We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Paris, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Convenient”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Hotel property is in easy walking distance to downtown. We chose to skip the all inclusive so we could visit some local restaurants. Rooms were large and clean with balcony.
As divers we liked the on sight dive shop, however always take the fast boat option, it cuts the travel time to dive sights in half. Dive Paradise is the dive shop and is very good.
Great pool area with plenty of lounge chairs. The usual "activity chatter" but not too often.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teekloader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    706
    381
    153
    107
See reviews for
364
562
91
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This Hotel and the local dive shop, Dive Paradise, connected by adjoining tunnel, offer a great diving solution.
It is very convenient for any diver to have accommodation, dive shop and restaurant all together. I felt as a diver that I was really catered to. The dive operation of Dive Paradise was very professional.
The hotel rooms, staff, food and pool were great. One thing especially appreciated was returning from the morning dives to find a buffet ready for you.
I would not hesitate to recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmar, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

As I have stayed and reviewed Hotel Cozumel before, I'll be brief.
I rate HC a solid 3 star hotel, a lot of scuba divers. If you want the five star hotel, pay for one! LOL.
HC is great for divers-rinse tanks, showers, tons of hanging racks and most importantly lockers for your gear on the docks. Note, these all belong to the hotel,not the on-site cattle boat dive operator! Use a different dive operator! All the dive operators will pick you up on the hotel dock. Also, for the all inclusive bargain price, you don't feel guilty having dinner in town once or twice- walk in (one mile), taxi home, $6.

Pros: Food- good not great, Dive Lockers, free Wifi, Price!, Service, Pool
Cons: Beds and pillows a little hard.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpringLakeNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have stayed at Hotel Cozumel three times and plan to return. Although it's an older facility, it is clean and well-maintained. We take advantage of the all-inclusive package they offer. The food is healthy and tasty. Downtown is an easy walk. We always have a good experience with Paradise Divers, the dive operation on-site. It's really easy to stroll to the boat, then eat lunch by the water upon our return.
I recommend it if my description appeals to you.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I went witha group of advanced divers and we had arrange a boat for our group through Dive Paradise at the resort. The boat ride to all the dive sites was a little too long. 45minutes average. Dive lockers were nice. Not too much in the retail store Food was good and plentiful. Wait staff was excellent. Walking disance into town. Rooms were average. Everything worked.Seemed to be a lot of kids around in the day so pool area was a little loud. No beach here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teamSTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

LOVED the people at Dive Paradise.
The hotel is in a nice location, at the edge of town. Easy walking distance to town and touristy spots.
THE BEDS SUCK!!!!! The mattresses are years old and placed on concrete platforms. They put the foam egg-crates on top of the mattresses in an attempt to make it more comfortable. Didn't work! We ended up putting both egg-crates on the best mattress and suffering through that way. We got the all inclusive package and although the food was okay, there were no tortillas at any of the meals. Is that only an American thing? Also, my husband ended up getting a case of "Montezuma's revenge" and was bed ridden for 36 hours. They wouldn't let me take food up to the room to care for him. I had to sneak it up. Not very compassionate about that. Didn't use "The biggest pool in Cozumel", but it looked clean and well taken care of.
The staff was wonderful! Very attentive and always smiling. Loved that the hotel caters to the divers that use Dive Paradise. Also, really liked the tunnel under the street.

Really, really need to get different beds.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DNourse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I didn't stay at the resort but when I did the Salsa & Salsa shore excursion on my cruise, this is where it takes place and you have time afterwards to use their pool or beach. A few of us chose the pool, which was large, clean and very refreshing. There's an area of the pool where a bunch of people were playing volleyball, other areas shere families and kids were swimming and splashing around, and still it did not seem crowded or chaotic. It's a HUGE pool. Lots of loungers all around and very relaxing. There's also a souvenir/craft kiosk and other things around it.

From what I saw of the rest of the place, it was very laid back and seemed like such a great place to base yourself in Cozumel. The lobby is tropical and airy. There's a restaurant on the beach side and adjacent to it was a small sandy beach area with loungers, etc.. The shoreline itself seemed more rocky, which means it's a great area for diving Cozumel's world-famous reefs. The number of SCUBA classes we saw while there pretty much confirmed that.

Would definitely consider staying here if I were doing a vacay in Cozumel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank girlycheckin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.8 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,071 reviews
2.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
4.5 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
4.3 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cozumel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Property: Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Address: Carretera Costera Sur, Km 1.7 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cozumel and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This gorgeous resort is one mile away from the newly renovated center square with shopping, local restaurants and bars, and just minutes from the colorful and abundant coral reefs that have made Cozumel one of the world's top snorkeling and diving destinations. The largest swimming pool in town with two diferent meal plan options: All inclusive and European plan. 180 newly remodeled air conditioned rooms in 3 story buildings, including 6 superior rooms with jacuzzi and 1 two bedrooms Master Suite, all with flat screen tv, Wi-Fi free access, direct dial, touch tone telephones, bottle of water on arrival, radio alarm clock, safety deposit box, iron-ironing board, hair dryer and toiletres, adjoining rooms availables. the 180 rooms are non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cozumel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cozumel Cozumel
Hotel Cozumel Resort
Cozumel Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing