We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
NASHVILLE
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Resort”
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Playa Azul was exactly what we were looking for . My husband & I ( in our late 30's) and my parents ( age 60's ) stayed at this resort. My husband and I have vacationed in Mexico 7 times prior, this was our 1st stay in Cozumel. We have previously stayed at All Inclusive and European style resorts. We do not scuba or golf. We choose to vacation in Mexico for the great weather, beautiful water, nice people, snorkeling, and intriguing ruins.

We chose this resort based on the great reviews on TA, fit our budget, proximity to town, beautiful views from rooms, and relaxation. What we liked most about this resort is the staff are the friendliest we have ever encountered and are very accomodating. All the staff work very hard and are to be praised. The resort is very clean and maintained well. I believe all the rooms have some kind of ocean view. We loved the relaxed atmosphere- but of course San Miguel is close to find a party/action. We snorkled at the resort and enjoyed swimming in the ocean and pool. Breakfast was very good. We had lunch several times at the resort and it was very good as well. We usually ate dinner in town every evening. We had purchased a cooler from a grocery store in town and requested a bag of ice from the bar- no problem. Beach towels are provided. plenty of parking for our rental car. ATM at the Melia Resort north of Playa Azul came in handy.

The resort is located conveniently for all the different ineterests in our group. My husband likes to snorkel, swim, hang out in town. Mother enjoyed taking the ferry to Playa Del Carmen and hiring a cab driver for the day to see the Coba and Tulum ruins (Taxi driver 120 USD for the day). Stepfather enjoyed site seeing driving around the island. I enjoyed relaxing and sunbathing.

Cozumel is very safe. We usually don't stay at the same resort twice but plan on returning to Playa Azul next year because we enjoyed our stay so much. We Also plan of finally learning to scuba dive. This vacation was special because we brought my parents with ( once in a lifetime trip together). Thanks to all the staff at Playa Azul for making this vacation special.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NashvilleMoonbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    174
    29
    12
    8
See reviews for
152
285
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2009

My husband and I stayed here from March 6 – 12. This was our second trip to Cozumel, and we stayed at the Iberostar the first time, so we were eager to try a non-all inclusive hotel, and get out a little more. From the moment we walked into the lobby we felt at peace. The hotel’s décor is beautiful and quiet. Check-in was very easy, and within minutes we were in our room.
I had decided to splurge on a master suite, and we were so happy! We had the top floor room with vaulted ceilings and a fantastic view. The upgrade cost us $95 a day, but we were able to have double the space, with a couch, two chairs, extra window, Jacuzzi tub on the balcony, robes and slippers. We were able to keep the slippers, but left the robe (no clue how much that would have cost.) To us the room does make a difference because we spend a lot of time there on the balcony, and we felt like we had complete privacy. We were able to see into some of the other rooms – they looked identical to ours minus the living room area. The Jacuzzi tub was nice – I only used it once, but it was a thrill to be taking a bath outside, listening to the waves crash and watching the cruise ships go by.
The room was never musty smelling. It had a great closet, safe, separate sink area from the toilet/shower area. The housekeeping staff was fantastic – that room stayed spotless – they even swept the balcony daily and picked up the beer cans. The coffee was excellent, and they provided plenty of large bottles of water. We requested a mini-frig when we checked in and it was waiting for us when we got back from lunch. It took a couple of days to actually get cold enough, but we were grateful to have it.
The restaurants were good. I am still missing the breakfasts! We ate a couple of times at the beach club next door – very convenient because you can charge to the room from there. I really liked the hotel’s cheeseburgers (for some reason I really wanted a cheeseburger!) We never had a problem getting service or being denied anything – we even got a whole bag of ice before we went to the east side. The only problem we had was at the gift shop. My husband bought cigarettes there daily, and the price changed every day. I tried to argue with the lady what the price was the day before, she was adamant about the cost. They were horribly overpriced anyway, so we found a convenience store on the edge of town and got a supply.
We enjoyed our stay there immensely. It was very quiet, yet with the beach club next door, it could be lively at times. It suited us perfectly!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Playa Azul from Feb 15 to 22. The hotel and our vacation in Cozumel exceeded our expectations and we would return for sure. Here is short list of highlights:

1. The Hotel: Lovely breakfast everyday, beautiful location, water colour is stunningly beautiful and so clear, staff were all very friendly and attentive, room was nice with the best part being the balcony ovelooking the ocean, very clean. Golf at the Cozumel Golf Club was great. Loved all the wildlife on the course. Snorkeling off the hotel beach was fun and we saw quite a few fish. Bonus : Hotel is only 5 minutes from the airport!

2. Pro Dive Centre: This dive group is affiliated with the Azul and located right next to it. My husband and I tried Scuba Diving for the first time and would highly recommend using Pro Dive. Sharif and Pablo were excellent instructors. They went way above and beyond to ensure we enjoyed the experience and were safe. Also great passion for the sport. Saw so much amazing life on the reefs including an Eagle Ray. The highlight of our trip.

3. Food: We really enjoyed trying the various restaurants on the island and were happy we did not do the all inclusive thing. Our favorites were Kinta(went twice), La Calenda, Especias, Guidos and Coconuts (East side). The Playa Azul beach club next door to the hotel has great food/drinks is reasonable and staff are great. Nice spot for lunch. Sundays are very busy there with live music.

4. Travelling Around: We rented a converable VW from Isis car rental for the week and would recommend it. We had great fun exploring the island. Going to the East side is a must. Punta Sur was very beautiful. Make sure you climb the lighthouse and spend some time on the fabulous beach. Playa Palancar is also worth a visit. Very relaxing, great beach and good food/drinks.

5. Carnaval : Parade on Saturday night was something to see and we would recommend going at this time of year so you can enjoy the festivites.

6. Flight : Went with Sunwing and we were happy with the flights both ways from Toronto airport and Cozumel.

Besides getting sea sick on the ferry to Playa Del Carmen and getting a flat tire, the trip was almost perfect. We hope to be back real soon. Next week maybe?!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cantwaitx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2009

My wife and I just returned to Thornton Colorado after having stayed at Playa Azul for just the 3rd time. We've stayed at a couple of other larger resorts on the island but they don't come as close to making us feel as welcome. As Carlos greeted me on our previous visit with "welcome home', it certainly has felt that way with each of our stays. Hernan at the front desk has always been a tremendous help. Carlos in the restaurant as always gets our day started off with a warm buenos dias and a big smile at breakfast. The staff is always friendly and ready to help you with any questions or needs. The housekeepers, groundskeepers, cooks, bartenders, wait staff and maintenance workers, I wish I knew everyone's name so that I could thank each one of you individually for always making our stay very relaxing and enjoyable. Until next year.

  • Liked — The hotel staff
  • Disliked — Public beach next door.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Dragonass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2009

This is a wonderful little hotel where you can experience real Mexican culture. It is so quiet and peaceful, and the rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. The beds, as is true in most of Mexico, are hard, but not too bad. The beach is small, but, OH MY GOSH, the snorkeling is ABSOLUTELY AMAZING just off the beach!!! My husband and I snorkeled for hours up and down the beach and saw a great variety of fish and coral. The water is the clearest we have ever experienced, and we have snorkeled all over the Caribbean. The food in all the restaurants at the hotel was delicious and served with a smile. The price is quite reasonable---oh, and the drinks are pretty strong, so one or two is all I could handle! We stayed at El Presidente 10 years ago in Cozumel, and although it is very nice, we will go back to Plaza Azul from now on. It is a great value, and we loved the solitude and the flavor of the place. Oh, be sure to try out a massage at the spa---it was heavenly! My husband and I both got the 25 minute back, neck, and shoulder massage, and we were very pleased. You can't go wrong at Playa Azul!

  • Liked — The beach, snorkeling, and solitude
  • Disliked — bed was a little hard
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank makin-memories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapala, Mexico
Level Contributor
219 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2009

This is a sweet hotel. It is small (50 rooms) and personal. All rooms have private balcony with two chairs and table, and view of the beach. Hotel is on the beach, and also has a nice size pool and tiki bar. Excellent restaurants, one a bit upscale and one for hamburgers, fajitas, etc. Full cook-to-order breakfast comes with the room. It is an 80 peso, mile and a half taxi ride to town. There are only a couple of other restaurants in walking distance, so we always went to town. The back nine of the golf course is across the street, so you must take a taxi to golf. Greens fees are included, but you must rent a car for $30. You can also rent clubs for $30. There is snorkeling right off the beach. The rooms were amply sized and you have a choice of two doubles or a king. In-room coffee and hair dryers. They will do your laundry for a fee. Air-conditioning, no fan. Families with kids and couples enjoy this place. The spa has overpriced massages ($79 an hour). Very clean, in fact Cozumel itself is the cleanest town in Mexico that I have seen. No paper or graffiti. Only option from airport to hotel is shuttle van which you arrange for at the airport when you land. Choice of dollars or pesos. Hint: Two weeks at Christmas costs1/3 more than the rest of high season. Can rent car on a daily basis, across the street for $45 + insurance + tax = $96. Free wifi in room. TV in room. They provide beach towels.

  • Liked — Views from room and immediate access to beach
  • Disliked — Would have liked mini-fridge or ice machine for access to cold drinks in room
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2009

We were looking to kill two birds with one stone at this hotel. A quiet couples get-away and a weeks golfing.

This property fit the bill. We flew into Cancun, got a bus from the terminal directly to Playa del Carmen. Walked the couple of blocks to the ferry with our clubs and luggage.

A quick cab ride to Playa Azul. When we drove into the property were very pleased by it's pretty and charming exterior.

Check-in was quick and super efficient. Our oceanfront room was a very good size, with a good bathroom (with good toiletries and hair dryer), room safe, fridge and balcony overlooking the pool and ocean. The rooms and the entire property are very simply but tastefully decorated. It's boutique without the pretention. We felt like guests not tourists. Very nice. Whenever we came back from town or the course, we felt we coming back to calm cool respite.

Breakfast was included and it was served in an oceanfront dinning room. It was always good. The food generally was not spectacular, but dependable and good enough that we often opted to stay in for dinner. Drinks were great. Service was very very attentive.

Housekeeping was perfect. No complaints. Ample bottled water and chocolates at turndown.

The beach is still being rebuilt. Once we (I) got over it's size we realized that it was a perfect spot to wade in over the rocks and do some beginner snorkelling! My onlt real dissapointment was that the pool was unheated and being in the shade was freezing. Pretty common in this part of the world outside the big resorts.

What put this hotel totally over the top was the green fees included in the room rate. (must pay cart fees). We golfed everyday and I made tee times in advance with the golf course. Service was great. Your get a cooler with your cart and a cool cloth afterwards. Try to get the cloth up front and keep it in the cooler and don't let yourself get overheated. Very nice course.
Bring half the clothes and 3 times the number of balls you think you'll need. A good challenging course.

This hotel was away from town, not really walking distance, which concerned me at first. But only a $5.00 cab ride and to tell you the truth we became believers in getting out of the action.

The lobby is lit with candles at night. Very romantic and quiet. Not a place for partiers or spring breakers, but suberb for adults and couples.

  • Liked — Tranquil charm and attentive service
  • Disliked — Cold pool
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank luv2travelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 52 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#12 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,810 reviews
11.2 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Property: Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Address: Carretera a San Juan Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#4 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Azul Golf Scuba Spa is an oceanfront, small, charming and family run hotel distinguished by its personal service from the staff and owners. A truly home-away-from-home resort for those who prefer to be close to the ocean but not far from their room. For those who like to enjoy a wonderful gastronomic experience and friendly atmosphere. Playa Azul is a Golf and Breakfast hotel but if you prefer the All Inclusive vacation our resort offers the best menu (a la carte) both for food and beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba Hotel Cozumel
Playa Azul Hotel Scuba
Playa Azul Resort Scuba
Playa Azul Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing