We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2010

We were here for our 30th anniversary and chose Playa Azul due to northern location and reviews. Nice enough hotel, friendly staff, food was very good, beach bar drinks varied depending on the bartender (poor to good) so we pretty much stuck with beer. We stayed in a standard room, very clean, nice view, though a little small. Didn't like that a 10% tax was added to everything and it went up during the vacation to 12% (New Year tax increase ??). Other resturants had similar or lower pricing that included the tax. We've been to Cozumel numerous times but probably won't stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

497 - 503 of 659 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2010

Really enjoyed our stay at Playa Azul. This is not a full-service type of hotel, but the service is top-notch nonetheless. In other words, don't expect a bellman to greet you at your car and load up your bags for you. Short of that, you'll have everything else you need for service. Front desk folks were always friendly and extremely helpful in arranging dinner reservations, car rental arrangements, golf tee times, and in answering general questions. I was amazed when I went down to the front desk to check in (we arrived late after the desk had closed) and mentioned that our toilet was clogged. Upon returning to my room, the maintenance man was already leaving the room with plunger in hand! WOW! Other requests were similarly handled in rapid fashion.

Breakfasts (included in the rate) were great, especially with the view of the beach and ocean. Again, service was great. We didn't use the restaurant, but did use beach service, which was amazingly attentive. The food was also great from the beach service. Try the mixed ceviche! Waiter rushed us over a replacement soda when we accidentally spilled one of ours.

Our room was of good size. Rose petals on the bed upon arrival. It was quite clean, although there was a little mildew in the shower door tracks. Not bad, though, and understandable in the humid climate. Fresh large bottle of water every day. TV was small, but who goes on vacation to watch TV? Our room had a great view of the pool, beach, ocean and the mainland. It was fun watching the cruise ships arrive in the morning and leave after sunset.

The golf course was great. Green fees are included in the rate, but there is a cart rental fee (mandatory). Still, it was reasonable for a course of its caliber. The course was well maintained, challenging (for me, at least) and featured a tremendous amount of wildlife. We saw hundreds of iguanas, several crocodiles, tortoise, snakes, and other creatures that we don't see every other day. My daughter and I played while my wife and other daughter (who don't play golf) went along for the ride every day and enjoyed looking at the wildlife. The course's 19th hole had pretty good food also and a friendly staff.

Don't expect a wild time at this hotel. We arrived late (shortly after 11:00 pm) and thought that we were the only hotel guest. People go to bed early or go to town at night. There are no organized activities at this hotel as in some resorts. Make your own activities. The front desk closes from 11pm to 7am, though there is 24 hour security, which we found to be helpful.

A small, friendly, hotel that will appeal to couples, divers, golfers, and families that don't need to be entertained 24-7.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VacationDreamer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

2nd visit for us. Great beach, snorkel in peace and safety. Visited during Christmas and totally enjoyed the room (ask for 211, the biggest balcony!) Food and service are tremendous and delivered promptly with smiles. Website run by hotel was easy to use and secure. Staff will help you arrange anything you might want to do on the island. Boats for any water excursions including fishing or scuba will pick you up at their own dock! A real plus even though taxis are cheap, usually 80 pesos ($7-8) into town or 140 pesos to the airport. Agree the breakfast is tremendous AND included. Book your trip now, we are already planning our 3rd visit in spring.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hhhggg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2009

Really good service.

Helpful staff, quick and good service. Nationalgeographic PADI divecenter on property.
The resturant at the hotel is good and prices are reasonable. About 4km from city center but taxi is not expensive

Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
Thank AdrianM6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2009

There were goods and bads with Hotel Playa Azul. My boyfriend and I stayed 7 days over Thanksgiving this year for our dive trip. We were in room #111, which was unfortunately right next to the hotel restaurant. We were awoken every morning at 6AM to the sound of the servers setting up. We could also hear just about everything that the adjoining room did and said, along with people walking around in the lobby and flushing toilets above us. The hot water took a good 5 minutes to get going in our room and the beds were super firm (too much for my liking).

The location is up the northcoast from the main town, which makes for a nice, quiet location, but an 80 peso taxi price tag everytime you want to get into and back from town. (Not much goes on downtown when the cruise ships leave port, so don't look to Cozumel for a big nightlife.)

The dive shop was conveniently located there with a dock right on the beach for easy diving pick ups. However, aside from the two small reefs nearby, you have to boat about 45-55 minutes south to get to the bigger reefs. This was a lot of commuting time and took up most of the day. The Dive crew and the captain were fantastic, so I look forward to visiting them again, but will probably stay further south and have them pick us up closer to the reefs. (PS- there are no refunds even if the weather is bad. We had to get vouchers for 2 days that were not dive-able. They're good for 3 years.)

The breakfast buffet every morning was one of the best I've had and the room was big and clean. There's always a taxi waiting to drive you into town and the staff was very nice and helpful. We got a package deal for diving and staying, so it was worth the cost, but we will probably not return.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerseymainie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2009

Spent 10 beautiful days at the Playa Azul Resort in Cozumel. Too many good things to say about this little piece of heaven in one review! Will get the one small negative out of the way first, and certainly the hotel had no control over this in any event. Because of the rains associated with Hurricane Ida, which blew past a day or two before we arrived in early November, there was a lot of standing water on the Island which of course created the perfect environment for breeding mosquitoes—lots of mosquitoes! Generally not too bad during the heat of the day, but first thing in the morning and as soon as the sun set, we had to either run indoors or grab the bug spray. Bugs were even worse on the golf course. So, bring spray just in case, or be prepared to buy it when you get there.

The weather from November 9 – 19th was beautiful. We had a couple of days where the wind picked up, but it was still sunny and warm. The ocean is as beautiful as it looks in all the pictures—clear, turquoise, warm and great for swimming/snorkelling in front of the hotel. Beach is a little rocky, but lots of chairs and shade available for all guests—no need for any “towel saving” for sure!

Hotel room was lovely(#402)—just the right size, clean, and all rooms have some kind of a view of the ocean. We had hoped to stay at the end of the hotel closest to the water, but when we checked in, we were put a ways back, overlooking the pool. We simply asked, and were switched to a room right near the end of the building—with the most perfect view to see the sun setting over the water each evening.

Food at the hotel was great. A yummy breakfast buffet was included each day with lots of choices. The restaurant food for lunch/dinner was good and reasonable—and you could also choose to eat lunch at the beach bar within feet of the water. Drinks were free-poured and also reasonably priced—the margies were especially good! We would take a cab into Cozumel most evenings to have dinner – lots of choices and for the most part, very reasonable. A few recommendations:

The golf was fabulous—course in great shape, lots of crocs and other assorted wildlife and birds. No problem getting tee times in the morning when wanted. Staff were helpful and friendly. Birdies were few and far between though! Challenging course, and as many have said before, bring lots of balls!

The Dive shop on site at the hotel was very professional. Took lessons and did my first and 2nd dives with no problems. Stephie, the manager, is lots of fun. She loves her morning coffee, with double cream and sugar (we call her “double, double”).

All staff at the hotel were professional, friendly and speak English very well. The manager/owner is on the premises quite often and mingles with the guests. In fact, he sent us off personally when we were catching our cab to the airport, thanking us for staying at his hotel—amazing!

The whole holiday was very affordable. The Playa Azul certainly lived up to its reputation as an award-winning resort in all areas. We will definitely return—probably a number of times.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KennyGKamloops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

This was our first trip to Mexico from the USA and we couldn't have picked a better location or hotel! We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and the hotel staff made our trip very special. We golfed at the Cozumel Country Club (included with your stay, plus cart fee) almost every day. The course was in great shape and we never tired of it. There were so many different creatures on the golf course: iguanas, havalinas, vultures, crocodiles, butterflies, etc. The food at the hotel was incredibly good and inexpensive. The included breakfast buffet changed every day and the staff took care of every need. There is snorkeling off the beach right at the hotel (equipment available to hotel guests for free). I couldn't believe how many fish were right there off the beach, they were beautiful. We would definitely go back again and again!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoiseTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
7.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 53 in Cozumel
607 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
0.3 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Address: Carretera a San Juan Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#3 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $183 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Azul Golf Scuba Spa is an oceanfront, small, charming and family run hotel distinguished by its personal service from the staff and owners. A truly home-away-from-home resort for those who prefer to be close to the ocean but not far from their room. For those who like to enjoy a wonderful gastronomic experience and friendly atmosphere. Playa Azul is a Golf and Breakfast hotel but if you prefer the All Inclusive vacation our resort offers the best menu (a la carte) both for food and beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba Hotel Cozumel
Playa Azul Hotel Scuba
Playa Azul Resort Scuba
Playa Azul Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing