so on. 1st class breakfast.
There are some great restaurants pizza hut across the street - a really nice Italian restaurant Sensi -

Bottom line it is not a luxury hotel and can be a bit dated. Beds were nice and and not too bad to sleep. This hotel is a safe bet for someone solo - or traveling with friends, or diving. You really can't go wrong with the hotel at this price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Initially I booked another hotel, but was moved to Bahia due renovation. The upgrade was to better as this was closer to everything, few meters from main avenue and few blocks from the center. Many local restaurants around. The breakfast is organized few blocks from the hotel in "sister" hotel. we just loved the breakfast, so many choices and they all so rich! The room was decent size and it had little kitchen - great for making fast snacks or cooling down your drinks! Will come again!

Room Tip: Make sure you purchase with breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This budget hotel is just a couple of blocks away from the ferry terminal. No need to take a taxi! The entrance is on the side street, with a small reception area and has a couple of free computers for guests to use. We got a corner room on the top (4th) floor, which has a balcony with ocean view and side street view. The room has free wifi, a jacuzzi, a mini-fridge, a small walk in closet, and a mini tv with mostly Spanish channels. The bar/restaurant on the side street can be very loud, but if you close the door and turn on the air conditioning (which is loud), much of the noise can be minimized. We spent 4 nights there, and I think by midnight the music has died down. I had ear plugs and didn't bother me. But I suppose it can be a bit louder on the lower level. The room itself is a bit dated, but for the price, it's definitely worth it.

The free breakfast at Casa Mexicana a couple blocks south was great! It has good fresh orange and grapefruit juice, made to order eggs, french toast, pancakes, bread, some hot dishes, fresh fruits, yogurt and cereal to choose from.

Plenty of restaurants to choose from within walking distance. I would come back again for sure!

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor or choose a room not facing the side street to avoid the noise from the bar/re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kutepanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.1 mi away
Suites Colonial
Suites Colonial
#30 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
#25 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mary Carmen
Hotel Mary Carmen
#24 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites Bahia

Property: Suites Bahia
Address: Avenida Rafael E. Melgar sur 3, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Suites Bahia 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suites Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Bahia Hotel Cozumel
Bahia Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing