We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Colombia Shallow is the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Columbia Reef

Columbia Reef
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.99*
and up
Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs
Ranked #5 of 158 things to do in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Giant sea turtles and groupers await those with the courage (and the experience) to brave the fierce currents at this diving site.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
323 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Colombia Shallow is the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Colombia Shallow is the best garden reef in Cozumel. It is very shallow, only 25 ft deep, but it packs a wallop. I feel I have missed something if I make a trip to Cozumel and don't get a chance to dive this reef.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CommanderChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    686
    123
    27
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice but dont recommend when it rains the day before”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had a great time taking a snorkel tour in Cozumel, and Columbia reef was nice but dont recommend going after it rains, because the visibility isnt very good since its a deeper reef. Make sure you tell your tour guide youd rather visit shallower reefs.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank deannashaffer712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Many different types of fish.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

I dive this site annually. This year I got to see some really neat fish. I got to see some Bahamian Groupers, they were huge. Maybe as big as me and I am 5' 8". Queen parrotfish are abundent here, many sea turtles, stingrays, lots of lobsters, angel crabs, brittle starfish, lionfish, queen angels and many more. Columbia is like swimming in a huge aquariam, but much better. I will be back soon Eagle Ray Divers to dive this gorgeous reef again! See you all soon!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to snorkel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Truly a beautiful place to snorkel. We saw tons of fish, a turtle or two and even some rays. We visited three seperate reefs that day and all were simply lovely!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KayCee1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wow! What a place to snorkel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

This location has to be the best when it comes to snorkel trips. What amazing sea life! We had a school of fish that followed us the whole time we were on the water.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank StLouisMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbia Reef also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Columbia Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing