We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spring vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

playa azul was a perfect place to unwind. options to play golf, scuba, snorkel, and spa are readily available. the best part about the place is the friendly staff. they dont know how to say NO. beach bar service and open air restaurant service wonderful. luis, carlos, alejandro, felipe, and juan...thank u all for your great service. checkin was a breeze. great place. we will return.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docsbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola P, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Greetings from Cozumel!!
It is a pleasure to read that you had a great time and you are planning to come back!!
You are part of Playa Azul family and we will be more than happy to host you again soon.
Thanks for sharing your experience :)

Have a wonderful day
Kind regards
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 659 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2014

A nice boutique hotel, clean and away from the hubbub of town. Staff were really nice especially the housekeeping staff. Angel in the restaurant was a sweetheart and went over and above to accommodate. Some of the wait staff in the morning were expectant of tips when we served ourselves at the coffee bar and buffet and then had a little attitude. That was the first time I've ever encountered that in Cozumel. Lots of room on the beach to walk and explore. Went to the far side of the island and LOVED the beaches there. The car rental at the airport was a nightmare and would never rent from Hertz in Cozumel again. Extra charges and it took about 1.5 hours to get our car with 2 people ahead of us and we had all ready pre-registered. Other then that, you can't beat the weather and you have to eat at the Rock n Java in town. Fresh, delicious food.

Room Tip: Rooms were spacious with nice amenities, lots of towels and they checked on you in the evening to gi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancycanada54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola P, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Hello from Playa Azul Cozumel
Thank you very much for posting your experience with us at the hotel, this helps us a lot and we really appreciated. I will send your comment about the wait staff attitude to the restaurant manager to improve the service and the behavior.

We hope to see you in a future to pamper you as you deserve.
Kind regards
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We had just a bit of a blip with our room. We ended up with a first floor Oceanfront Master Suite. Booking from their website, we were not aware there was a first floor option and would not have booked it due to the lack of view and privacy. They promptly made a rate adjustment when we expressed that we weren't happy. We had a 3rd floor Ocean Front Suite our first night which we would have loved to stay in, but the hotel was booked for a large wedding party, so we understood the need to move to the room we had reserved. Overall the property is well maintained and housekeeping staff keep it clean. The air conditioning in our room seemed to have a very fussy thermostat, it was either way too cold or way too hot with only minor setting changes. We didn't sleep very well several nights as a result. We also had a problem with some of the light fixtures not functioning properly in the room near the entrance door and over the niche mirror, flickering on and off randomly. It never got fixed all week, but was really a minor inconvenience. There is a bit of a tendency to see spill over of beach goers from the paid beach next door onto the hotel property which some might find irritating. We didn't spend a lot of time around the hotel during the day, so it wasn't a problem for us. The included breakfast buffet was wonderful.We usually ate late enough that we didn't bother with lunch most days. We ate a couple of dinners at the hotel which were very good, nothing gourmet. The chef even prepared fish we had caught on a fishing charter to our liking. We would definitely return on our next trip to Cozumel. We like the quiet North End of the Island. This isn't the place to go if you are looking for lots of action with night life.

Room Tip: Try to get an upper floor room if you get the Oceanfront Mastersuite. I wouldn't bother with thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraF841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola P, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Hola from Playa Azul
I am sorry to hear that you hadn't the room that you expected, but happy to know that at least you had a rate adjustment. I hope you will be back in a future and let us pamper you as you deserve.
Kind regards
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This was our second family vacation at Playa Azul since April 2013. The thought of waiting a year to return again next February is a bit depressing. We have traveled to many places throughout the Caribbean and what sets Playa Azul and Cozumel apart is the people. We truly feel so comfortable and at home at Playa Azul because the staff treat you as family. This resort is truly a hidden gem! Eleazer- thank you for accommodating our room requests for the three of our families ( 9 people total). We were all so pleased and the views are just lovely (we prefer 3rd floor and had 306 this year). Relaxing around the beach bar, chatting with other guests and watching the beautiful sunsets are a vacation highlight. The service provided by Kermit, Felipe, Ivan and all the bar staff is always outstanding. They are so kind and willing to accommodate any request! No different if tip each top or not and we usually tipped when closing out the tab. We asked and they do share as a team. In addition, Carlos is one of the best in the restaurant- but really they all are wonderful. Hernan, and Yassir at the front desk always are always helpful with dinner recommendations, reservations & talking about the area. I also enjoyed walking every morning to the marina and no problem to go by myself and enjoy the quiet time and scenery. It truly is about the small things at Playa Azul and that is what they do so well. If you want a big resort with activities and night life (and crowds) this is not for you. If you truly want to relax and disconnect from it all then this is the place. I could be content to sit on the beach and stare at the beautiful colors of the water all day. Snorkeling right off the resort to the North is the best. The food is very good although we opted not to do the all-inclusive this year and ventured in to town a bit more for dinner. Also, no refrigerator in the room is no problem. You can ask for one, but we ended up with a styrofoam cooler and the resort was happy to give us bags of ice every day. We went to the Mega store in town and bought wine, beer, soda and water. We are very much looking forward to go back and bring some more family along next time. Thank you for another memorable family vacation!

Room Tip: Rooms on 3rd and 4th floor have a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola P, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Hola from Playa Azul!!
It is so good to read that you had a great time and relaxed time and that you felt as family in our hotel. Each day we (all the staff) do our best so you can experience a true and unforgettable vacation.
Thank you very much and we all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Kind regards
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was our second consecutive year coming to Playa Azul. And we will definitely be back for a third.
There is something that is just so special about this resort. The people are first and foremost what makes this place so wonderful. Everyone from the front desk, bartenders, wait staff...
Before arriving we contacted reservations to request the same rooms we had last year. I was able to get the same room. My sisters family was not, but was given an equally great room. Eleazer in reservations was very accommodating.
The resort is small but that is why we like it so much. It's like one big happy family.
The food and drinks are amazing. We have tried many different things from the menu and have never been disappointed. Last year we had the all-inclusive plan. This year we opted not to go all inclusive and that worked out much better for us because we do go out of the resort for some meals.
The beach is a little rocky but you just have to weave your way through so it was no problem for us. The water is so clear and beautiful. We had to get on the beach pretty early to get a chair but once again that was no problem because we are early risers. We spend all day on the beach. The only frustrating thing was seeing chairs that were "reserved with towels" but the people wouldn't show up for hours to actually lay in them.
The rooms are very clean and spacious with a balcony that affords beautiful views.
I consider Playa Azul our little gem in Paradise. It's just what we want for a fabulous, relaxing vacation. We did travel with children that are 12 years old and they were very happy there too.
Already counting down the days til next year...
I can't end my review without naming some people that made our vacation extra special: Kermit, Felipe and Ivan at the bar, Carlos in the restaurant, Angel at breakfast. Also the staff at the front desk who always helped us make reservations for dinner and gave us ideas of where to go. Everyone that works there always has a smile on their face and truly makes you feel special .

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonicaNewb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola P, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Greetings from Playa Azul
I really appreciate your comments with all the details. I am happy to know that you had a great vacation and feel like Playa Azul family during your vacations. I will send your comment regarding the beach chairs to the corresponding department.
Hope to see you in a future
Kind regards
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We've visited several Mexico destinations in the past few years but this was our first trip to Cozumel and Playa Azul.

The good: Love the bar on the waterfront. Just a great place to gather and meet new friends, and enjoy the beautiful ocean views. The Included breakfast was very good, if a little repetitive. Other items on the menu (lunch, dinner) were very good in my opinion (the tuna tostadas and various salads were just wonderful). Rooms have balconies which are also great for enjoying the view. You can hear the waves lapping up on the shore if you keep your balcony slider open. Snorkeling is very good right out in front of the resort. One night a mariachi band stopped by the hotel after dinner and treated us to about 30 minutes of music. Very fun. Convenient to rent jet ski's and snorkeling equipment nearby. Hotel is small, making it easy to meet and make friends - even easier than a cruise. Very easy to get a cab. Often they are waiting in the parking lot or, if not, easily summoned by the front desk. Sunsets were exceptional and easy to enjoy. We rented a car and drove around the island, stopping at some of the beaches on the east side. That was a lot of fun and provided a different swimming experience (e.g. body surfing on a sandy beach). Our favorite restaurants were Guido's and Casa Mission - both excellent.

The not so good: (none of these were bad enough to spoil our vacation at all) -

Outdoor bar shuts down around sunset. Staying open a couple more hours (maybe with some torches and hanging lites) would be a wonderful way to extend the already great days. Nothing much is within walking distance so, renting a car is probably a very good idea. But parking is a little bit of a challenge downtown so that's a plus for the cab option. Entertainment (e.g., music) is scarce on the island. With a little more work, we probably could have found some. Beachfront at the resort is rocky and poor for swimming, even with water shoes (although fine for snorkeling). Overall, the resort shows some wear, but I viewed that as more endearing, sort of like an older summer cottage that just feels comfortable. In town, Cozumel vendors are fairly aggressive about selling (but will generally back off if you decline). The worst example is when you first land and someone greets you just after customs appearing to help with transportation, but actually guides you to a hard sell of a car rental package bundled with a required trip to Play Del Carmen to sample a resort (promotion). Be sure to veer hard right to go directly to the "basic" shuttle transportation to avoid the hard sell.

Overall, we had a great time, and Play Azul certainly met expectations.

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor rooms have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jhagerup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola P, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Greetings from Cozumel!!
Thank you for submitting your feedback on Trip Advisor, we are happy to read that you had a great time and we appreciate all your details so other users can have a better idea about the hotel and Cozumel in general. We will review the outdoor bar schedule based on your comment.
We all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Kind regards
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Just the right size for us. Small hotel with great breakfast included. Right on the Caribbean. Clean. We enjoyed our visit! Worst thing to say about the location - a fifteen minute cab ride from Centro.

Room Tip: Higher floors probably have more expansive view. We were on ground floor - the pool was just in fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finnagainwinagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola P, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Hola from Playa Azul Hotel
Thank you very much for your nice comment!! We all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.
Kind regards
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
7.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 53 in Cozumel
607 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
0.3 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Address: Carretera a San Juan Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#3 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $183 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Azul Golf Scuba Spa is an oceanfront, small, charming and family run hotel distinguished by its personal service from the staff and owners. A truly home-away-from-home resort for those who prefer to be close to the ocean but not far from their room. For those who like to enjoy a wonderful gastronomic experience and friendly atmosphere. Playa Azul is a Golf and Breakfast hotel but if you prefer the All Inclusive vacation our resort offers the best menu (a la carte) both for food and beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba Hotel Cozumel
Playa Azul Hotel Scuba
Playa Azul Resort Scuba
Playa Azul Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing