We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met all our expectations & then some!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Met all our expectations & then some!!”
Reviewed February 26, 2010

We spent 5 nights here in Aug 2009 with our two kids ages 6 & 11. It was because of TripAdvisor that we found this gem. I didn't want to review it b/c I'm afraid of it getting too popular and it becoming a mega resort, so owners if you read this please don't change!
This place was perfect for us. We were on the top floor (4th) and had an incredible view of the beach and sea. We could also see the pool & talk to the kids in the pool from our balcony or v.v., a real plus. The resort is nice and small. You can get anywhere on the property in a min or two, so no long treks to the beach or worries if you left something in your room, also we weren't worried about the kids wondering off. We had a standard room with two double beds, large shower & no musty smell:-) TV was small but we didn't mind, it wasn't on much. The breakfast was Very Good and included in room which made this such a great deal and very affordable. We loved the snorkeling right off the beach. We brought our own gear. The Dive Co is excellent! Very professional and friendly. We had intended to just have my husband dive one day since we had the kids, but the dive company arranged for the kids to come along and snorkel while we took turns diving. They had a separate guide on board for the snorkeling This worked out perfect, keeping in mind that our kiddos are comfortable being on boats and are excellent swimmers...so not sure if this would work for everyone. If your planning to dive a lot the resort is far from the dive spots so you'll spend quite bit of time on the boat just getting to/from the reefs. We had excellent to great service from the front desk, restaurants, beach bar, housekeeping etc. We rented an old VW, but there seemed to be plenty of taxi's around. We didn't use the golf course or spa so I can't comment on them. It is very quiet there, especially at night:-) Oh and our kids loved the turtle garden out front.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilyrose03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    176
    29
    12
    9
See reviews for
158
290
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2010

The hotel is very clean (although the swimming-pool could use a little paint job).

It is a small hotel : fifty rooms, most of them with direct view of the ocean. Ours (#307, "oceanview") was spacious and confortable. It had a large balcony, a king-size bed with a very good mattress, a two square-meter shower cabin with plenty of hot water, ample space for clothes, a safe, etc... The cleaning staff was very discreet, anything but noisy, and they would not mind making the room quite late.

Don't forget that the hotel does not claim to be a "luxury" one in the trivial meaning of the term. It is, officially, a three-stars, which in our view is a blessing because it is far from the major All-Inclusive type that we know very well from experience and often makes you wonder if you are really changing locations. The architecture is simple yet classy, the decoration in very good taste and truly Mexican. In fact, this is what we call real luxury. The atmosphere is cozy, the staff very friendly and efficient.

The breakfast is excellent. Real orange juice. Superb coffee. Eggs on demand (like everywhere), but also delicious waffles. No leftovers in sight : the place being so small, they'd be much too obvious ! You may sit steps away from the water.

The beach is small but very clean. The sand is groomed every day. Of course, there might be some occasional flying plastic next door, but the hotel should not be expected to clean beyond its own grounds. There are enough loungers and palapas for everybody. No need to reserve.

Food and drinks: we ate there on three occasions. Very good cuisine. Great mezcal. Surprisingly good Malbec from Argentina. Mexican dishes carefully cooked and presented. Nice setting. Good service.

Cozumel has such a great variety of excellent restaurants, cheap and easy to reach (80 pesos from Playa Azul to San Miguel), that it does not make sense to go all-inclusive, especially if you want to try the local cuisine (see our separate report) and have maybe fewer, but less watered-down drinks. What's more, some of the AI in the vicinity look too much like soul-less highrises, at least in our opinion.

We will return to Playa Azul and recommend it to our friends.

NB Past experiences in Mexico : Camino Real Zaashila (Huatulco), Copacabana (Playa-del-Carmen), Camino Real (Puebla), Camino Real El Convento (Oaxaca), Maria-Isabel Sheraton (Mexico City), etc. etc...

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gourgazaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

This hotel is in need of some SERIOUS updating if they want to continue to charge the same rates. The rooms are shabby even the "nice/upgraded" rooms. Avoid the family "suites" like the plague. They are poorly furnished... think grandma's house...complete with gold couches and grandma bed. Ocean view rooms are much nicer.

The pool is discolored and small but since the hotel has such an incredible location right on the water you will never use the pool anyways but it doesn't add the the ambience that is for sure.

The spa was WONDERFUL but the front desk and management staff were terrible. There was a lot of confusion when we were there.

All and all I wouldn't have minded the hotel if I had paid less. It is rustic and basic but for $300+++ per night I just couldn't see how they were getting it. I would expect to pay $150 - $200 per night for this quality of hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lkhtravelerSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, SD
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

We arrived for a 7 day stay at the Playa Azul and were greeted very warmly by the front desk staff and a lovely man to help with our bags. The grounds were very well kept and updated. We had booked our hotel on expedia and experienced no trouble at all. We stayed in a suite(room 312) and it was amazing! The view was fantastic-we could see the pool, Caribbean, and all of the beach area. The beach was rarely crowded and we never woke up early to do the dreaded towel save. The beach is a little rocky in some areas, but you can easily walk in without shoes. The beach bar provides nice drinks and food at reasonable prices with excellent service. The beach bar was only open until 7 I think, so noise was never a problem. It does get quiet here quite early-but for us, with early morning golf and scuba, an early night was expected. The golf course is a very nice-$30 a person for a cart-very reasonable. A 70 peso drive or 30 minute walk from the hotel. We did try the discover scuba at Prodive (associated with the hotel) and it was amazing. Joram and Kris (sorry if they are spelled wrong) were amazing-very smart and patient for those who may be a little nervous. We took a taxi into San Miguel every night (80 pesos) for dinner or entertainment-it was very fun later in the evening. The room was very spacious and clean. There is a digital safe in the closet that you input a code, which was very nice to not have a key. The beds were very comfortable-not hard at all. We brought a little cooler for our room for water and such, they give free ice downstairs. It was perfect! We can't think of anything negative to say and are already planning our trip for next year.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MuchofrioenSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

After reading several reviews on Playa Azul, I was confident the hotel wouldn't be a luxury hotel - but I thought it would be better than it was. The hotel is old, the rooms were very outdated and smelled of mildew big time. I felt like I was at Motel 6 on the beach. I would not return to this hotel - even if I was offered a free vacation to this place.

The beach is ok, but there is so much trash surrounding the beach area.There is a small area of beach that is taken care of by the hotel, but walk 30 ft and you see weeds and trash.Trying to get in the water is not easy as there are rocks everywhere. Oh, and bugs everywhere! Between my boyfriend and I, I bet we can home with 100 bug bites.

The food was not good. Three people I met in this small hotel were sick from food - maybe from Playa Azul, maybe not. Who knows. And, what is up with the great reviews on the free breakfast?? Are you kidding me? YUCK!

Service was ok - not great. I've been to Mexico several times and I'm always amazed at how nice the people are at the hotels. There were certainly some nice people that work at this hotel - however, on a 1-10 scale, I would give the service and the personalities a 5 out of 10.

On a positive note, we had a great vacation because of the people we went with and the people we met at the hotel.

Go somewhere else - this hotel is not nice. Don't waste your money on this dump.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pookey39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2010

We chose this hotel based upon the size, price, reviews, and free golf. We were not disappointed in the least.

We were at the beach less than 45 minutes after landing at the airport.

Room was clean. (No musty smell that comes with being on the ocean)

Breakfast, included in room price, was great every morning.

Golf course is well maintained.

The only thing we would do different is rent a cheap car rather than paying for taxis.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

We were here for our 30th anniversary and chose Playa Azul due to northern location and reviews. Nice enough hotel, friendly staff, food was very good, beach bar drinks varied depending on the bartender (poor to good) so we pretty much stuck with beer. We stayed in a standard room, very clean, nice view, though a little small. Didn't like that a 10% tax was added to everything and it went up during the vacation to 12% (New Year tax increase ??). Other resturants had similar or lower pricing that included the tax. We've been to Cozumel numerous times but probably won't stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,063 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
11.2 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
2,175 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Property: Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Address: Carretera a San Juan Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#5 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Azul Golf Scuba Spa is an oceanfront, small, charming and family run hotel distinguished by its personal service from the staff and owners. A truly home-away-from-home resort for those who prefer to be close to the ocean but not far from their room. For those who like to enjoy a wonderful gastronomic experience and friendly atmosphere. Playa Azul is a Golf and Breakfast hotel but if you prefer the All Inclusive vacation our resort offers the best menu (a la carte) both for food and beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba Hotel Cozumel
Playa Azul Hotel Scuba
Playa Azul Resort Scuba
Playa Azul Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing