We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Visit”

Faro Celerain Ecological Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$129.00*
and up
Cozumel Jeep Tour from Cancun and Riviera Maya
Ranked #37 of 159 things to do in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Faro Celarain (Punta Sur) is an Ecological Reserve,which encloses a variety of natural wonders. It covers an area of one thousand hectares and it is destined for the conservation and preservation of the 5 ecosystems that conform it. Faro Celarain is rich in coastal dunes, mangroves, reefs,lagoons systems, the Island's most beautiful beaches and reefs. Faro Celarain light house is a museum dedicated to the navigation
Green Bay, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place To Visit”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The beach here was gorgeous. Our snorkeling gear wasn't working (our own, so I'm not sure how the park's equipment was) but we enjoyed lounging in the hammocks and walking the beach.

The lighthouse has great views from the top, but is a bit of a climb. The boat ride that was included with the admission was fun - nothing special, but a great way to get out of the sun on a hot day.

The roads are the only thing to complain about there. We had a Chevy Aveo type rental with terrible shocks that made the drive to and from the beach/lighthouse very slow. Would highly recommend a SUV or dune-buggy unless you enjoy slow roads with lots of pot holes.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    135
    44
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lots of beautiful views”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Very windy on the day we went so most of our pictures look a bit distressing. It rained after we arrived there, too, but we did get to see the lighthouse before it did. There is a little mini store you can get killer micheladas! Also, take some comfortable shoes and sunglasses.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cimanom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dont go snorkling there”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

the park is beautiful and perfect for nature lovers and photographers. However plan to spend 3 hours driving (round trip) on a dirt road with puddle holes no more than 15km per hour. They advertise snorkling, so if you like fish I would recommend to spend $5 on a cheap chinese buffet and see fish there. You will see more fish there than snorkling there. $10 for a hamburger is a bit of a stretch.

The beach was beautiful though.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lk Stevens Wa
Level Contributor
248 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Nice day trip”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Drive out to the South end and enter the park. For 12 buck you can climb the lighthouse, look for crocodiles, and take in a great beach. Super fun all day event. Access road can be rough some seasons.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hitdbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Ohio
Level Contributor
158 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very picturesque!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This place is beautiful once you get there. The dirt road to travel to it is washed out and rutted badly, but the area is gorgeous. They are doing some remediation there at the lighthouse area. The walk up the narrow lighthouse is so well worth the views you will get to see. I wish there would have been more time to spend relaxing on the beach as it was not crowded at all. However, we were there as part of an excursion and only allotted 20-30 minutes. We were also able to view crocodiles, white cranes and iguanas.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Itraveldou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Faro Celerain Ecological Reserve also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Faro Celerain Ecological Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing