We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for divers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Hotel Cozumel and Resort as part of a dive package, and we would without question return again, whether as part of another package or on our own.

This is by no means a world-class resort, but for what it is and tries to be, it represents exceptional value. I found the entire staff to be friendly, cooperative, and accommodating, and the facilities are more than sufficient.

Again, this was a dive trip, and the diving experience permeates the entire resort. There is a dive shop and a dock right across the street -- there is even a tunnel underneath the street to the dive shop and dock -- and there are drying racks outside on the balcony of your room for all of your wet dive gear.

The rooms are simple but sufficient, and are comfortable, with free Wi-fi, and a safe in the room.

We were not part of an all-inclusive package, so I can offer no comment regarding the food, but I found the prices and service at both the pool bar and the lobby bar to be excellent, again with very friendly and accommodating staff.

The hotel’s website claims the largest swimming pool in Cozumel, and it is indeed a nice setting.

All-in-all, I have nothing negative whatsoever to say about this hotel. We found it to be an excellent value, and significantly better than I expected at its price-point.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 41-38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CozumelResortSales, Director of Sales at Hotel Cozumel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review and for sharing your experience with us with all the Trip Advisor readers. We are so pleased that you have found us suitable for your diving vacation. We truly hope to have you with us in a near future again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,814)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

737 - 743 of 1,814 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

Just got back from a stay here in October for my first dive experience. This hotel is in an excellent location both for diving (through Dive Paradise) as well as walking into town. It was clean, and the staff was friendly and always accommodating. As a single traveler (I was there with a group of friends, but staying on my own), I always felt very safe and had no issues with the amenities at the hotel. The food was good (although not 5-star quality), there was always a nice selection. (Make sure if you're out at the grill by the pool that you ask them to make up some fresh guacamole for you...muy bueno !!!!!) All in all, I would most definitely recommend this hotel and for the price, you just can't beat it !

Room Tip: We were there in the off-season so traffic wasn't too bad, but I would suggest a room away from...
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank MOMom9701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CozumelResortSales, Director of Sales at Hotel Cozumel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased that you have had a wonderful diving vacation with us. Thank you for recommending us to all the Trip Advisor readers. We hope to have you with us in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

near to downtown clean with a nice oceanview. people is friendly local people its nice. i hope u go cozumel soon.go snorkl if u want to eat with a razonable price go downtown where the local people eats. you ll spend half of your ll spend on the main avenue

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WILLIAM ALBERTO P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CozumelResortSales, Director of Sales at Hotel Cozumel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Hello William, thank you so much for your kind review. We are happy that you have had a nice vacation with us. We truly hope to see you in a near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Cozumel Oct.26-Nov.4 2013. You cant beat the price for what you get. The rooms are spacious & clean. Beds are a just a mattress on a concrete platform but I like a firm mattress. Only negative things I can say are that the bathroom shower in a tub had to be stepped up into and then a large step down to get out of it. The sink did not drain very well. Also it rained for two days while we were there and the hotel had several leaks in roof which made tile floors slippery. But even with all that my hubby and I were happy because the rooms & hallways were CLEAN!
Food & drinks were good. You can see they recycle leftover food and incorporate into different dishes. I always found something good to eat. Soups were fantastic and as you would expect the fruit was fresh.
The pool was clean and Jacuzzi was dirty when we arrived after the rain but they shocked it and it was clean and fresh within a day or two.
For the most part we went to Cozumel to dive. After a day of being on the boat the resort was relaxing and comfortable. The staff was nice, accommodating and very friendly willing to tolerate my limited attempts at Spanish as well.
My hubby had a hair cut and massage at the onsite spa. Service was higher priced than services offered elsewhere on island but he said the masseuse got out the knots. Next time we will skip that part.

Room Tip: One suggestion: when booking a room if you are diving is to get a balcony with iron bars. It is easi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mom2rac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CozumelResortSales, Director of Sales at Hotel Cozumel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Hello, thank you for your kind review. We are so happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry about the rainy days you had but unfortunatelly there is nothing we can do about the weather. However, we truly appreciate your comments about our facilities since they will certainly help us to improve them. We hope to see you soon in a near future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We've been to Hotel Cozumel three times now and plan on returning as soon as we can.

I agree with other posters that the rooms are basic, but they are clean and spacious. My only complaint about the room is that the balcony lights come on at night and you can not turn them off. Many times I would like to sit on our balcony in the evenings, but with the bright light on, the bugs come out and you feel like you are in a spotlight.

I like that the Hotel is close enough to town to walk, and also within just a short distance of a large supermarket.

It is nice to have Dive Paradise on the property, and we have used them often. They really cater to divers with lockers, rinse tanks and places to hang your wet gear to dry.

The food is plentiful and the staff are friendly. We recognize the same faces each time we go, and some have been there for many years. We look forward to returning in 2014.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view room if you want a quieter experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ariana_bliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CozumelResortSales, Director of Sales at Hotel Cozumel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Hello Arianna, thank you very much for your valuable and continued preference. We all at Hotel Cozumel & Resort are pleased that you enjoy us while diving and vacationing in Cozumel. Thank you for your kind review, We are looking forward to your visit on 2014!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Hotel Cozumel is a great low cost and clean place to stay while on a dive trip. Not a good place for a princess. Rooms are basic but clean. The restaurants are good and have a good variety. Staff was very polite and accommodating. The hotel is within walking distance of town and there is a great dive operator on site. We have stayed here twice and will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CozumelResortSales, Director of Sales at Hotel Cozumel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Hello David, thank you for your valuable and continued preference. We appreciate your kind review, and look forward to having you with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were there in January and everything was perfect. We are planning the dive trip for my boyfriend and his son (who has never been to Cozumel) and the only place we are looking at staying is Hotel Cozumel. I feel comfortable staying at the Hotel while the guys dive and it is convenient for the guys to dive there. The food is pretty good and the drinks are good too. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff is great. We stayed at another hotel on the island in May and the entire time wished we are back at the Hotel Cozumel. We will not make that mistake again. We are looking forward to our January trip and hope it is memorable for my boyfriends son.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CozumelResortSales, Director of Sales at Hotel Cozumel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Hello Melissa, thank you so much for your kind review. We all at Hotel Cozumel & Resort are pleased that you have had a wonderful stay with us. You will see that your boyfriend's son will enjoy his stay with us as much as you did last January.
We are looking forward to have you with us again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.8 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,148 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#23 of 52 in Cozumel
816 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
0.8 mi away
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cozumel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Address: Carretera Costera Sur, Km 1.7 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $64 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cozumel and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This gorgeous resort is one mile away from the newly renovated center square with shopping, local restaurants and bars, and just minutes from the colorful and abundant coral reefs that have made Cozumel one of the world's top snorkeling and diving destinations. The largest swimming pool in town with two diferent meal plan options: All inclusive and European plan. 180 newly remodeled air conditioned rooms in 3 story buildings, including 6 superior rooms with jacuzzi and 1 two bedrooms Master Suite, all with flat screen tv, Wi-Fi free access, direct dial, touch tone telephones, bottle of water on arrival, radio alarm clock, safety deposit box, iron-ironing board, hair dryer and toiletres, adjoining rooms availables. the 180 rooms are non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cozumel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cozumel Cozumel
Hotel Cozumel Resort
Cozumel Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing