We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still love this place, but service deteriorating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Ranked #23 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Still love this place, but service deteriorating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We've been coming to the resort for years, the staff know us. We are still thrilled to see that William, Aldo, Jose (both of them), and many other really good people are there. However, they were stretched very thin and running around a lot trying to do a great job as always. We noticed a huge change in service from previous years, it certainly was not nearly as good. Many good people have been replaced and there were a lot of new employees. Some of the people that cook the food at the buffet were very rude and acted irritated to serve what you asked for. I love this hotel and it's people, I am using this review space as a way to let them know that the service seemed to be slipping this year so hopefully they get back on track. They should also consider keeping change in dollars for their customers so that we can properly tip good staff. Hotel, pool and beach were clean as always, hot tub was cold as always, love the live music during Ironman although we are not participants (some of them are very rude). Wish the child care would accept children that are potty trained and up instead of 5 years and up.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are fantastic because they are all ocean view rooms with great balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa_Westminster_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,884
    2,164
    788
    354
    281
See reviews for
1,667
1,987
62
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,568)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Service was really good. All of the staff tried to go above and beyond. However, the food was mediocre at best and the alcohol was watered down or just too low quality to contain enough alcohol to feel any effects from it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnthonyChara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We just returned from a one week stay at El Cozumelano. There were certainly pros and cons, but all in all, we enjoyed it. we got a great deal from Groupon, which made it well worth the value. Some of the nice features were very nice, friendly staff, large room overlooking the sea, beautiful view of sunsets. The food was average for an all inclusive. There was wifi in the common area, but not in your room.
Some negatives were there were no umbrellas or shade by the pool and the chaises were old by the beach and uncomfortable. The breakfast was supposed to open at 7:00 but they were always a couple of minutes late to open. This would not have been a big deal, but if you were going scuba diving you had to be in the lobby by 7:15. The gym also was supposed to open at 7:00 but wasn't and it was also very run down with old equipment and not much to offer.
The rooms were rather humid although cool with the AC on high.
I dive and used the company on the premises, Ocean Tours. They were very good and i highly recommend them. The only negative is that they are not near most of the dive sites, but I didn't mind.
All in all, I would recommend the hotel as long as you are not expecting a five star accomodation.

Room Tip: We had 1917 and loved it. Quiet and great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

The customer service is excellent. The food was good but after awhile I wanted something different. Be sure to ask for hot sauce if you like spicy food. It is homemade and delicious. The resort is very clean and the staff were very friendly and personable. The internet was slow on occasion but who needs a computer when you have a great relaxing environment.

Room Tip: Overview captures it all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelRump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

To begin our check-in was very welcoming smooth with a fruit punch and ultimate friendly service. We were attend by Marta she´s very attentive , she gave us our spectacular room. Comfortable and beautiful rooms , spacious bathrooms, lovely sitting area, great balcony and a pull out sofa. Reception were very accommodating with any needs you needed in your room . Cleaning staff cleaned the room at least 3 times a day I´m sure, the room is just impeccable.



Breakfast buffet had everything from, juices, coffee, yogurt, fruit selection, omelletes made fresh, etc....thank you Aldo, Jose, David and all you guys!

Dinner were excellent in both restaurants .The beach is better than other hotels in the island with white sand and blue water and there were always shady huts available, you did not have to rush out at day break to reserve a seat, snorkel is just there absolutely beautiful.

Definitely we found our place in the island

Room Tip: Spectacular room ,omfortable and beautiful rooms , spacious bathrooms, lovely sitting area, great ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wiliam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

I visited this resort as a last minute birthday trip with my boyfriend. First let me start of by saying that for a resort that you need to take a boat to get to, I was expecting paradise or close.

Location: From Cancun airport it's a bit of a journey. We took a 45 min cab ride from the airport ($60) to Carmen de Playa, from there the ferry to Cozumeleno a 35 - 40 min ride ($13/person), and from there a $8 can ride to the resort 10mins away.  Its pretty pricey, be prepared to spend over $80 one way and depending on how many you are traveling with.

Resort: its decent, I've stayed at 3 star hotels that has the amenities and appeal like that of a 5 star. first off the food is terrible, extremely greasy and bland.  The cooking is definitely not consistent and you just have to keep you fingers crossed each day that the chef on duty does a good job. The rooms are dank, everywhere felt damp and there was a huge mole spot covering half the ceiling in the bedroom, mosquitos are everywhere,  I had about 10 bites, the towels were very old and stained.

The hot tub was cold my bf along with other guests repeatedly asked for the heat to be turned up and they never did and we spent a week.  The wifi was out for two days and when I told the lady at the front desk, she pretty much told me there's nothing she can do.

We decided to take a walk on the beach one afternoon and realized that the entire strip was filled with abandoned and burned out buildings, it appears this hotel is the only development on the beach everything's else is all swamp, hence the mosquitos. We decided to turn around and go the opposite way and while walking there was nasty brown sewage water flowing from a neighboring building into the beach. We were so grossed out we decided to just go back to the room.

We ended up meeting some really cool vacationers. The guests made the vacation worth it, not the hotel.

In my humble opinion I'm an avid traveler and this is by far the least favorite vacation spot. Ill stick to Cabo or stop at Cancun.

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach, but the hire the better, if you're on floor 1-4 its not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Classified_Info
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose Hill, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Just returned from five nights at El Cozumeleno. It was wonderful. The staff was cleaning and painting every day and our room was kept very clean. We were waited on attentively at the pool and beach for drinks. The activity staff provides entertainment during the day--stretching/yoga on the beach, water aerobics, volleyball, ceramic painting, free snorkeling gear, mini golf, two hot tubs, etc. You can snorkel right in front of the resort and see lots of fish--some of the same we saw on the Fury Catamaran trip. The fish love bananas. They eat the peel and inside right out of your hand so take a few from breakfast for your snorkeling and they will flock to you. Food is average for an all-inclusive but all you have to do is order off the menu if you don't like what is on the buffet. There is one restaurant as well that is al la carte and very good. Air conditioning felt good in the room and worked well in keeping the humidity out. In planning at this trip I had looked at a more expensive resort that had more restaurants and maybe a half-star better rating than El Coz. However, there is really no reason to go anywhere else. It's great and we will return. The only reason a person might not want to go to this resort is there is no night-life partying. That didn't bother us sun lovers though. We met a lot of return travelers to El Coz as well. They too feel the staff will take good care of you and the size of the resort is ideal (not a huge place that you have to walk a long ways).

Room Tip: We enjoyed our ocean-view from the 9th floor in the south tower. We looked at a room on the 3rd flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NDunshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
7.0 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#16 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
14.0 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cozumeleno Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cozumeleno Beach Resort

Property: El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Address: Playa Santa Pilar Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#13 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cozumeleno Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Cozumeleno Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cozumeleno Beach Hotel Cozumel
El Cozumeleno Beach Cozumel
El Cozumeleno Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing