We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot weather... ”

San Gervasio Mayan Archaeological Site
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Mayan Ruins and Beach Time
More Info
$85.00*
and up
Off-Road Mayan Adventure in Cozumel with Snorkeling and Lunch
More Info
$51.25*
and up
Cozumel Shore Excursion: 5-Hour Sightseeing Tour with Private Driver
Ranked #24 of 159 things to do in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Although not as popular as Chichén Itzá, these ancient Mayan ruins are noteworthy in their own right, as this is the site where Mayan women paid tribute to the goddess of love and fertility.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hot weather... ”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

We walked for about one hour to see the entire site ... It was nice to see the mayan ruins but this place was not impressive or memorable... The hot weather made it hard for a young children

Helpful?
1 Thank Lyzander22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    496
    240
    44
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Killington, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Miguel Tamayo the best guide ever”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We visited The Mayan ruins and had Miguel Tamayo who speaks excellent English as our tour guide. He was very knowledgeable and provided an excellent tour. He is the best.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank kccskihouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Great ruins be sure and buy the bug spray before you go in. the bite bugs will come in swarms but the local spray keeps them off. The people there are very nice

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KentuckyDivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Real history”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We went to San Gervasio ruins as part of an all-day Jeep tour. When we pulled in, thunder started clapping loudly, making me wonder if we had angered some Mayan Gods! The rain, and overcast day also helped set the mood for the tour. We took the tour on our own. If I were to do this again, I'd get the tour guide from the park take us around. I read all the plaques, but also had questions about the ruins that a tour guide would have been helpful with. We got out of there at the right time, because busses full of cruise ship tourists were pouring in! Not my cup of tea, these crouds! I did enjoy the history though, and will go back again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sh1520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Bus loads of people all at once”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the ruins and learning about the history of the Mayans but they bring in 10-15 huge busses of people all at once. Very crowded and if you want to take pictures it's almost impossible to get one without a stranger in it. Don't forget the bug spray as it is a very wet area. For shoes, lots of walking and it can be muddy, so I would wear flip flops

Helpful?
3 Thank Allen0116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Gervasio Mayan Archaeological Site also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to San Gervasio Mayan Archaeological Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing