We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My 4th trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Springfield,Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My 4th trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2005

We just returned from our 4th stay.We have always been very happy with this little place.The morning meals and lunch are very nice,great assortment.Every one is very gracious.Always greeted with a smile and a kind word.The pool is large and really nice. Nice pool bar and snack area. The rooms are nice ,everything worked.Our room faces the street and the views are great .However, it is not a sand beach property. They do have that great tunnel to a beach club area.There is some sand,and a great tanning area.Pool,bar and food area. Water entry is made from a series of stairs, wooden and stone.There is a great dive shop.People are all very warm and friendly.Every thing from snorkel to boat dives.Resort is within walking distance to town.Great location.Can't say enough about this place.One of the best 2star hotels around.I think it deserves more credit.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank fluffsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    691
    363
    147
    102
See reviews for
350
548
89
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2005

Hotel Cozumel Resort is the best all around resort. I have been coming to Cozumel for seven years. I decided to stay at Hotel Cozumel due to the recent renovation at Plaza Las Glorias now called Cozumel Palace. Hotel Cozumel is within walking distance to town. This allows you the feedom to access town without the high taxi fares. A grocery store is within two blocks that has everything your could ever need while on vacation. The resort is not on the beach but has easy access with the underground tunel or simply crossing the street. Dive Paradise is on site providing all of your diving if you choose. The food is the biggest complaint in Mexico. We have to understand that processing of food is different in Mexico. However, the food at Los Arcos was the best I have ever had in Mexico. The all inclusive option is great but keep in mind town is just a short walk or $4 taxi ride not $20 from the southern hotels. I was impressed by the on-site gym, it actually has free wights. The staff was wonderful and the rooms were clean. Get use to different smells you are in Mexico. Enjoy your trip

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2005

We just returned from Cozumel. We couldn't have asked for more perfect weather. The food at the Hotel was very good. Take note, there are nights that they rotate the food selection, so read the menu before choosing which restaurant to dine at in the evening. The breakfast is good with a variety of choices each day. The pool is nice in that it is never too crowded as it is so big. The rooms were average. Be sure to not turn off the AC as this will cause a huge pool of condensation on the floor! The staff was very friendly and courteous. Be sure and be extra special nice to the bartender at the pool, he makes one mean MANGO MARGARITA - Oh Baby!!!! **Bring a large plastic cup with lid for your drinks, as they only give you 6 oz glasses at a time. They will gladly fill your cup full, if you have one.

My one and only complaint is that this in NOT beachfront property. There is no beach to speak of near this hotel. If you are a diver, this is the perfect place for you. However, if you are wanting to lay out at the beach close to your hotel, this is not the place for you! There is a public beach within 3 miles of the hotel, but you must ride a taxi or rent a car to get there.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank DARCY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2005

My husband and I went for a week with a large group of friends. I was disappointed with the service in the resturant and bar. For an all inclusive deal, it was not worth the extra money. Service was slow and the food was cold when you ordered due to the fact that it took more than two hours to get at times. The resturant staff was rude and slow.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cozumel hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2005

My husband and I just returned from our 10 day stay at HCR. We enjoyed it very much. There is slight to no cosmetic damage from hurricane Emily remaining. The staff works very hard to keep this hotel in good shape. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The food and drinks are ok. Eating here is pricy without an all-inclusive package. We really enjoyed snorkeling along the coast from the hotel. We went scuba diving for 5 days with the in-house outfit and had a wonderful experience. This is my second trip to Cozumel and second stay at HCR. I will definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2005

I have to say that the hotel was nice. However, I was really disappointed in the drinks. I tried just about every drink that was available. I tried margaritas, fuzzy navels, beer (Sol is the only all-inclusive beer), pina colada, etc.. I was so disappointed. I kept asking people what they were drinking. Most people paid out-of-pocket for better tasting beer(which is a very limited selection-none that I am familiar with), or they were trying very hard to swallow down this stuff. I am not picky when it comes to drinks. I drink just about anything, but their selection and brands were so weak. A lot of people must have felt the same way, because there were a lot of abandoned, full glasses all over the pool area. If you have already booked at this hotel, order strawberry daquiri with banana, that was the most decent drink that they had. Plus, if you like to party, wait until the night time when you can visit Senor Frogs. They have a lot of drinks available. They even had my favorite Yaegerbombs.

The food at the hotel was okay. It is all-inclusive, so I didn't expect it to be grand. I had read a lot of reviews saying how bad it was, but it wasn't. I will warn you, though. They give you a menu with food that is both included and not included. In other words, they try to trick you into buying something. The menu does not indicate what is not part of all-inclusive. I asked every time. They didn't seem to like it, but I was not going to pay more than I needed to. So when in doubt, ask. I do think that you will find that the food is okay. If not, there are a lot of local places that are very affordable.

Being that food and drinks were part of the all-inclusive package, I would definitely never stay here again on an all-inclusive package. I would just pay for the hotel room. If I intended to lounge around and have a few good drinks, this would not be the place for me. I would look for a hotel that serves top quality liquor. It would depend on the crowd that I came with. If you are coming with the intentions of staying in the hotel most of the time--good luck. If you are planning on enjoying the rest of Cozumel and possibly go island hopping, this hotel will do.

One big thing that annoyed me about this hotel was that they had only one elevator. Our room was on the third floor. It was a pain to go back up and down. The elevator is close to the rooms that round off to the nearest hundred. For example, my room was 125?. That was more of a walk than taking the stairs. The first floor rooms start with 1000s.The second floor starts with 1100s. The third floor starts with the 1200s. In my case, the elevator seemed miles away. Believe me when I tell you that by the second night, you will want to consider changing rooms. It may not seem like a big deal now, but it doesn't hurt to ask for a room near the elevator. By the way, the room was great. You might need a little deodorizer on the first day, but the bed was great, the view was great, the balcony is nice, the bathroom flushing is excellent (you won't find that anywhere else in Cozumel), and most importantly the a/c works wonderfully.

I had read reviews that complained about the pool. The pool was great, don't be worried. It is the perfect size. One time when my friend and I asked for a ride back to our hotel, the cab driver asked if it was the hotel with the big pool. I suppose it must have one of the nicest pools in the area.

As for everything else that is offered in the all-inclusive package, it didn't seem readily available. They never told us when they were doing the latin dancing or cooking classes. The tennis court was empty. I did not even see the kayaks. I did not enforce these things. They were not that important to me, but if they are to you, ask when you arrive. The nightly entertaining seemed really dull to me, but if you are with your family, that might be the thing for you. I was with my best friend, and we wanted to dance and have a good time. We took a cab for $3 every night to Senor Frogs.

If you are on your way to Cozumel soon, let me assure you that the hurricane damage was very minimal to the area. Either it was very minimal or they clean up really quickly. Sure, there are some areas that looked more damaged than others, but the hotel and the main parts, were all in good shape.

I hope this review helps you.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2005

My friend and I just spent 4 days at the Cozumel Hotel and Resort. I have been fortunate in the fact that I do get to travel to some of the fun places in the Carribean and the United States. With that experience and all the factors considered we enjoyed our stay in Cozumel very much and would stay there again if winds take us there. We found the hotel to be clean, the service excellant and the property a nice place to be. The pool area was exceptional and very relaxing. Yes the beach is almost non existant but the man made area was nice and there are areas only a short cab ride away with great snorkling etc. The food in our all inclusive package was more than adequate but if it is cruise ship quality you are looking for it is not. The nightlife is tame but the town is only a hop, skip and jump away. You can find plenty of late night activity there. In a posted review someone complained that the floors were always wet. Yes at times they were but that is because of the open hallways and some very heavy showers. The staff were always working on it when it happened, just do't run. Speaking of rain, we were there just prior to the big storms in July and have heard several resorts took a hit. I do not know if it affected the CHR. Also shop around on different web sites we found a great price on a lesser known service that saved us over $130.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.8 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
2.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
4.0 mi away
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
1.4 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cozumel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Property: Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Address: Carretera Costera Sur, Km 1.7 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cozumel and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This gorgeous resort is one mile away from the newly renovated center square with shopping, local restaurants and bars, and just minutes from the colorful and abundant coral reefs that have made Cozumel one of the world's top snorkeling and diving destinations. The largest swimming pool in town with two diferent meal plan options: All inclusive and European plan. 180 newly remodeled air conditioned rooms in 3 story buildings, including 6 superior rooms with jacuzzi and 1 two bedrooms Master Suite, all with flat screen tv, Wi-Fi free access, direct dial, touch tone telephones, bottle of water on arrival, radio alarm clock, safety deposit box, iron-ironing board, hair dryer and toiletres, adjoining rooms availables. the 180 rooms are non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cozumel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cozumel Cozumel
Hotel Cozumel Resort
Cozumel Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing