We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for Divers”
Review of Suites Bahia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Suites Bahia
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I booked a room at Suites Bahia for a week while on a dive vacation. The room was clean and comfortable. A breakfast buffet was provided at a partner hotel about two blocks down the street. The location of the hotel was perfect for walking around the town in the evening after a day of diving. There are a multitude of restaurants within a three minute walk from the hotel.

This is not a resort. It is a comfortable, reasonably priced hotel in a nice location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aaronknueppel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 207 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2012

Good clean room
Great location - walking distance from Ferry Pier and downtown
Great breakfast at sister hotel Casa Mexicana 2 blocks away
Nice balcony
Fridge and microwave very practical but no stove
Great service
Only negative is noise in rooms located on the street side which was our case
Very fair price for what you are getting and super safe neighborhood close to everything

Room Tip: Choose room with balcony for a place to have your meals and relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helpcuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We really wanted to stay at a Downtown hotel but were in for a dissapointment. The room was stuffy and we had no view. It had an ok downtown location, but not worth it. It was not a way to spend our vacation, we moved to another hotel and found it to be much better.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Stayed Fri-Sat Feb. 2012. Three couples. Two couples got room 3rd floor facing street with a nice deck with 2 chairs and an angled view of the ocean. The deck was good for watching the Mardi Gras parade, and drying swim suits/towels. One couple paid same price got room other side of hall, window didn't open and had ugly view of mechanical pipes. Definitely ask for room on street side with deck! Large, clean room, closet, safe, 2 beds, kitchenette w-microwave, fridge. Not a luxury hotel, but for a few nights, everything you need. Easy walk to ferry. Walk 2 blks to sister hotel for a FANTASTIC buffet breakfast--really worth going, and can hang out on luxurious 2nd floor hotel lobby, overlooking main street and great view of ocean. I'd stay at Bahia Suites again, if my goal was to be out and about most of the day.

Room Tip: Pay a few dollars more and reserve a room with a deck and ask for it when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katmerry077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Great location for city life & dining out. We are divers so we avoid the all-inclusives preferring a solid breakfast and then dinner out. Bahia offers a great breakfast at it's sister hotel Casa Mexicana (2 blocks away) and there are tons of mom & pops to up scale eateries within walking distance. The Coffee Shop & the Thirsty Cougar are steps away from Bahia's front door and are really good spots. You will quickly become a welcome regular.

Cozumel is a great & safe walking city. And since there are lots of local dive ops that will pick you up on the piers (1-2 blocks away) there is really no need for a car. But on this trip we were diving with Papa's and so we rented a scooter. We got a great deal from Margarita at Isis Rentals and had no problem keeping it parked over night out front at Bahia.

With or without transportation be sure to go to Camarones Dorado on Benito Juarez across from MAPA. No alcohol, but amazing nonetheless. Guido's has been (and remains) our long-time favorite. Also worth a mention is the Sonora Grill and Del Sol. Both are only a short walk from Bahia and the latter is a legit (& terrific) Argentinian restaurant. Very interesting menu.

While Bahia is a great value as is, it could be something really special with just a bit of TLC. It has loads of Old Mexico charm and decor, but lacks chests and drawer space. The shower needs a complete re-mod and in the interim some hooks for drying swim and dive clothes would be nice. Our room was easily large enough for a party of 4 (we were 2), but there is no place to stow clothing except a closet. And that had few hangers and a broken safe. Not good. While our room was clean, getting any linens beyond a single towel or two was by request only. Two more issues: Our room door rattled until I wedged a sandal in it and the door itself had no internal lock or deadbolt. Great examples of little things that make a difference to us.

The Bahia staff were always friendly to very welcoming. I think they care but just need some direction and funds to shape the place up. But in the end, Bahia's location can't be beat (for us) and if we get a good enough deal on out next trip to Cozumel we will consider it. However, it has some tough competition from Casa and several other boutique hotels that are only a block or two away.

We sincerely hope that Suites Bahia ownership heeds this review (& others like it) and invests some vision and pesos into their property. It would be a shame to see a place with such potential go further downhill or close. Cozumel needs Bahia and Bahia just needs to attend to some details.

Did I mention Camrones Dorado?

Room Tip: Divers WILL want a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doctormac83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We were in Cozumel to dive for a week, so our biggest priorities were value and proximity to a pier where we could meet the dive boat.

We couldn't have been happier with our stay at Suites Bahia. The front desk and housekeeping staff were all so nice and helpful. Everything was absolutely spotless and our room was huge. The balcony was well worth the money. The kitchenette with full-sized refrigerator came in really handy for storing big bottles of water, leftovers, and snacks.

As others have said, the breakfast over at Casa Mexicana is wonderful. The food was delicious every day and the staff was really nice.

We're definitely planning to stay at Suites Bahia on our next visit. Great food, great people, great price, and less than a minute from the dive boats. We couldn't ask for anything more.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BijouK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed at the Bahia for 3 days prior to Carnaval 2012. The hotel came with a kitchenette, make up stand and closet. Clean, convenient, and friendly. The best part was the breakfast that is included, that itself is worth 20$ a day, easy. I will stay there again anytime. The beds are hard, but almost all hotels in MX are.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandJ_COZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.4 mi away
Suites Colonial
Suites Colonial
#32 of 52 in Cozumel
125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
#26 of 52 in Cozumel
259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mary Carmen
Hotel Mary Carmen
#25 of 52 in Cozumel
150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Casona Real
Hotel La Casona Real
#37 of 52 in Cozumel
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites Bahia

Address: Avenida Rafael E. Melgar sur 3, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $49 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Suites Bahia 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Suites Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Bahia Hotel Cozumel
Bahia Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing