We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ditto tourist trap” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa San Francisco

Playa San Francisco
Ranked #98 of 158 things to do in Cozumel
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular beach full of sun, sand, tourists and lots of vendors.
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ditto tourist trap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

It sits between two other 'better' clubs and I guess gets the overflow. Over-priced food and drinks with nothing special to offer. Way too much 'selling' going on here. We left for another option after one drink ( clearly a cheap mix)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank kshilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    25
    22
    14
    33
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cozumel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very crowded”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is a nice beach area but the cruise ship guests are taken there by the taxi drivers, so the beach chairs can get busy and very crowded. Food is OK but staff and facilities are always good...There is a cover charge.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Coztours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield,Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great all inclusive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Our Carnival cruise stopped in Cozumel for a day and we decided to book a trip for an all inclusive that was not through the cruise line. We found the Playa San Francisco and we greatly pleased with the location, the rate for the day and all the food and drinks that were included. We arrived early and had the choice of lounges on the beach. The service was great and the food - delicious and the drinks - plentiful and worthy of packing a punch! We took a cab from the end of the cab line and paid a reasonable fare and asked them to return later to take us back to the ship. No problem and we were some of the happiest passengers to reboard after a day at the beach. Loved the beach, the water and the pure relaxation. Also treated myself to a back massage on the beach under a canopy. Very nice.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Deejala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“San Francisco Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We came upon this beach many yrs ago on a cruise stop. They did not have a pool, but did have great food and drinks. My friend's son was 8 and we did not have a lot of money. We have since cruised here three more times. They have added a pool and more palapas. The food and drinks are still great. The bathroom is clean. The water is beautiful. I am going again in October and my friend's son is now 23 and he is going with us again and all of us are as excited to return to San Francisco Beach to have more great food and drinks, hair braids, swimming and all of the other activities mentioned by all of the other reviewers.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

we have a very good day all the people is very nice, and is a cool watter they have a some food and a flea market all on the same place

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank james j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa San Francisco also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Playa San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing