We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of The Plaza

The Plaza
Ranked #37 of 158 things to do in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: San Miguel's city center, lined with little shops, cafes and restaurants.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Very pretty, neat place to walk around. I, however got chased down by a local on my way back to my cruise telling me "you are very beautiful"

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emilie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    65
    29
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caulksville
Level Contributor
149 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Carnival ship cruise stop”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Great place for a day. Police were everywhere for safety of 15,000 peeps sightseeing from 5 cruise ships. Lots of shops, with fantastic gift prices. Felt very safe on main beach frontal road.

Helpful?
1 Thank ozark56hillbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Plaza”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

It was fun to go into town and walk around. It would be a lot nicer if there wasn't so much "hawking" going on. It's hard to soak up the sights with people trying to get you into their shops constantly. But they have to make a living. I would come back here anytime...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jttown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpls
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“music in the square!”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

every sunday at about 8pm there is a grewt band that plays with many instruments the fine Caribbean sound! go to watch the people elaborate dancin or the kids playing . lately there atr fire dancers and these break dancers that are true... athletes! come for the cool nites and people watching or head to the locals selling banana wrapped chicken tamales! If the cuban band is playing you will be hard pressed not to tap or even dance like a local. its fun free and it's the best of cozumel ..topside!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank skykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Plaza”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This was a stop on our Carnival Cruise and it was rather a nice one. We got off on our own just spouse and I. We got to walk around the plaza on our own. It was very clean and vendors very friendly. We needed to buy our daughter some clothes. We noticed she was short play clothes. We walked over to the cab area and was able to get a cab for a small fee. We spoke Spanish and asked the driver where the locals nearby could by childrens clothing, non tourist clothes. He drove us to a small plaza away from the port, but we could still see tourists that made it that far. We walked around a bit asking for childrens clothing until we made it a bit into the plaza and found a store. We didnt want to walk in any further since by then we didnt see ANY tourists down that way. We made it back safely and stopped for a local beer and had some mariachis play for us. We made it back to the ship on another cab, picked up the kids and headed back down to the Plaza for pictures with the kids. It was a very relaxing day. Would love to return and explore some more.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BudgetTravelers2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plaza also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to The Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing