We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100 feet below the sea with Atlantis”

Atlantis Submarines
Book In Advance
More Info
$105.00*
and up
Atlantis Submarine Expedition, Cozumel
More Info
$105.00*
and up
Cozumel Shore Excursion: Atlantis Submarine Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Take a trip on a real submarine through an underwater world of coral reefs, colorful fish and ship wrecks.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Atlantis organized a pickup at Akumal Beach Resort. There were various pickups along the way to Playa del Carmen. There you meet at the Atlantis office where you are given instructions and tickets to board the 11AM Cozumel ferry just down the street. The ferry ride is about 45 minutes and there is a band that plays music on the upper deck of the ferry. Once on the Island of Cozumel, a transport is offered to the Atlantis boarding point. Here there is instruction and information about the submarine and a gift shop. From here you board a ship that brings you to the submarine that is about 10 minutes away. Once inside the submarine, it will feel like you are in a small bus. The windows are large enough to see the corals and sea life. Our maximum descent was 107 feet. My husband who is claustrophobic, felt very comfortable.
We saw barracudas, groupers, turtles, queen angels, rock beauties,etc. The 2 guides on board keep a sharp eye for anything on the move.
Once the tour is done you have an afternoon in San Miguel to browse the shops and have some lunch. A great thanks to our guide, Paul, who was extremely well organized and gave us a restaurant recommendation, La Mission while in San Miguel. Really good food and great ambiance. At 5 PM, you board the ferry back to Playa del Carmen. You are escorted to a taxi and brought back to your hotel.
It is a whole day excursion costing about $130/ person and highly recommended if you need to take a break from the beach. It includes guides and transports, but no lunch.

1  Thank Res Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumen62, Director of Sales at Atlantis Submarines, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thanks for your comments, we appreciate the feedback it let us know we are on the track. Will let our guides know about your comments, always is motivating fro all of us read we help our guests to have a good time while vacationing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (846)
There are newer reviews for Atlantis Submarines
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

526 - 530 of 846 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Nice trip. Boat ride out to the submarine. Lots of fish to see. Went down to 112 feet and then over the shelf. Pretty cool to see 1000 feet down. OJ on the way back. A healthy pour of rum if you want in your OJ as well. Courteous staff.

Thank cheapfisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumen62, Director of Sales at Atlantis Submarines, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thanks for your comments, good to know you enjoy it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

If you do not dive, this is an excellent opportunity to glimpse into the depths of the sea!
The Atlantis staff were friendly and accommodating from the moment we arrived until the very end of the activity.

It is about 10 minutes by boat to the submersion site, during which we saw some of the most amazing turquoise waters. Then, we enjoyed the suspense and excitement of the Atlantis submarine emerging from its last dive!

The submarine can hold up to 48 people, but we were only 20, so we had plenty of free space. It felt very comfortable and safe the whole time.

We explored Chankanaab Reef and reached as low as 109 feet below the surface! Visibility was good and we got to see a great deal of fish, including a huge barracuda and two groupers. The corals and vegetation are a sight in themselves.

We were very happy with this unique experience and highly recommend it to people travelling to Cozumel who do not dive and/or are with children over four years old!

Thank MissGeorgiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumen62, Director of Sales at Atlantis Submarines, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thanks for your great description, tour is intended for people of all ages (4 &Up), to let them experience the Ocean and their beauties, even if you dive this is a completely different way to dive. We are pretty sure that with such great comments other people visiting Cozumel will be interested i visiting us and enjoy Cozumel´s best, the underwater world.
Cheers from Cozumel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Took my teenage son on this adventure, his idea, and found it was definately for the younger set. The sub is very cool, the view is terrific, but the space is extremely small and thus horribly crowded - so crowded that it really ruins the whole experience.

Thank Beth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumen62, Director of Sales at Atlantis Submarines, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

We appreciate your comments, It is definitely an Attraction for all family,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

How many people can say that they've been on a trip on a submarine in the beautiful Caribbean ocean? (well besides the navy and the fictional stingray puppets!) my fiancé convinced me to do this trip even though I'm terrified of deep water and all that swims about in it! It has always been on his bucket list to go on a real submarine so how could I say no??? I do not regret one second of it! The safety aspects of this trip alone put your mind at ease instantly! The views of the reefs were absolutely breathtaking and even with my fear of open water I enjoyed the whole adventure 100% I didn't even flinch when we saw a nurse shark resting at the edge of the reef. Paul our guide was so great, he completely impressed me with his knowledge of the reef and the surrounding area not to mention his charming and friendly personality. He genuinely made me feel at ease throughout the whole trip! I will definitely be looking to try this out again perhaps in Hawaii next!!!!!

Thank Lindsayroyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumen62, Director of Sales at Atlantis Submarines, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

You are correct, less than 1% of the earth habitants have been in a Submarine and could share this experience. We love to hear our guests enjoy the Tour and that in some cases we even help to defeat some fears. If going to Hawaii you should try the tour there it is a completely different scenario therefore a different Experience. Paul, would love to read your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlantis Submarines also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Atlantis Submarines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing