We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort
Nearby Hotels
Secrets Aura Cozumel(Cozumel)
$324
$207
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
$62
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$239
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Mexicana Cozumel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Allegro Cozumel(Cozumel)
$154
$127
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$169
$113
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$240
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cozumel and Resort(Cozumel)
$88
$72
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (558)
Filter reviews
558 results
Traveler rating
180
221
101
33
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
221
101
33
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up barnice poolrooms are cleandive resortair conditionerstaying at this hotelbeach arearestaurant staffocean viewcruise shiptowel animalsplenty of lounge chairsscuba geareach eveningtennis courtsper dayplenty of hot water
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
324 - 329 of 558 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We were browsing on internet for a good beach hotel and we saw very nice photos on their website.

They had a discount on a Standard room and we clicked to make a reservation, If you want all inclusive, an Info box appears and says that at the end it will show the option of "all inclusive" so you can check on the box.

So i clicked on Reserve, asked for all my C.C. info and received a confirmation e-mail. It charged me and didn't even ask me if i was okay with the amount.

I had to call and they said it was going to be $141 USD total per night, we agreed.

Arriving there we noticed the taxi was turning the opposite direction than the beach. The hotel is NOT front beach, in order to go to the "beach" you have to leave the hotel and cross a bridge to go to this area with 3 palapas, on both sides we had diving shops and we could listen to the traffic, see a huge cruise ship and smell gasoline.

They were recomending their beach club which i couldn`t find and to which i wasn´t planning to walk to. If you go to the beach club you have a 10% discount with your all inclusive bracelet. EXCUSE ME?? i thought it was all inclusive!!

The room we booked for wasn`t at all what we saw in the photos, i had to talk to the lady on the desk, and she said that the policy blah blah blah.... and i can`t get the money back. Well guess what, i got it back. They tried to upgrade me to an ocean front room, wich doesn`t exist cuz they have 2 lanes of traffic in between the hotel and the ocean. But i told the lady that i wasn't leaving without my money, and that it can't be possible that she was charging for something that she doesn't have.

I`m never, ever coming back to this hotel.

And now i have to spend my time on calling my bank becouse my refund hasn't showed on my bank statement, and all because of these "!·$%&/" liars.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This hotel is using deceptive advertising and photographic techniques to present a false picture of what the hotel actually offers. The most glaring example is their use of photos of a beach which actually looks quite nice. These photos are not the same beach which is located across the bridge from the hotel. In fact, the reality is radically different. When we walked across the bridge to the "beach" we were amazed to see a tiny sandy area not much bigger than a large child's sandbox. This so-called "beach" was wedged in between two jetty/pier structures which were ugly and dirty. The predominant smell was one of diesel fuel. In addition, the room we were given was described by my wife as resembling a jail cell (a description I completely agreed with). When we discussed these (and other) shortcomings with the staff they offered to upgrade our room which we declined since we were there primarily to sunbathe, etc. Obviously they could not offer a beach upgrade. Initially they refused to refund our money and only after a lengthy discussion about how their advertising misrepresented the actual hotel facilities did they agree to a complete refund.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank PhrixusPrime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Charming little hotel with super friendly staff and very well maintained grounds.
Pros: lush grounds, room well appointed, with sufficient storage space, a table and a safe. Swim up bar was nice and a great place to hang out and meet people. Pool/beach towels readily exchanged in the loby with no fuss. Food was tasty. Relative proximity to town and cruise terminal.
We were able to use dive lockers, even though we used a different dive operator.

Cons: Beds are a little too hard for my comfort. Long boat rides (an hour) south to good dive sites. Kitchen staff disorganized and unable to handle a large group. Internet is free, but only in the lobby and on the slow side. No real beach and lounge chairs on the beach side have no padding. (Lounge chairs around the pool do, but have no shade.)

Room Tip: They have cabanas with refrigirators as an upgrade. Rooms on the upper floors have small balconies. If you are using a different dive perator, be sure to check if you can use the dive lockers. Otherwise a daily walk across the street with all the dive gear can be a pain.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Our Diving Group Stayed at this hotel July 2 through July 6. We found the accommodation well worth the cost. It is an all inclusive providing three meals daily with unlimited beverages including bar drinks. The wait staff was prompt and very attentive. The common dining area although not air condition was provided a pleasant gentle sea breeze. The bar located in the dining area has a swim up bar for ordering drinks from pool side. Those in the bar and dining are provided a view of those swimming and relaxing in the sun. The rooms were clean and well lighted cooled by AC. Two draws back must be noted. There are three floors and no elevator. The showers although clean and with plenty of hot water could of had better water pressure. But adequate.

Room Tip: No Elevators if stairs are a problem for you ask for room on lower floor.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack-R-3114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Casa Del Mar Cozumel was a great place to stay and dive. We stayed from May 30th to June 13th. They cater well to divers. The dive shop was great and scheduled our dives without any problems. We had to be ready to go at 8:00 am and 12:45 pm or we missed the boat. We are pretty laid back on our vacations and really do not like to get up early in the morning and the dive shop we used last year would schedule a dive for about any time of the day. However, we could dive the beach anytime at Casa Del Mar for $5 a tank.

We upgraded to the Superior rooms, but I wished we had gotten the Cabana. The Cabanas have fridges, microwaves and coffee pots and the other rooms do not. The bathrooms do not have fans, only a wood slated window so no airflow, which makes drying off impossible. We really could have used more places to hang towels, swimsuits and dive gear. There is one spot in the bathroom and 3 spots on the balcony to hang things, not enough for 3 people. The ice machine on the 2nd floor must have been broken; you had to go to the restaurant to get ice, which was awkward.

The menu did not offer very many choices but the food was descent. The all-inclusive package would be great for people who drink, but for a family that does not, we felt $39.95 per person per night was steep. We ate at Ernesto’s and Paprika’s for a better price and better food. We also went to town and got a cooler, lunch and snack stuff at the Mega and Chedderaui stores and ate whenever we in town where prices were a lot cheaper. . A gift shop with pop and snack bar would have made a huge difference but we found a little OXXO store just past Paprika’s that came in handy.

They were training new front desk people who did not speak much English, but the bellhop did. It would have been nice to have Wi-Fi in the rooms instead of having to go all the way to the lobby.

Casa Del Mar has their own beach club, but they do not advertise it. They have a van that says Nachi Coccum, but apparently, it is not available for the common people to use and was told we would have to take a taxi to get there.

We got the use of a rental car for 6 days for our 14-day stay. The ad for our package on Vacation Outlet said a free rental car but did not mention how many days or that it was going to cost $17.50 per day for insurance (I should have read the fine print better). I would suggest booking a car rental at the time you book your trip. We could have rented a car for $11.00 per day including insurance when I booked our trip late February. Also at the time of booking, we were supposed to get a $600 resort credit, and free unlimited beach dives which was not the case when we arrived. This was not the hotels fault, but mine for not following up before leaving.

The staff was fantastic! They took very good care of us and they were always very friendly. We would definitely stay a Casa Del Mar again.


The ants and mosquitoes were bad this year so make sure to take insect repellent.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ktshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews