We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a diver”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great for a diver”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I went here based on the on site dive shop and all inclusive amenities. It was a great resort, very well kept and clean. Staff was friendly and courteous. When we first checked in there were 2 double beds and they promptly moved me to a queen room at my request. The food was the weak point, standard buffet fare besides the one night over at the dive shop. That was all out awesome. The dive shop was great and my now-fiancee (I proposed after her certification dive in full wesuits!) spent 2 days on the final diving certification testing while I went out on the boat on my own. The last dive we went together and I gave her the ring on the boat. Lot of people seem to prefer this shop, not just those staying at the Hotel Cozumel. Kid friendly, the activities are not my thing but they had an MC daily running some contest or other, and they were revamping the stage for shows and such while there. VERY close to downtown, we walked most evenings down for shopping, dinner, and clubs.

Room Tip: Get first floor if you can, much easier to get to and from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leximusprime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    696
    369
    150
    103
See reviews for
354
552
90
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We made reservations at this hotel in October for our February stay. We reserved a king size bed through Expedia. When we got there, however, there were no king size beds to be found. How does that happen, Expedia??? They had my money since October. The guy at the desk said we could probably switch on Monday but who wants to unpack and pack up again to go to a different room. Anyway, all the staff here is excellent and hard working. The hotel itself is very basic but staff is cleaning it constantly. There is no swim up bar and the volleyball net for the pool is up for a very short time and then taken back down. We were on the all inclusive deal. The breakfasts are very good but the rest of the buffets are average at best. We usually went out for supper due to that fact. Didn't see much of the entertainment but what I saw was not much. The location is great as you can walk to alot of different places. The drinks are good and the bartenders are great!! Also loved the burgers and nachos with guacomole by the pool. The pool is great and not freezing cold and is NOT salt water, which some hotels there do. There are plenty of chairs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNvacationfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Booked a last minute trip to Cozumel with my son and his buddy, both 18. Wanted an inexpensive hotel close to town with beach access and this totally fit the bill. We stayed in junior suite which was ocean view. While the view was ocean it was on the loud busy street and so I would suggest a pool view as opposed to ocean as it was way too noisy. We did breakfast daily which I recommend. Why do all inclusive when there are so many wonderful places to try? Since the hotel was only a mile or two from town it was an easy walk. The pool was nice and large but water was terribly cold and hot tub was barely lukewarm. The beach club was nice but is not really a beach like Playa where you can walk in. It is man-made and you must climb in and it is rocky. Overall the hotel was clean and staff was very responsive and pleasant. For the price and location it cannot be beat. But do not expect a resort on par with a 4 or 5 star property. This is perhaps a 3 star at most.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbk999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

At the Hotel Cozumel and Resort,

The special Bed and Breakfast package is killer for the price. This package has four different categories, because Hotel Cozumel really thinks outside the box when it comes to exceptional customer service.

As a customer I thought the hotel over delivered and always seem to go up and beyond and I was extremely pleased with this one factor alone.

Breakfast from 7 til 10:30 am. was excellent, food was daily fresh, with courteous and friendly staff. The variety entertainment was engaging and 1st class to say the least.

I had one occasion that I couldn't understand one of the local's speaking English to me. That was quickly addressed by one of the other staff members coming over right away to translate in two languages English and Spanish. The situation was handled in a matter of minutes, very quickly and we didn't need to speak to management.

The hotel's genuine and caring staff, combined with how they help each other is simply amazing. Hotel Cozumel has something very special going on there, that could easily be a blue print for the hospitality industry. I learned a few words in Spanish that I still remember!

Room Tip: The corner suite, bed and breakfast package from 7 to 10 am are daiy fresh and most of the times whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarvis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeneville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013

When I arrived at the Hotel Cozumel and Resort I was greeted by a kind and helpful staff, who attended me right away. The room was clean, and room service was prompt and tidy. The location was great, and served my purpose for a nice vacation including eating out at great restaurants, shopping and it was close to the waterfront, which I visited many times since it was only a short walk from the resort. The hotel’s breakfast buffet was large and delicious, consisting of a variety of good food to start one’s day. The dining room was clean and bright. The room was $70 (US) per night, which I found to be a good vacation price. It’s certainly fair compared to the hotels in my area. Another perk about the hotel is that it is so close to the airport. One thing that I did not like about the hotel, however, is that I was not able to take my pet because the hotel only allows pets that are 15 or less pounds. My pet weighs slightly over that so I had to leave him at a boarding place. Another thing about the hotel is that over the loud speakers bingo numbers are announced throughout the day in two languages, so I wasn’t able to take a nap, but if you are there to go out on the town or to take advantage of the beach and the scuba diving packages then this is not really a problem. I will definitely book a trip at this hotel again. It’s a beautiful place, and overall I had a very pleasant time.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have double beds and some have king beds, so be sure to reserve the room you are m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimberlyMichelle1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Cozumel was a great dive destination. I would rate the diving at 4.5 stars. (I do not really know what a 5 star dive would be, so this was excellent). The hotel was ok, nothing fancy. The rooms were clean and adequate. The hotel was by no stretch of the imagination fancy but it worked for me and my brother and a couple of friends. The staff was friendly and helpful. We paid for an all inclusive package but ended up eating out every night at a different restaurant. We found a couple if excellent places. I would not take my family to Cozumel. If you don't dive, there is nothing to do. We spent 2 days on the mainland touring Mayan Ruins and the tours were excellent. Two very long days. Great trip, I had to come back and rest.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustflyou812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Cozumel last week. It was fine. We have been living in Mexico for the past 3 months so to us it seemed luxurious. The rooms were a little small and the bathrooms were awkwardly configured, but that is typical of Mexico. The whole place was very clean and well maintained. We had intended to do some afternoon diving but the port was closed so we hung out by the pool instead. It was a little like being in summer camp as they had activities every half hour: bingo, salsa lessons, volley ball, you name it! We did not get the all inclusive plan but just opted for a continental breakfast the next morning. The food was very good and you could eat as much or as little as you wanted. One thing: I would not recommend spending the extra money for the "ocean view" room. Yes, you can see the ocean but it is across the road and there is a lot of traffic, starting early in the morning, running cruise ship passengers back and forth to town. Also, the hotel was very noisy in the morning from divers slamming doors on their way out.
Dive Paradise is across the road and they are very well set up with plenty of rinse tanks, locker space, a well equipped dive shop, and their own dock. We opted not to dive as the ocean was still pretty rough. We paid for those dives even though we didn't take them. I would encourage people not to prepay, but check the weather and then make the decision. It would have saved us about $135 US.
Ivan Hector at check-in is very nice and helpful. He was a real bright spot for us.

Room Tip: Don't spend extra to get the ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiveDiva780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.8 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
2.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
4.0 mi away
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
1.4 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cozumel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Property: Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Address: Carretera Costera Sur, Km 1.7 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cozumel and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This gorgeous resort is one mile away from the newly renovated center square with shopping, local restaurants and bars, and just minutes from the colorful and abundant coral reefs that have made Cozumel one of the world's top snorkeling and diving destinations. The largest swimming pool in town with two diferent meal plan options: All inclusive and European plan. 180 newly remodeled air conditioned rooms in 3 story buildings, including 6 superior rooms with jacuzzi and 1 two bedrooms Master Suite, all with flat screen tv, Wi-Fi free access, direct dial, touch tone telephones, bottle of water on arrival, radio alarm clock, safety deposit box, iron-ironing board, hair dryer and toiletres, adjoining rooms availables. the 180 rooms are non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Cozumel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cozumel Cozumel
Hotel Cozumel Resort
Cozumel Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing