We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool”

Atlantis Submarines
Book In Advance
More Info
$105.00*
and up
Atlantis Submarine Expedition, Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Take a trip on a real submarine through an underwater world of coral reefs, colorful fish and ship wrecks.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Waverly fl
Level Contributor
124 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cool”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Nice trip. Boat ride out to the submarine. Lots of fish to see. Went down to 112 feet and then over the shelf. Pretty cool to see 1000 feet down. OJ on the way back. A healthy pour of rum if you want in your OJ as well. Courteous staff.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank cheapfisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumen62, Director of Sales at Atlantis Submarines, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thanks for your comments, good to know you enjoy it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    607
    151
    40
    12
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“An incredibly fun and unique experience”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

If you do not dive, this is an excellent opportunity to glimpse into the depths of the sea!
The Atlantis staff were friendly and accommodating from the moment we arrived until the very end of the activity.

It is about 10 minutes by boat to the submersion site, during which we saw some of the most amazing turquoise waters. Then, we enjoyed the suspense and excitement of the Atlantis submarine emerging from its last dive!

The submarine can hold up to 48 people, but we were only 20, so we had plenty of free space. It felt very comfortable and safe the whole time.

We explored Chankanaab Reef and reached as low as 109 feet below the surface! Visibility was good and we got to see a great deal of fish, including a huge barracuda and two groupers. The corals and vegetation are a sight in themselves.

We were very happy with this unique experience and highly recommend it to people travelling to Cozumel who do not dive and/or are with children over four years old!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissGeorgiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumen62, Director of Sales at Atlantis Submarines, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thanks for your great description, tour is intended for people of all ages (4 &Up), to let them experience the Ocean and their beauties, even if you dive this is a completely different way to dive. We are pretty sure that with such great comments other people visiting Cozumel will be interested i visiting us and enjoy Cozumel´s best, the underwater world.
Cheers from Cozumel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Definately for younger kids”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Took my teenage son on this adventure, his idea, and found it was definately for the younger set. The sub is very cool, the view is terrific, but the space is extremely small and thus horribly crowded - so crowded that it really ruins the whole experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumen62, Director of Sales at Atlantis Submarines, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We appreciate your comments, It is definitely an Attraction for all family,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best experiences I've ever had!!!!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

How many people can say that they've been on a trip on a submarine in the beautiful Caribbean ocean? (well besides the navy and the fictional stingray puppets!) my fiancé convinced me to do this trip even though I'm terrified of deep water and all that swims about in it! It has always been on his bucket list to go on a real submarine so how could I say no??? I do not regret one second of it! The safety aspects of this trip alone put your mind at ease instantly! The views of the reefs were absolutely breathtaking and even with my fear of open water I enjoyed the whole adventure 100% I didn't even flinch when we saw a nurse shark resting at the edge of the reef. Paul our guide was so great, he completely impressed me with his knowledge of the reef and the surrounding area not to mention his charming and friendly personality. He genuinely made me feel at ease throughout the whole trip! I will definitely be looking to try this out again perhaps in Hawaii next!!!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lindsayroyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumen62, Director of Sales at Atlantis Submarines, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
You are correct, less than 1% of the earth habitants have been in a Submarine and could share this experience. We love to hear our guests enjoy the Tour and that in some cases we even help to defeat some fears. If going to Hawaii you should try the tour there it is a completely different scenario therefore a different Experience. Paul, would love to read your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great for everyone”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We were not sure if we would like this... 2 kids plus my 78 year old mother. The waves were pretty choppy and we were nervous about the transfer from the boat to the sub - but we should not have been! It was very easy and so enjoyable! We saw a sea turtle, shark and many fish. The sub glided through the coral and we were amazed by the true beauty below the sea. This was such a great way to enjoy the reef - well worth the price. Thank you to the crew!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlantis Submarines also viewed

 

Been to Atlantis Submarines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing