We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent Value! Great Location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suites Bahia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Suites Bahia
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Value! Great Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is an affordable place to stay, right in the heart of cozumel. The town square is a couple of blocks away and shopping and dining opportunties abound in every direction. You can even find a decent little beach hut with 15 peso beers, a sandy beach and snorkling. It's just a 15 minute walk down the main road in the direction of the airport.
We stayed for 3 weeks and the included breakfasts were always fantastic! There was always fresh juices and a constant variety of buffet specials, you could always get custom omelets or waffles and you could add a wide variety of fresh fruit or nut toppings to the latter......Yum! The breakfast would sustain us through to the mid-afternoon at which time we'd often enjoy a more traditional dinner in one of the enchanting little homes that are sprinkled in the area. They typically serve a great 3 course meal for less than 100 pesos.including a non-alcholic beverage.
The hotel staff are helpful and friendly, the rooms are spacious. Apartment sized fridges are in every room and there is lots of room in them for Water and so forth. All in all, this is a great place to call "adventure central" when staying on Cozumel.

Room Tip: We decided the best rooms were the balcony rooms on the side street side of the hotel. There you got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iGrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    65
    32
    5
    6
See reviews for
25
66
36
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
427 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is a centrally located hotel in the downtown part of Cozumel. Close to the piers for being picked up for diving, close to the big supermarket to stock up on some consumables. The rooms were large, clean, and simple. A large refrigerator was provided, along with a microwave and some utensils, plates, bowls, cups and glasses. The closet safe came in handy. The cleaning staff cleaned the room from one end to the other every day. Large shower with plenty of hot water. I took a group of divers this past week and we had a great stay. Our only complaint was that the internet was not consistently up. It is easy enough to find free wi-fi in Cozumel, so this didn't really provide a hassle except for later at night.

Keep in mind this is not a fancy high end hotel. It is a basic, clean centrally located hotel perfect for divers or the budget minded traveler. Our continental breakfast was awesome, and was provided at the sister property about a block and a half away.

Room Tip: The non-ocean front rooms are quieter. But if you want a view, book a room with a balcony, they do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeepBlueDives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights out of a 9 day stay in Cozumel. We were looking for a place to stay downtown within our budget and we were glad we found this place. Suites Bahia provides you with a nice room, we got the room that had ocean view and loved it! The breakfast was provided as well we only had to walk a block or so to Casa Mexicana. They had waffles a variety of options to eat from. We were very pleased with the service. Left our car at the Punta Langosta parking lot and had no problems. Wi-fi signal worked great. If you feel like having more of a local experience yet still be around to see traffic from the cruises this is the place to stay. We will be back here without a doubt:) Sunsets are just amazing from across the street.

Room Tip: Do get a Oceanview its the Best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ixchel0927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeastern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

This is a basic clean downtown hotel that is within minutes of many restaurants and shops. This hotel is not for everybody but it was perfect for me. Large room with an ocean view and a balcony. A king size bed and a queen are divided by a partition which was perfect to put things on.Plenty of lights and outlets to plug things in and the free wifi was great.A separate kitchen with a microwave and a full size refrigerator and sink gave added room to spread out.Plenty of hot water in a stand up shower. Air worked great and did not notice any street noise at least none the bothered me.Beds are hard but we like then that way and slept perfect for our week stay.Safety deposit box in closet came in handy.This place is super clean and a perfect place for divers if using the downtown pier to go diving with one of the local shops. We rented a car from Isis and parked the car over night at the Punta Langosta parking lot which was 2 blocks away.I have stayed a many downtown hotels over the years and liked this one very much.For the price it can't be beat.The free breakfast at Casa Mexicana was outstanding.

Room Tip: Get and ocean view room and don't forget to tip the waitstaff at the breakfast buffet at Casa Me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, BA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

This is a very, very old hotel. I stayed in a standard room that barely had furniture - only the bed, a full fridge (?) and a TV. But the location is perfect, right in the middle of everything. If you're staying for a short time it's okay but only if so. The breakfasts served in the Casa Mexicana hotel, a block away, we're excellent!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baianointheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

I booked a room at Suites Bahia for a week while on a dive vacation. The room was clean and comfortable. A breakfast buffet was provided at a partner hotel about two blocks down the street. The location of the hotel was perfect for walking around the town in the evening after a day of diving. There are a multitude of restaurants within a three minute walk from the hotel.

This is not a resort. It is a comfortable, reasonably priced hotel in a nice location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aaronknueppel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Good clean room
Great location - walking distance from Ferry Pier and downtown
Great breakfast at sister hotel Casa Mexicana 2 blocks away
Nice balcony
Fridge and microwave very practical but no stove
Great service
Only negative is noise in rooms located on the street side which was our case
Very fair price for what you are getting and super safe neighborhood close to everything

Room Tip: Choose room with balcony for a place to have your meals and relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helpcuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.1 mi away
Suites Colonial
Suites Colonial
#30 of 50 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
#19 of 50 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Agave Azul
Hotel Agave Azul
#38 of 50 in Cozumel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 50 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
0.1 mi away
Safari Inn
Safari Inn
#36 of 50 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites Bahia

Property: Suites Bahia
Address: Avenida Rafael E. Melgar sur 3, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Suites Bahia 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Suites Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Bahia Hotel Cozumel
Bahia Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing