We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, off the beat and path just a bit..beautiful view.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We would stay here again and again...great food, nice pool, the only hotel with a walk over bridge that goes over the main road to the beach area. We booked a standard room and was disappointed so we upgraded to a deluxe ocean view for only $10 more and it was beautiful. Room was very clean and large. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kealward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 281 of 535 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a nice quiet, on the ocean place to stay. The food is good. The ocean right out front. The staff are very nice and helpful. I have stayed here six times...There is great snorkeling to the right of the hotel. The water is very warm and clear.. The hotel has nice chairs, hammocks, and lounging, with the ocean right in front of you. Back to the food, the hotel has a great sea food platter for two at a very reasonable price, with a ocean view, while you eat. They clean your room every day. They have a tennis court also. I love this place . Every time I come back they recognize and welcome us back.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a ocean view room. Well worth the little extra cost..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arthur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

this place is just what we wanted. We are divers, and we wanted to stay someplace more affordable than previous visits. This is the place!! It is not fancy or elaborate, but rooms are clean, the grounds are immaculate, has parking, nice pool area, and a decent restaurant. We did not go to the "beach area", we went to real beaches for the that. We took advantage of the beach club, very, very nice. You need a car to go to the beach club, although I think they offer shuttle bus there and back. We took advantage of the tennis court, and rented bikes from front desk. This is a nice and safe place to stay!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katz3nme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

PRICE
We paid about US $77 per night through Expedia which also included a "spring sale" discount. I don't think this was such a great deal but since it was "high tourist season" we were fine with the price.

LOCATION
There were a couple restaurants in walking distance (Paprika & Ernesto's Fajitas) along with a convenient store (OXXO Palmar Cozumel) which did accept credit cards and sold cold bottled water.

The hotel is not in the best location to access all the restaurants and was very basic with its amenities. We did walk to town on many days but it was a bit long (at least 25 minutes). You can rent a bicycle for $15 per 24 hours from the hotel and scooters are available everywhere starting at US$25 per day plus taxes/fees, etc). I would rather stay closer to the city and then rent a scooter to access the beaches for swimming.

POOLS, TUB & PRIVATE BEACH
The hot tub was luke warm and the pool was not very deep. I only saw children using the pool and at night the divers congregated in the hot tub. There is a bridge that connects the hotel to the waterfront area but its not an ideal area for swimming. You will need a scooter or bicycle to access the better beaches for swimming. The hotel does have a relationship (offering free access and 20% off your purchases) with Nachi Cocom Beach Club Cozumel which is a private beach but we did not get a chance to visit. There seemed to be some good reviews online but again you will need to take a taxi or rent a scooter to get there.

UPGRADES
They did have signs in the lobby that you could upgrade your reservation to be "inclusive" for US $39.99 but we were not interested in restricting all our meals to the hotel. They also had signs to upgrade the rooms to have ocean views and balconies.

ROOMS
The rooms were pretty basic and clean. They included shampoo, conditioner, soap, wash cloth, and towels. You can check out beach towels from the front desk. The A/C seemed to work ok in the room. Our room did not have a ocean view or balcony.

INTERNET
The internet worked well but only in the lobby area or the common area directly above the lobby.

FOOD
There was a restaurant but we only had breakfast there one morning.

STAFF
The staff seemed friendly and were responsive when you asked for help. They did have a desk to help with planning excursions but I only saw a person staffing it twice during my four night stay. So I did not find the hotel very helpful in planning excursions.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our employer booked us in to this hotel, so I assume we were given a basic room, which was large without frills. However the T.V was big and the air conditioning good. The food was reasonably priced and nice, although the service was a little slow,as often found in the Caribbean. Looking round the grounds there appeared, from the outside, to be some very nice apartments, and the grounds were lovely, and included a swimming pool where one could swim up to the bar. A bridge from the grounds went across the road to the sea front, where there was a private area with loungers, sunshades, and hammocks, and what looked to be the hotels own diving station. The internet was free in the main building.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetG2239JY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have been to the island many times. Casa Del Mar is our favorite place to stay. It has been very consistant over the years. Clean, quiet, safe, good food. Just a nice little hotel. I have taken my whole family and we always felt safe. I dive and did not have to worry about the family back at the hotel. Nice pool and hot tub. Nice water front for the dive boats to pick me up at. Last trip was for 2 weeks and we stayed in town for the first week. Could not take the noise and crowds. Could not wait to get back to Casa Del Mar.
If you hold your pinky up when drinking tea, enjoy a shaken not stirred martini, or want someone to wipe your behind for you, maybe you should go to,,,,,,,,, Aruba

Room Tip: The older I get the more I like the first floor. garden view rooms are nice but no balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spencer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

this hotel appears to be a good choice at a reasonable price but they then they offer only bare bones amenities and charge you for every upgrade you can think of (a safe, refrigerator, internet in your room, upgraded room). It feels like a 2 star hotel trying to act like a 5 star but not coming through. The pool and grounds were lovely but our room was down right shabby. I paid for internet in my room and, although it connected, the signal was not strong enough to connect to the sites I needed - but they still made me pay for it.The final straw was when Mexican friends came to visit us at the resort they treated them like dirt - a definite double standard towards locals or rich tourists. That finished us and we checked out 3 days early even though it was pre-paid for. I suggested to the desk clerk that the manager should consider reimbursing us due to our extreme disgust with the hotel. She just shrugged and pretended not to understand much. To salvage the rest of our vacation we sucked up the loss and moved back to a cheaper hotel in town and enjoyed the rest of our time, with us and our local friends being treated well.

Room Tip: do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
2.1 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,135 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#24 of 52 in Cozumel
812 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
2.5 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
#26 of 52 in Cozumel
256 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort

Address: Carretera Chankanaab Sur Km. 4 | Costera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $71 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa del Mar Cozumel is a charming Mexican hideaway facing the magnificent Caribbean Sea. Situated across the main boulevard with 98 comfortable rooms and eight recently restored Deluxe Cabanas, the property is surrounded by beautiful and exotic garden area with a Mexican town feeling. Casa del Mar Cozumel is located two and a half miles south of downtown, less than five minutes away from the famous "Paraiso" reef. Our hotel is ideal for vacation, business, honeymooners and divers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Cozumel
Casa Del Mar Cozumel
Casa Del Mar Resort Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing