We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2003 Trip to Cozumel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“2003 Trip to Cozumel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in July of 2003, (not 2013 as this review makes me choose this year). We had breakfast here, and sometimes dinner, but mostly hung out at the beach and went sight seeing. Never saw a spa or workout room. Why would you need one when the warm clear waters and beautiful outdoors are right out your doorstep!

I remember the staff being VERY friendly and accommodating.
All the buildings in Cozumel and Cancun smelled a little mildewy, but I think that is to be expected, as the climate is very humid/tropical. I think the bed was a little hard, but honestly I loved the hotel. Not too big. Quaint, clean and comfortable. Has it's own beach. Just lovely. Perfect for the price. We couldn't afford anything super fancy, and I was very worried as the taxi drove by some very very run down and shoddy hotels...I was so glad when he stopped at Playa Azul, the one I had booked. It was my first online booking outside of the US and I think I did pretty good!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shiva22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hola from Playa Azul!!
We are very happy to read that you choose Playa Azul and that you were pleased and pampered as you deserve.
We hope to see you in a near future so you can enjoy another vacation with us.
Have a great year!

Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    173
    28
    12
    8
See reviews for
148
282
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Biel, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We booked a "Ocean Front Suite" with a All-Inclusive package...
Outview was great, the food we chosed from the menucard, the drinks we ordered at the bar. The staff was extremly friendly and helpfull!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
3 Thank andrewsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you very much for posting your nice comments!! We love to be friendly and helpful with our guests that become Playa Azul family.
We all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.
Have a wonderful year!

Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sackville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a relaxing holiday and this hotel was perfect. In spite of the fact that the hotel offers a golf package and we are not golfers, we chose Hotel Playa Azul initially because of the comments about snorkelling being available right in front of the hotel. Indeed, it was possible to see lots of fun fish just a few feet from the beach! The hotel has a restaurant where we enjoyed breakfast every day but we also enjoyed the chance to eat at different restaurants in town in the evening. It is even possible to walk into town (takes about an hour) but taxis are plentiful. We had planned to rent a car and do several excursions but in the end it was too tempting to just relax on the beach by the hotel or sit on our balcony and watch the waves. The water is crystal clear and very warm. We hope to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Greetings from Playa Azul Cozumel!
It is a pleasure to read that you had a relaxing time and the hotel fits to your plans. We hope to see you in a future and to pamper you as you deserve.
Happy New Year

Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed at the Playa Azul for our 10 day honeymoon and are so very pleased with our choice! We got the all inclusive package and it was quite nice to just be able to have all of our meals in one place. The menu is varied, and while we both ordered the same things several times, we enjoyed the variety. Breakfast was either a buffet or to order, depending on how many other guests were there (our first two or three days were early in the week and there were only a few other guests, there were about double during the weekend, but still not very many people). The servers and bar tenders were all wonderful and remembered our preferences for things after the second day!

We had one of the balcony rooms with a hot tub and it was wonderful to unwind out there every evening. Gorgeous sunsets every evening and a wonderful place to sit every morning to read. The hotel was very quiet the whole time, only one evening was the restaurant noise even noticeable, and then only from our balcony. We did have a small issue with our sliding door that they fixed as soon as we mentioned it and an issue with the a/c that took a day to fix, but it was bearable at night with just the fans.

We also used the connected dive shop, Blue Dream, to get our scuba certifications. They were equally wonderful and it was convenient to not have to travel anywhere for our classes or to get to the boat (except for our last dive when we wanted to go somewhere on another part of the island). The little beach in front of the hotel is wonderful, plenty of ocean life to see if you like snorkeling. We were there during the end of the rainy season and there were a few days when the water was too choppy to swim in, but it settled back down quickly and visibility didn't suffer much from all the churning.

We definitely plan to return here many times over the years, it seems the kind of place you could happily take the kids to and was definitely the romantic place we had in mind for our honeymoon. I have a feeling the staff will still remember us, many of them have been working there for quite a while. I found this place on trip advisor and want to say thank you for pointing us toward this wonderful place!

Room Tip: the balcony rooms with hot tubs are phenomenal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank havalinaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you very much for your beautiful comments! We are so happy that you had a great honeymoon and that you are planning to come back. It will be a pleasure to host you again and to organize you a romantic dinner or something special for you anniversary.
Please feel free to write us before your trip so we can help you with your journey.

Have a wonderful day
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

When we were considering going to Playa Azul for the first time I was wondering why a three star hotel is rated so high. I understand it now.The absence of some amenities, such as fitness club, business center did knock off a couple of stars from its rating. No yoga classes, no pottery classes, no Zumba classes, no karaoke. But it's just so happened that we did non care about those things. We, and so many other people that we've met there, who were coming to Playa Azul for years. At Playa Azul they do not do everything, but what they do, they do really well. It's all about small things. The food is freshly cooked and is really good. The restaurant does not look as flashy as in some big hotels, but the food does taste better. The wine is higher quality than we usually were getting at the big hotels. And, for the first time in our trips to Mexico and Cuba we've got good coffee! In other words, it's all about the substance. There is no pool bar, but the beach bar is really close to the water and one of our favorite things was to sit at the bar closer to the end of the day with a book, sip cocktails or beer, and watch the cruise ships passing by. I understand, it's not everybody's thing but we loved it. Speaking of cocktails, they don't skimp on rum or tequila when they make them. Again, unlike some other places that we've went to. You get great snorkeling right of the beach. But we liked to walk a couple of hundred meters south and let the current carry us all the way to the hotel. You will see lots of fish, even some barracudas.
I have to mention wonderful personnel at Playa Azul. They truly make you feel at home. There is no constant hints about tips, and if you've just happened not to have any cash with you, your cocktail will be just as good as usual.
A few changes I would like to suggest. First, on our second trip it was low season, and we did not get buffet in the morning and had to order our breakfast. It would be nice to have a breakfast menu instead of trying to guess what's available. Second, there is no minibar in the room. I think there should be at least a mini fridge in the room for cooling water. And, I would love to have better chairs on the balcony. All the rooms are facing the sea, but there are only standard plastic lawn chairs on the balconies, and they are quite flimsy. It would be nice to have more comfortable loungers there, to enjoy those great sunsets.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Slava_M68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Greetings from Playa Azul.
Thank you very much for your nice comments and for your suggestions, we really appreciate that and based on it we will be able to improve our Hotel to give you and the other users a better service.
We hope to see you in a future and pamper you as you deserve.
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

My family and I recently took an extended vacation (21 days) to Cozumel. And even though we were staying down the street at a condo we spent at least ten of our days on the beach at Playa Azul. Very friendly staff, great drinks, pretty good food, nice and clean, nice freshwater pool, great snorkeling and did I mention the great bar staff. Oh and we saw lots and lots of Dolphins. My family and I are very much looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: We didn't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Perkie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment. We hope that next time you will stay with us at Playa Azul and live the experience of being a Playa Azul guest, but most of all, a Playa Azul family member.
Have a great day and thanks again
Best regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

I loved our stay at Playa Azul. I didn’t want to stay at a mega complex but I also wanted to stay at a place that was big enough to afford a level of comfort that, as a rather spoiled American, I am used to. This hotel not only fit the bill, but also had a lot of little extras that made our stay a wonderful vacation.

We rented a car and appreciated that the Playa Azul had parking that was not only off the street but also in a lovely landscaped area. The grounds around the entrance were charming. We walked into the lobby after the tedious plane ride and were greeted by name at the desk. We checked in and one of the staff helped us up to the 3rd floor with our bags. I upgraded to a suite because we were staying in Cozumel a week and the price difference was reasonable. We walked into a sitting area with a sofa and love seat and through the hallway that had a lovely tiled counter and sink and the door to a large bathroom. Then we entered our bedroom. The beds had a cute towel animal on it but the best thing about the large room was view out off of the balcony. Like the rest of the space, the balcony was also of gracious proportions. Although the beds were a little short for anyone over six feet tall they were pretty comfortable.

We changed into our swimsuits and went snorkeling in front of the hotel. We found some little sea worlds right away. We saw parrotfish, angelfish, blue damsels, a small ray, a plethora of Sargent Majors and many other wonderful creatures. We later saw a tour from one of the cruise ships come by. Apparently the snorkeling is good enough off the hotel that the tour brought their group up there to snorkel. My favorite was seeing the cuttlefish.

After our swim we returned to the hotel where we found lounge chairs, wrapped up in beach towels the hotel provided and ordered drinks and shrimp tacos. Then we returned to our room and the air condition blast of air was refreshing. We sat on the balcony and watched the cruise ships go by. Then we would try to learn a little Spanish by watching TV.

The service was wonderful, the drinks divine and the food superb.

I signed up for the breakfast plan. The next morning we went downstairs and sat at a table that looked out across the water. We watched the birds as they tried to steal the sugar packets off the tables. Going in October we were one of the few guests in the restaurant. Instead of the high season buffet, we ordered what we wanted and Carlos and Juan brought us such wonderful breakfasts that we were all set for explore the wonders of Cozumel. The orange juice was fresh squeezed; the fruit cut into bite size pieces, the omelets perfectly cooked, and waffles were delicious. It was such a great way to begin each day. Carlos and Juan were so gracious and attentive that we were sad to say good-bye to them when we had to leave.

For supper the hotel gave us recommendations, and at times we got a percentage off because of them, and their recommendations were always wonderful.

So Playa Azul, although not a 5 star hotel, was the perfect choice for a reasonably priced, comfortable and relaxing hotel. The staff there were wonderful and It was exactly what I was looking for in the perfect vacation spot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MabeltheDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Wow, thank you very much for your preference and tell your experience so detailed. This makes us very very happy but also helps other people to know Playa Azul better.
It will be a pleasure to host you again.
See you very soon

Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#4 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#1 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#10 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,714 reviews
11.2 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#17 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Property: Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Address: Carretera a San Juan Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba Hotel Cozumel
Playa Azul Hotel Scuba
Playa Azul Resort Scuba
Playa Azul Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing