We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Playa Azul
Nearby Hotels
$302
$239
InterContinental
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$347
$289
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$242
$196
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $236/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$161
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Allegro Cozumel(Cozumel)
$139
$115
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 06/01
Book now, pay at stay
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of $230/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$155
$125
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 05/30
$219
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$200
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $198/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cozumel Palace(Cozumel)
$504
$456
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (681)
Filter reviews
681 results
Traveler rating
447
181
32
12
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
447
181
32
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach barfree golfblue dreambeach club next doorcart feesmall hotelall inclusive optioncozumel country clubfishquiet vacationall inclusive planevery morninghotel guestskey lime pienorth sidebreakfast was includedocean view
Filter
Updating list...
603 - 608 of 681 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2006

We stayed at the Playa-Azul the week of Jan 14 through 21, 2006. We had a wonderful time, despite the ongoing reconstruction due to the hurricane, and the fact that the weather wasn't totally cooperative.

This is a mavelous, small hotel, with a friendly staff and great service. It's clean, quiet, and spacious, with its own nice beachfront and pool.

There IS hurricane damage, to be sure, but the hotel is functioning quite well. The most noticeable signs of the damage are the lack of dining space (all meals are served on the outdoor, covered veranda right now), and the painters and other contractors who are working around the place during the day. But the work is quite unobtrusive and non-invasive.

I loved the beach chairs, each pair with its own palapa and table, and the rebuilt sandy beach. The beachfront that goes down to the water is still rocky, though, so snorkel shoes are recommended!

We thought the staff were great! Hernan at the front desk helped me place phone calls to my bank and to order pizza, he also helped us rent a car (and made sure we got a 2005 one!). The wait staff in the restaurant were friendly, too, and always willing to make a special order if needed.

I highly recommend this hotel! We'll definitely go back next year!

Stayed: January 2006
18  Thank khabita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Stilwell
117
Reviewed November 10, 2005

We have stayed at Playa Azul multiple times and we love it! The location is great, as it is very quiet north of town - no highway noises. The rooms are very clean and nicely appointed. The front desk staff is fabulous and very helpful. After just one stay there, they greeted us by name upon our return. The pool is clean. The beach is small and beautiful. The dining room is well run and the food is good. Playa Azul is a great Mexican hotel. If you are looking for a huge resort with daily activities, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a small boutique hotel, this is the ticket!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Macomb, Michigan
111
Reviewed August 22, 2005

My husband, myself and my 7-year-old twin daughters spent 5 gorgeous days at the Playa Azul Beach and Golf Resort. We were delighted by our whole experience. Upon walking into the lobby, we immediately felt on vacation. The atmosphere was perfect. We had an awesome view from our balcony, all rooms have them. We overlooked the pool and the beach. We never had to fight for a beach chair. Whenever we got down to the beach, there were always chairs open.
One of the nicest things about our stay was the free buffet breakfast!!! The menu changed daily and we could always have omelets, pancakes, french toast, or eggs made!! The food was awesome.
This is a great hotel I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2005

This was our first trip to Mexico or anywhere Tropical/beach. After several days of surfing the net and evaluating cost against the price involved, as well as our criteria for a hotel on the beach with a bar, we decided on Playa Azul.

THE GOOD:
Good location: just out of the city, about 5-10 minute drive with the ocean on your right as your driving (nice:)

We stayed in the "new" section, and had a beautiful veiw from our balcony.

THE OK:
Food: only ate twice at the cantina bar, food was ok by no means spectacular, but also not unappitizing.

The Bar: nice right on the beach

The Staff: the desk clerk definately didn't like his job, and some of the bartenders didn't as well. But most of the staff was fairly freindly. Wouldn't rely on them to give you too many tips for your vacation though.

THE BAD:
Our room was nice for what we paid (we think), only drawback was that after you run the a/c, the room smells a little musty.

OVERALL: Had a great trip, explored the whole island, and based on what we saw, we think this hotel has got a great location and is nice for the price. Cozumel was a great place to relax on the beach with a cervasa or three and enjoy a couple fish tacos.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank BaconLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2005

My fiance and I stayed at the Playa Azul hotel July 2-9th. When we arrived at the airport we were met by our Apple representative and the hotel sales manager, as the hotel had overbooked for the first night of our stay. The hotel arranged a room at another resort (not as nice as Playa, but not much else seems to be) for the night and up graded us to an oceanview suite for the remaining 6 days at Playa, provided a free dinner in their restauraunt, and we received full breakfast daily. Additionally, they paid for the taxi between hotels the following day. In the end it worked out great, we got to see a small reef at the other hotel, which we never would have seen otherwise and our up-graded room was wonderful! We feel the hotel more than compensated us. As for Playa Azul: wonderful service, great food, and a small but gorgeous SAND beach with beautiful water. The pool usually had children in it, but we were more than happy with the beach. There is a bit of good snorkeling along the pier, but we spent more time floating than snorkeling here. Head to Chauknaab or a snorkeling tour for better snorkeling. Service: front desk was very helpful with everything from renting a Jeep to getting maintenance to fix a bathroom problem... the staff was always friendly (even to the obnoxiously drunk Americans we saw being extremely rude one night)...in short we were extremely pleased with the service. The restaurant was never crowded, which surprised us as the three meals we ate there were wonderful. (But going into town was also as simple as a 5$ taxi ride and there are multiple great restaurants there) We wouldnt recommend the all inclusive plan as San Miguel has some great places to eat. Room: we received an ocean view suite in the older portion of the hotel, great view, large suite and bathroom (with lovely blue tile). No complaints here. Golf: we didnt bring our clubs, but heard from other guests that the course was nice and that they saw tons of wildlife. But get an early tee time as it warms up quickly! As for Cozumel: we recommend renting a car at least for a day to tour the eastern portion of the island...very different beaches, but beautiful! Rough surf compared to the western side. The small beach clubs were fairly empty, so head here if you want a beach "almost" to yourself. We visited Punta Sur and Chaukanaab national parks. Punta Sur was more rugged, but the salt water crocs in the lagoon were neat to see. Snorkeling at Chaukanaab was better that at Punta Sur, but more crowed due to the cruises. As for restaurants, we really enjoyed Guidos and Prima. We'll be back for sure, and hopefully be certified to SCUBA next time. (Not that you have to be in order to enjoy the island!)

19  Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews