We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most diverse reef in the Yucatan”
Review of Columbia Reef

Columbia Reef
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.99*
and up
Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs
Ranked #5 of 159 things to do in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Giant sea turtles and groupers await those with the courage (and the experience) to brave the fierce currents at this diving site.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The most diverse reef in the Yucatan”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Diving Columbia, "The Columbia Deep" "Pinnicles", or the "Shallows" the experience is a never ending Aquarium of marine life yet to be compared. The "Shallows" is a virtual juvenile aquarium.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ZflyDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    744
    131
    30
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very average”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

the snorkeling outside our hotel was actually better than the reef. The boat arrived 1.5 hours late, we then traveled very lowly another hour. Total time in the water maybe 45 minutes.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelsalotmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Columbia Shallows great beginner dive”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We dove the Columbia Shallows with many beginner divers. This is a great spot with lots of very interesting coral heads, varied wildlife including turtles and usually calm waters due to it's southern location in Cozumel. A great way to start or end a dive trip of several dives.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank oregonfamilytravel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saxtons River, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great snorkel location”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

You have to decide whether it is worth the cost of going on a snorkel tour to see this reef. It is quite nice, lots of coral, lots of fish. The tours are not cheap and you can see many of these features from shoreside snorkel outings, but the Columbia Reef is a higher concentrated dose. We were lucky to see turtles on our outing but this can not be expected.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VT_Herring_Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We went snorkling and it was so much fun. I have never seen anything so naturally colorful. We saw three sea turtles

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Hmst310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbia Reef also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Columbia Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing