We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small native village” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Cedral

El Cedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$84.99*
and up
Cozumel Self-Drive Buggy Tour: Snorkeling, Mayan Heritage and Mexican Lunch
Ranked #61 of 158 things to do in Cozumel
Attraction details
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
153 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Small native village”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Village of 40-50 native Mayan families. Small church. Not really ruins worth seeing. They've managed to turn it into a tourist stop. Some fresh produce and native crafts & t-shirts. It costs 50 cents to use their bathroom. Did purchase a nice beaded necklace and several t-shirts. Took a pic with a young man dressed like a Mayan - tribal outfit, colorful (in exchange for a tip). It was interesting to view their lifestyle - which was our preference vs seeing a resort. The taxi driver seemed miffed that we chose that option vs a resort - maybe his kickback is less. It's about a 30 minute stop - not much to see or do. Locals were ok, but not SUPER friendly. No phones, no electricity.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SerenaWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    64
    63
    42
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mayan Village of El Cedral, Cozumel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

El Cedral is a small, quaint, and old Mayan village on the island of Cozumel, Mexico. It has a genuine but small Mayan ruin and a nice small Catholic church to see. We went into the church but you cannot enter the Mayan ruin. The people are very friendly and we got to sample some homemade tacos after viewing a local resident's home.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Buyers Beware”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Dirty,unfriendly little town that will try to extort all of your money, skip it. Not the pearl of cozumel more like the dung heap. Stick to the snorkeling, diving and beach areas of cozumel don't waste you time here. The ruins are very small and not worth seeing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanF30709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haysville, Kansas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fake Jewelry”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I took a Carnival Cruise and ended up in this little town by cab. The cab driver, Freddie took us on a guided tour for $25 each. This is a very quaint little town but travelers beware. The vendors there are crooks. We each bought a ring that the salesman claimed was blue diamonds and my friend also purchased a pair of sapphire earrings. When got back home to the states and took them to the jeweler we found out they are cut glass and gold over sterling silver. We were charged in pesos and they wrote the U.S.D. amount on the receipt. I paid with my debit and when I checked my account at home they had ripped me off for an extra $50. I cannot get mine back because it was a debit card. My friend was able to call her credit card company to stop payment...be very careful...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank haysville7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A 30 min stop”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Maybe because it was August, but nothing happening here. We were looking for the tequila tour nearby, we were greeted by an eager local shop owner who gave us a "private" tour. At first I was apprehensive, mass at the church just ended, Daniel shared the local culture and history and we ended up sharing his tequila at his shop. It was fun for the short visit but not much to see otherwise. If you do go, ask for Daniel!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cedral also viewed

 

Been to El Cedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing