We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Relaxing Vacation”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is a great little resort! I believe there's only about 50 rooms but both times we've visited, it has not been full so it's very quiet, relaxing and peaceful. It's great for baby boomers who are wanting to get away and wind down. There's no night life, other than watching the sunset and having dinner - ahhhhh. It is just the greatest, most quiet and relaxing place to stay if that is what you are looking for. It's definitely not for a young party crowd, which was fine with us!

The staff are the best!! Muchos Gracias to Carlos :) and everyone else at the resort. We did the all-inclusive package and it was well worth it because we stayed at the resort the entire time and just relaxed so we had all the drinks and food we needed just steps away from the beach. The menu had plenty of variety for our 3 daily meals and snacks. We stayed 4 nights but next time, we will stay 5 nights. It is such a wonderful place to go to have a relaxing, non-stressful vacation.

The beach is small but we never had a problem finding lounge chairs under palapas and it was so nice to just hear the sounds of the ocean and not loud music!

I hope this resort never changes. It's the perfect get-away and we will return next year and many times thereafter!

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dluvsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana D, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Greetings from Playa Azul
Thank you very much for posting your beautiful compliment!! It feels so good to know that you had a great time and that you plan to come back soon.
Thank you very much for your preference.
Best regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    176
    29
    12
    9
See reviews for
155
289
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Spent 9 days here the end of April / beginning of May. We keep thinking that after enough visits, we will get Playa Azul out of our system and try another destination. Not so!! We can't wait to go back and may not wait a whole year. This was the best trip ever. The hotel is still charming, clean, and staffed with wonderful, happy employees who want to please the guests. Some reviewers say it is dated but we find it to have a certain Mexican elegance so it doesn't seem that way at all. The guests were from all over the world and all very nice and all decent acting. We enjoyed visiting with them. Some guests were there for their 20th year and some for the first time. All the first timers we spoke to were just thrilled with the resort. We tried a new restaurant in town based on a fellows guest's recommendation and loved it. We also sent two couples to a favorite of ours and they raved about it the next day. There were families with small children and babies but they were never a problem or noisy. In fact they were quite enjoyable. We find the beds quite comfy with the thick foam topper and clean all white linens. The shower heads may appear small but they are powerful and there is never a lack of hot water. They are very generous with the bath towels and they seemed newer and fluffier this year. As always the breakfasts were great, the beach and snorkeling were wonderful, and the golf was the best. The golf course was in immaculate shape and we rarely saw any others on the course. We left our clubs at the course the first day and walked back and forth most days. It is about a mile to a mile and a half. The perfect day at Playa Azul is breakfast on the hotel patio, 18 holes of golf, a drink or two, a little snorkeling and a nap on beach (nice and quiet and never a problem getting a lounger even in the afternoon), and then dinner. We ate at the hotel some nights, across the street at the Lobster House with full menu, and in town at all our favorite places. We enjoyed all the food we ordered at the hotel, especially the grilled tuna tostadas, chicken quesadillas and the grilled shrimp Caesar salad. The margaritas are very strong. Had two one afternoon and we woke up on our loungers and it was getting dark! If you want a place that you can totally unwind and relax, this is it. As always we felt very safe on Cozumel and at the Playa Azul. We can't wait for our next visit here.

Room Tip: We prefer the 2nd or 3 floors. Nice view and AC is quiet and effecient
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DDGolferBeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hola from Cozumel!!
Thank you for submitting your feedback on Trip Advisor, we are happy to read that you had a great time and we appreciate all your details so other users can have a better idea about the hotel, the golf course and Cozumel in general.
We will be waiting for your next visit!!
Thanks again
Best regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Cozimel downtown is busy so travel 4km away from the ferry to Playa Azul. Its only 8$ in a taxi and it's so peaceful with it's own sandy beach. The staff are very helpful and the choice of food is excellent. Remember to bring mosquito spray for the evening. Room 103 backed onto the pool and was perfect for the dive centre.

We will be back as we have had a great 2 weeks

Room Tip: Ground floor is direct onto the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Greetings from Playa Azul Cozumel
We really appreciate your comments about the hotel and the staff.
Thanks for your preference and we all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas City, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

This was our first time staying at Playa Azul. We have been to Cozumel 3 other times and stayed elsewhere. This is by far the best resort on the island. The entire staff is absolutely there for you. The food was awesome. The menu has something for everyone! Everything on the menu was excellent. The bar staff remembers your drink order without you ever having to ask. The room was huge! Bed was so comfortable. The bathrooms only have showers, but got along with that just fine.This resort is very laid back and family orientated. We are divers, and Blue Dream Cozumel is right there on sight. If you dive, Chris and Giacomo are the ones to go with. They make sure your dive is safe and fun. I will post Blue Dream Cozumel also on Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: The South rooms are in the older section and no elevator. So choose a room on the newer end if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daktak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hola from Playa Azul
It is great that your experience was so fun and you liked the hotel, the food, the dive shop, the staff. We appreciate very much your beautiful comments and it makes us feel so happy. We will see you in the future and pamper you as a Playa Azul family member.
Best regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Love, Love this hotel.....on north end of island....laid back...personable...so comfortable + water is beautiful and awesome for snorkel folks. Playa Azul is wonderful! Perfect setting...away from all the party folks, large hotels, etc. Cab fare is 8.00 USD to downtown, renting a car is so easy. Staff is the absolute best....everyone remembers you.....if you want a family oriented hotel to stay, personable staff, wonderful service, great drinks, good food....need to check it out...Our forth year and we have already booked 2015!

Room Tip: Rooms on south side have an elevator....North side is older part of hotel, no elevator....rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bch4me55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Greetings from Playa Azul
We really appreciate your comments and your preference, we will be waiting for you in 2015 to pamper you as you deserve, as a family member of Playa Azul.
Best regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I left yesterday and I wanted to cry. This place was amazing and we did not do half the things we planned to do because we enjoyed our room, beach, food and awesome staff so why leave? Everyone was so nice to us. They did everything for us. Our room was huge and spotless. Yes, it's an older hotel but who cares? If you want new, lots of people and partying this is not the place for you. I will stay there every time I go to Cozumel because of the people. We met almost all the guests and had the best time with all our new friends. Great food and drinks!

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view. We had a view of the ocean and the pool - #312 is a great room. Has a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you very much for posting your beautiful compliment!! It feels so good to know that you had a great time and that you plan to come back to Playa Azul.
Thank you very much for your preference.
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Everyone here is very welcoming and food was great as well. The hotel grounds need some updates in the following locations; kids club/play ground, and lounge chairs. This hotel is very nice and secluded with 2 small man made beaches that have very calm water to snorkle. No other concerns just the above mentioned items.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Castlepine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Greetings from Playa Azul.
Thank you very much for posting your nice compliment. Based on it we will be able to improve our hotel by updating the mentioned locations.
We all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.
Best regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,060 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
2,168 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Property: Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Address: Carretera a San Juan Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#5 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Azul Golf Scuba Spa is an oceanfront, small, charming and family run hotel distinguished by its personal service from the staff and owners. A truly home-away-from-home resort for those who prefer to be close to the ocean but not far from their room. For those who like to enjoy a wonderful gastronomic experience and friendly atmosphere. Playa Azul is a Golf and Breakfast hotel but if you prefer the All Inclusive vacation our resort offers the best menu (a la carte) both for food and beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba Hotel Cozumel
Playa Azul Hotel Scuba
Playa Azul Resort Scuba
Playa Azul Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing