We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem!”

Faro Celerain Ecological Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$129.00*
and up
Cozumel Jeep Tour from Cancun and Riviera Maya
Ranked #38 of 159 things to do in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Faro Celarain (Punta Sur) is an Ecological Reserve,which encloses a variety of natural wonders. It covers an area of one thousand hectares and it is destined for the conservation and preservation of the 5 ecosystems that conform it. Faro Celarain is rich in coastal dunes, mangroves, reefs,lagoons systems, the Island's most beautiful beaches and reefs. Faro Celarain light house is a museum dedicated to the navigation
St. Louis
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

The beach at the end of the long road is awesome! Fabulous snorkeling in a beautiful little bay adjacent to a wonderful reef! The little beach bar snck bar has surprisingly good food!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank frankietrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    134
    43
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“This is a can't miss for your trip to Cozumel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our trip to Faro Celerain (aka Punta Sur) was a highlight of our time in Cozumel. We had an awesome guide (George) who not only gave us a tour but took a bunch of great photos of my husband and me. The park itself is incredibly scenic and filled with wildlife. My husband walked up to the top of the lighthouse and said it was worth it for the view. We can't wait to return during the season when the baby turtles are nesting there.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank nks1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great site!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Visited this site 17 years ago, when there was just the lighthouse.

Now it is a nicely developed federal park.

Great tour guides, nice little museum.

Wish I had a chicken to feed to the crocodiles though. It would have been fun!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A great, non commercial park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We spent a lovely afternoon here exploring all the things this park has to offer. You must have a vehicle to be able to move around properly, but there are crocodiles, small ruins, turtle nesting (seasonal), a lighthouse to climb with great ocean views, crashing waves, lovely swimmable beaches and good snorkelling. The food is a little pricey though and you cannot bring in your own though. Go early and spend a relaxing day.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank keldear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

The first thing you notice about this eco park is how stunning it is, the colors in the water are so beautiful it takes your breath away. The park had some nice hammocks and beach chairs to relax in. We did this for most of the day. You can also rent their snorkel equipment and snorkel out to the reef. Unless you are a very experienced swimmer I would not take the trip out there. My husband had a life jacket and he was ok but I did not use one because I am a fairly strong swimmer but I was exhausted by the time we finally got out to the reef and pretty disappointed with the amount of fish we saw. We had much better snorkeling in Puerto Morelos!

Overall this place is beautiful and definitely worth half a day of your vacation if you are looking for a nice, clean, relaxing beach.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Faro Celerain Ecological Reserve also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Faro Celerain Ecological Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing