We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Playa Azul
Nearby Hotels
$302
$239
InterContinental
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$347
$289
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$242
$196
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$172
$142
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Allegro Cozumel(Cozumel)
$139
$115
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$155
$125
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$219
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$200
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cozumel Palace(Cozumel)
$504
$454
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (681)
Filter reviews
681 results
Traveler rating
447
181
32
12
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
447
181
32
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach barfree golfblue dreambeach club next doorcart feesmall hotelall inclusive optioncozumel country clubfishquiet vacationall inclusive planevery morninghotel guestskey lime pienorth sidebreakfast was includedocean view
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 681 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Cozimel downtown is busy so travel 4km away from the ferry to Playa Azul. Its only 8$ in a taxi and it's so peaceful with it's own sandy beach. The staff are very helpful and the choice of food is excellent. Remember to bring mosquito spray for the evening. Room 103 backed onto the pool and was perfect for the dive centre.

We will be back as we have had a great 2 weeks

Room Tip: Ground floor is direct onto the pool
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Greetings from Playa Azul Cozumel
We really appreciate your comments about the hotel and the staff.
Thanks for your preference and we all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.
Kind regards
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

This was our first time staying at Playa Azul. We have been to Cozumel 3 other times and stayed elsewhere. This is by far the best resort on the island. The entire staff is absolutely there for you. The food was awesome. The menu has something for everyone! Everything on the menu was excellent. The bar staff remembers your drink order without you ever having to ask. The room was huge! Bed was so comfortable. The bathrooms only have showers, but got along with that just fine.This resort is very laid back and family orientated. We are divers, and Blue Dream Cozumel is right there on sight. If you dive, Chris and Giacomo are the ones to go with. They make sure your dive is safe and fun. I will post Blue Dream Cozumel also on Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: The South rooms are in the older section and no elevator. So choose a room on the newer end if you want to be on an upper floor as an elevator is available there. All rooms have a great view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daktak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Hola from Playa Azul
It is great that your experience was so fun and you liked the hotel, the food, the dive shop, the staff. We appreciate very much your beautiful comments and it makes us feel so happy. We will see you in the future and pamper you as a Playa Azul family member.
Best regards
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Love, Love this hotel.....on north end of island....laid back...personable...so comfortable + water is beautiful and awesome for snorkel folks. Playa Azul is wonderful! Perfect setting...away from all the party folks, large hotels, etc. Cab fare is 8.00 USD to downtown, renting a car is so easy. Staff is the absolute best....everyone remembers you.....if you want a family oriented hotel to stay, personable staff, wonderful service, great drinks, good food....need to check it out...Our forth year and we have already booked 2015!

Room Tip: Rooms on south side have an elevator....North side is older part of hotel, no elevator....rooms are spacious! Can't choose a "wrong room"...all are beautiful!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bch4me55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Greetings from Playa Azul
We really appreciate your comments and your preference, we will be waiting for you in 2015 to pamper you as you deserve, as a family member of Playa Azul.
Best regards
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I left yesterday and I wanted to cry. This place was amazing and we did not do half the things we planned to do because we enjoyed our room, beach, food and awesome staff so why leave? Everyone was so nice to us. They did everything for us. Our room was huge and spotless. Yes, it's an older hotel but who cares? If you want new, lots of people and partying this is not the place for you. I will stay there every time I go to Cozumel because of the people. We met almost all the guests and had the best time with all our new friends. Great food and drinks!

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view. We had a view of the ocean and the pool - #312 is a great room. Has a living room that would be good for family or friends gathering.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Thank you very much for posting your beautiful compliment!! It feels so good to know that you had a great time and that you plan to come back to Playa Azul.
Thank you very much for your preference.
Kind regards
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Everyone here is very welcoming and food was great as well. The hotel grounds need some updates in the following locations; kids club/play ground, and lounge chairs. This hotel is very nice and secluded with 2 small man made beaches that have very calm water to snorkle. No other concerns just the above mentioned items.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Castlepine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Greetings from Playa Azul.
Thank you very much for posting your nice compliment. Based on it we will be able to improve our hotel by updating the mentioned locations.
We all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.
Best regards
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews