We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozumel all-inclusive hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cozumel all-inclusive hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed with a dive group 3/9-13/13. The hotel was part of a package, not selected personally. The place was very clean throughout (grounds, lobby, rooms, halls, pool-area). Good service in the restaurant and cleaning the room. The pool-side bar service was under-staffed (one or two people working, and generally only one of them in direct customer contact). The hotel was very convenient to the dive boat arranged (across the street). They even have a diver operation 'on-site' (that being across the street by their cafe). The food was plentiful with lots of selections, but a bit boring.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    691
    363
    147
    102
See reviews for
350
548
89
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
272 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We will be checking out other hotel options after this stay. We booked through Expedia, getting the European plan which we've always gotten (which includes breakfast only). We even called to make sure it still included breakfast and were told yes. When we checked in we were told it did not include breakfast - that the European plan only includes breakfast if it's booked directly through the resort. Why would you have two plans, one with and one without breakfast, have the same name? We tried to explain we'd called to confirm and they refused to budge - said we'd have to charge the $8 breakfast per person to our room. So, we decided to not eat there at all - we woke up a little earlier each morning and walked down a ways for breakfast (Jeannie's, Rock N Java and Prima) and were so glad to have done that(meals were $3-7) and they were WAY better than Hotel Cozumel's breakfast. Their food has always been blah, which is why we don't do all inclusive. It's so much cheaper and much more fun (not to mention more delicious) to just get a bottle of rum, some coke and beer, and some snacks at the Chedraui for lunch and then walk to town for dinners.

We used to get a free bottle of water - not this time. We stayed 5 nights but our toiletries (1 shampoo, 1 bar of soap, 1 lotion) were never refreshed - thankfully I had brought some bar soap and extra shampoo. We were put on the first floor facing the street and had some street noise the first night until VERY late, but the rest of our time in Coz it was fine.

One nice change this trip was the cleaning staff always had our room clean by the time we got back from diving - used to be that we'd get back around 2:30 and have to take showers using wet towels because our room hadn't been attended to yet.

Yes, this place is cheap, and the rooms are ok, and of course it's convenient for our dive shop (Dive Paradise rocks!) we are going to research other options because we didn't feel very welcome this trip at all.

Room Tip: don't upgrade to ocean view- not worth it. Pool view is just fine. We stayed on the street side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tawney112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Loved this place. Food was pretty good. Tunnel to the dive shop and snorkeling. Lots of great fish to see. Close to shopping and walking distance to down town. The bartender at the hotel is awesome. Told us of a real Mexican dinner place down an alley and the food was fantastic. Pool was also great with activities. I would stay here again and I'm in the process of booking another stay.

Room Tip: Ask the bartender about the Mexican resturant down the alley in toen
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brushog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Really nice people and the location is great for diving - dock right across the street. Food was OK - and not much better than that. The price was cheap and it served its purpose. Was trying to figure out during our 5 day stay if people were so tired and hungry from diving that their standards just drop - or what.
A couple little things that really would have been EASY to "fix" started things off poorly for me. When we got to our room day 1 there was a qTip on the floor in the bathroom out in the open and a circle toilet seat on an oval toilet bowl. Seriously? You cannot get the correct kind of toilet seat??

Room Tip: as others had mentioned we asked for guac - that may have been the best thing we ate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cozumel hotels

Waterford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We recently spent a week here and really enjoyed ourselves. The hotel was well maintained and very clean. The waite staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Definetly caters to scuba divers. We had the all inclusive plan and the food was varied and we could always find something very tasty. Breakfast omlets were excellent, lunch at the beach bar was very good, especially after a dive and dinner was very good with lost of variety. Drinks in the various bars were very good.

If you can leave home and want to enjoy and experience different cuisines, this place will fulfill your needs.

On the down side, the pool area can be noisy as some folks seem to want to stay up late and have loud conversations at the pool and the BINGO games in the afternoon had the loud speakers turned up way too loud. If you like to sleep with the ac on and your sliding glass doors closed this isn't a really big deal.

Overall excellent proximity to dive boats and some shore diving, rather good food, clean rooms and comfortable beds and very friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: If you can walk up stairs, try for a room on the third floor - better privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scuba_Diver_Kev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I set up a group dive trip with 12 divers in November and would definitely go back. The staff was super friendly and the resort is clean. I especially liked all the water dispensers throughout the hallways so you could re-use water bottles and not have to create tons of plastic waste. The food is decent and what you would expect for a buffet. My main complaint is that there was no guacamole :) The wait staff was very attentive and kept the drinks flowing for the group.

The dive shop is conveniently located across the street from the hotel and is accessible via an underground tunnel so you don't even have to worry about dodging traffic. Our Divemasters Giovanni and Miguel were awesome to dive with. We were also lucky enough to get on one of the bigger covered fast boats (Coqueta) so we got to the dive sites quickly every day.

The location of the hotel is also great. It is walking distance to a grocery store, ATM, and downtown. There is a bit of a beach there and the shore diving is not to shabby to go on critter hunts. We did a night dive and found 5 octos roaming around.

The main thing that stands out in my mind related to the service of Enrique the group manager and the staff in general is helping to return a ring that I mistakenly left in the room after checking out. I didn't realize until I got back home that it was missing. I sent an email and they quickly located the small box and even shipped it back to me express without any charge. This level of honesty and speedy recovery speaks volumes.

I hope to make it back soon with another group.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pquiggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Manager is not helpful and seems to be resistance to place visitors in a room they request even when the air conditioner is broken and makings loud noises or from our room that had adjoining rooms and we could hear our neighbors and they us. This was very uncomfortable. We finally got to move the 3rd day after many requests. We waisted 2 days of our vacation dealing with getting a room that was livable for the week we were staying. This has happened than once as this same manager is always unfriendly, unpleasant and not willing to be of assistance.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doclanier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.8 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
2.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
4.0 mi away
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
1.4 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cozumel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Property: Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Address: Carretera Costera Sur, Km 1.7 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cozumel and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This gorgeous resort is one mile away from the newly renovated center square with shopping, local restaurants and bars, and just minutes from the colorful and abundant coral reefs that have made Cozumel one of the world's top snorkeling and diving destinations. The largest swimming pool in town with two diferent meal plan options: All inclusive and European plan. 180 newly remodeled air conditioned rooms in 3 story buildings, including 6 superior rooms with jacuzzi and 1 two bedrooms Master Suite, all with flat screen tv, Wi-Fi free access, direct dial, touch tone telephones, bottle of water on arrival, radio alarm clock, safety deposit box, iron-ironing board, hair dryer and toiletres, adjoining rooms availables. the 180 rooms are non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cozumel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cozumel Cozumel
Hotel Cozumel Resort
Cozumel Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing