We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting to look at but tour guides are terrible”

San Gervasio Mayan Archaeological Site
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Mayan Ruins and Beach Time
Ranked #25 of 159 things to do in Cozumel
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Although not as popular as Chichén Itzá, these ancient Mayan ruins are noteworthy in their own right, as this is the site where Mayan women paid tribute to the goddess of love and fertility.
1 review
“Interesting to look at but tour guides are terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband, in laws, and I visited the ruins together. My in laws had visited it last year and were amazed at the history so they wanted us to see it. We paid the $8/pp fee and got a tour guide because the guide they had last year gave so much knowledge and made it a way better experience. Our tour guide was HORRIBLE. His name was Alfonso. He hardly spoke any English, he would jump around from story to story without completing his thought so we had no idea what he was talking about. He carried a binder with tons of useless pictures, he'd keep showing us the same ones over and over and they had nothing to do with what we were looking at. He wasn't very knowledgeable which was especially shown when we asked him a question and he replied "look it up on your computer." Then we went to give him the $18 for the tour but all we had was a $20 bill and he didn't have change on him. So he said he'd have $2 waiting for us at the entrance. When we went back to the entrance he had already left and didn't leave our change with anyone so we ended up paying $20 for very poor service!

Helpful?
Thank Kimmiefischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    473
    228
    41
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“shoulda gotten a guide!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We visited this site Dec 6 and did not get a guide, simply walked the paths and read the informative signs. From that perspective, it wasn't much. My sister who has seen many other Mayan ruins was disappointed with some of the re-building of foundations that made it difficult to tell where the original ended and the modifications took over.
I did have an interesting encounter with a wild boar on one of the deserted paths!
Also, we had a wheelchair bound person with us and this site / paths is NOT accessible for wheelchairs, baby strollers, anything with wheels. The paths beyond the first ruin are extremely rocky/rooty and impassable on anything but foot.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Zimbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Visited Tulum, Chichen Itza, and now San Gervasio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

The first stop of our cruise, 4 of us went on a scooter tour of the island.
Drive 6 miles from the main road on a very ruff road loaded with pot holes...quite "interesting" with scooters :)

Once there, we paid 8$ each + hired a guide for 18$. I'm not sure if they charge more based on the size of your group, but we got Ruben for 18$. Ruben, there since 1954 when they discovered the site and started excavating. He really knew the site inside and out. He gave us a thorough review / tour of the site with a whole lot of Mayan information that was fantastic. I was the only one in the group that had been to Mexico before (visited Tulum & Chichen Itza years back), I found the tour even more fascinating knowing how this sites connected.

Having been to Tulum and Chichen Itza, this is not a good stopping point to see ruins as they've been destroyed over time...I'll let the guides explain what happened. All this to say, if you want a Mayan ruin experience and pay for a guide to learn the history, its a great 1 hour tour. But if your here to see ruins, skip it. Not much ruins to see here and I think you'll be disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank LaL7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth a trip to see!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a walking tour of some distance through the Mayan jungle, so wear walking shoes, take bug spray and of course water,water, water. It is a very historical ruin where the people went to procure health and fertility for women and courage and strength to men. It was partially destroyed by early explores as so many of the ruins of the ancient civilization were. The history of this site is interesting. How the people traveled to this spot and what took place here. The trails are a little rouged. The quiet heat of the jungle brings to mind the efforts and dedication of the Mayan people. There are many jungle birds, iguanas, and plants to see. Get a guide for the best informative visit. About 2 hours of walking is required and can be hot during July, August, and September.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank ccunning45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“These ruins have advantages”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

When cruising to Cozumel, there are three choices for seeing archeological ruins. The larger two involve a ferry ride (which is famous for making people sick due to rough seas) to the mainland, followed by a very long bus or taxi ride, and then just an hour at the ruins before having to get back on the bus and then the ferry. The third option, San Gervasio, is close to the port and can be seen as a nod to culture before hitting the beach. Compared to the larger sites, it is not as impressive. However, for those who have not visited many ruins, it is definitely worth the short trip. Walk out to the main street in front of the port and hail a taxi. (the port taxis cost much more) Negotiate a price to take you to the ruins, wait for you, and then take you to a beach afterward. Upon arrival at the ruins, be sure to pay extra for a guide. Without a guide to tell you the significance of each area, the tour is not worth much. Don't forget your bug spray!!! They sell it at the ruins, but the price is much higher. There are lots of horse flies and other insects.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank needadvicetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Gervasio Mayan Archaeological Site also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to San Gervasio Mayan Archaeological Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing