We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting...”

Museo de la Isla de Cozumel
Book In Advance
More Info
$58.00*
and up
Cozumel History Walking Tour
Ranked #45 of 159 things to do in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This small museum delineates the rich history of Cozumel: a must for first time visitors who want to become more familiar with the island's people and culture.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is a very small museum on the Main Street. The first floor is about the preservation of the coral reef, the agriculture and biodiversity of Cozumel. The second floor was more interesting to me. It has sections about the Maya culture and the Spanish Conquistadors. Several artifacts were especially interesting, most notably the first scuba diving helmets.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank smstensaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    86
    35
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great - even for kids!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

It's small, but it tells you about Cozumel history and geography with models and pictures and in english!! Our kids found it interesting and they aren't museum lovers. A total bonus is their cafe on the 2. floor. Good food and view of the ocean.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kytting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
144 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Restaurant is supposed to be very good, however my experience was terrible.
We had to wait over 15 minutes for a table. When we finally wanted to order, waiters didn't even offer coffee. We had to ask 3 times to get Splenda. Ordered 4 glasses of chocolate milk for the kids, milk was sour and expired! Obviously we didn't wait for breakfast. We paid for that to avoid an argument. Seriously, go somewhere else!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsregino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Where ever I travel I like to know a little more about the history of that place. Well in Cozumel they have a Museum (Museo) that shows you Cozumel from the beginning to where it's now. It was interesting. I recommend going especially if you want to know more of the city.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank de1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize Cayes, Belize
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and views of the ocean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

This was the best breakfast that I had on this trip, and of course the views were amazing.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MsDangriga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo de la Isla de Cozumel also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Museo de la Isla de Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing