We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Comfort and friendly”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Went there for an destination wedding, and loved it. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The food was amazing, so amazing that we dined there several nights of our stay. Breakfast out in the open garden/patio was truly relaxing. Packed a fly rod, and fished for amber jack from the jetty. Chef offered to cook my catch for me. The palapa bar, was a friendly respite after a day of touring and swimming/snorkeling. Will definitely book a stay there my next visit.

Room Tip: We loved the top floor rooms, as the views are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dryfly0618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comment!! We all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    174
    29
    12
    8
See reviews for
152
285
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have been to this hotel 7 or 8 Times and wouldn't stay anywhere else! Amazing beach, great people, just fantastic!

The only downside is that it is a little ways from downtown. The breakfast buffet is fantastic. They make incredible French toast and fried bananas. I don't dive but my family has enjoyed diving. The snorkeling around the hotel is incredible.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ckosoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Wow, your super nice comment encourage us to keep pamper all our loyal guests!!
Thank you very much and hope to see you in a near future.
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife and I spent our first trip to Cozumel staying at Playa Azul Hotel. We had an ocean view room. The rooms were nice and clean. Do not expect a glamorous looking room cause you have to remember you are on a beach, but first impression as we walked into the room was neat with flowers on the bed and a towel shaped into a swan. The food at the hotel was great, however if you are hungry don't expect service to be fast. The breakfast buffet was good. What I really noticed about the hotel is that it is quite and calm especially at night, no problem sleeping. We really enjoyed our stay at Playa Azul and look forward to returning there.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room, 2nd or 3rd floor recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Greetings from Playa Azul.
Thank you very much for posting your nice compliment and we all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon. Based on it we will be able to improve our restaurant service.
We all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was our 4th time at Playa Azul. What can I say....it's like our home away from home! I can't say enough about the staff. It's a small hotel, perfect for those who want to get away from the big crazy crowded hotels and just relax. Incredible food, drinks, lots of activities. We loved it soo much, we got married there and it's far from the town. The staff really are like family to us. Rooms are all ocean view and what a view!!! Can't say enough great things...seriously!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ireland0137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you very much for such a beautiful comment!! We are so happy to read that you had a great time and you are coming every year. Thank you very much for your preference and hope to see you next year at your "home away from home".
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We recently stayed at this resort for our destination wedding, and we and all our guests had an amazing time. One of my friends summed it up best when he said, "If you're not having a good time here, you're a jerk."
The rooms were extremely clean, well kept, and spacious.
We stayed on the all inclusive plan, and the food was amazing. Delicious, big portions, and served in an extremely timely manner. We had 65 guests with us for the wedding, and they did everything in their power to make sure we all had great service and an even better time.
The pictures don't do the resort justice, it's even more beautiful in person.
There are plenty of activities, and you can be picked up right outside the resort on the pier for parasailing and scuba. You can jump off the pier and do some amazing snorkeling. The beach is right outside your door and is also beautiful.
I couldn't have asked for a more amazing wedding and honeymoon- it was better than anything I ever could have imagined.
I'd recommend this resort for anyone looking to have a destination wedding, a quiet vacation, or a romantic get away. They don't have a lot of activities for kids, but with all the swimming, snorkeling, and wild life, it's easy to keep children and adults both entertained.

Room Tip: Room 401 is the "penthouse suite". It has it's own jacuzzi tub on the balcony, a larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klsger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Reading your review let us know that we have to keep doing our best so you will remember your wedding as a memorable and special day.
Thank you very much and hope to see you next year and celebrate your 1st anniversary!!
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Made for a perfect vacation. Christianne Perdomo, who handled everything for me at the dive shop - from answering my emailed questions within a day to being a relaxed, knowledgeable, thorough dive master - was the best. She knows the reefs and pointed out many critters I would have otherwise missed. She clearly loves diving and Cozumel, and she made sure I had a great time. Her briefings were excellent and we never had more than a few divers per divemaster. She even loaned me an underwater camera when she found out I had an interest in photography but no equipment and made me a DVD. She and Isaias kept everyone on the small fast boat well taken care of, and I couldn't have asked for anything more. As for the hotel itself, it is a beautiful, tranquil oasis and the entire staff was wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sashasmomLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your Blue Dream comment. I already sent it to Chris. We are very happy to know that you had great diving and we hope to see you in a near future.

We all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.
Best regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Just returned from our second stay at Playa Azul - Wonderful, Wonderful hotel - my husband and I cannot say enough good things! Staff is the best! Our family! Accommodations are spacious and beautiful! On the north side of the island - not crazy like the south end with the huge hotels! So if you want a quiet area with awesome accommodations, staff that remember you (by your name - very impressive to us!), great food, great drinks, beautiful area to snorkel, YOU definitely should stay at Playa Azul!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bch4me55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Wow, thank you very much for your review!! As long as I read it I was imagining the big smile on your face and that's what we want for all of our guests, a great experience at Playa Azul!!
We all hope to see you in a future and pamper you as you deserve.

Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 52 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#12 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,811 reviews
11.2 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Property: Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Address: Carretera a San Juan Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Azul Golf Scuba Spa is an oceanfront, small, charming and family run hotel distinguished by its personal service from the staff and owners. A truly home-away-from-home resort for those who prefer to be close to the ocean but not far from their room. For those who like to enjoy a wonderful gastronomic experience and friendly atmosphere. Playa Azul is a Golf and Breakfast hotel but if you prefer the All Inclusive vacation our resort offers the best menu (a la carte) both for food and beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba Hotel Cozumel
Playa Azul Hotel Scuba
Playa Azul Resort Scuba
Playa Azul Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing