We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (575)
Filter reviews
575 results
Traveler rating
184
228
104
35
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
228
104
35
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar rooms are clean dive resort air conditioner restaurant staff ocean view cruise ship towel animals off the menu small beach per day island gear dock boats storage servers
Filter
Updating list...
461 - 466 of 575 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2007

We visited Cozumel at the end of a long trip around Yucatan hoping to do some good dives, relax and top up our tans before going back home. We were very dissapointed at the hotel because although it is OK, we felt it could be much better but they didn't do it because clientele was guaranteed (people visiting from the US for some sun and diving). We weren't provided with the correct accomodation/diving package and no apologies were extended - we rather had to fight to get what we booked.
The hotel was not very close to town so we were expecting better service, moire choice of food and overall a better experience to make it worth staying in a secluded place. Yet the food was below average and the service poor.
The island itself was very beautiful. We rented a jeep and did a tour of the island stopping at a marine park on the south - spoted some rather scary large lizards - and on the beaches on the west, which were dramatic and romantic.

Date of stay: November 2006
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HendrikM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2007

# Ladies from Minnesota, Feb24-Mar02/07
We were very disappointed about no Beach. Yes the bed were very hard. No Frigs. in the rooms, Lower Floor Rooms were very musty but very clean. Everything was very clean.Great food, good service, friendy service people. Very Nice Pool. But still a nice place to stay we did have a great time.Also to far from downtown 2 miles $2. PP by taxi.

Date of stay: March 2007
1  Thank Minnesoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2007

This was our second time back to Casa Del Mar and found it once again to be a great little place to stay. I would recommend requesting an oceanview room, it's worth the few extra dollars. The rooms are nice and clean Our room had a bit of a musty smell this time, but is not the case with all the rooms. It's a small hotel, which is what we like about ,and it has a nice sunny pool area. The entire staff was very friendly. The food is average. They have a good happy hour from 5-6 P.M. The beach is across the street , via a bridge, and is still under reconstruction from hurricane Willma, but there is still access to the water at this time. It's not a sandy beach for swimming but will soon be an interesting area for snorkeling as they have created a lot of new underwater structure that is already attracting fish. From there you can easily snorkel southward for a mile and see quite a variety of fish. I'd also recommend taking a $5.00 taxi ride south to a little restraunt/beach area called Dzul Ha (zool-ha). There is easy access and great snorkeling from there northward to a reef just north of the Presidente International Hotel.

Date of stay: March 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
16  Thank jimnjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2007

We just returned from Casa del Mar on 2/27/07. We are a family of four. (boys 12 & 15) We had an great vacation but were a little disappointed. They are still rebuilding the platform beach area so we were not able to reach the ocean. We talked with the manager and he arranged for us to go through the dive shop next door. The snorkeling in the area was fair but because of the boat traffic in the area we weren't comfortable swimming/snorkeling in the area with our children. We booked the penthouse and it was very nice. We weren't able to fully enjoy the patio area because of the traffic noises. The last night we were there the street lights were fixed so the patio area was very bright. My husband used Del Mar Aquatics Dive Shop and he thought they were average. Unless we receive a very good deal, I doubt that we will visit the Casa del Mar again. It is not because of the staff or the accommodations but because of the location of the hotel. (too close to cruise ship terminal) One thing that travelers to Cozumel should be aware of is that the airport security there is very extreme. They do not allow you bring any beverages on board the plane even though the beverages were purchased after security screening. They also went through the carry on luggage at the gate. They took my fingernail clippers away even though the TSA says they are okay to have.

Date of stay: February 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank shelsadMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2007

Somewhere in these reviews someone mentioned very hard beds. I guess management heard about it because they added foam cusions to the tops of the mattresses. I am pretty fussy about beds and I found them quite comfortable. Hotel staff fantastic.

One sad note about Cozumel, almost all the coral reefs are gone due to Hurricane Wilma. The divers didn't see much either. Lots of beautiful waterlife though, gorgeous fish, friendliest people living on the Island. Felt really safe. Loved Playa Bonita beach on the east side. Best margarita I ever had.

Date of stay: February 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
16  Thank jules1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews