We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded our expectations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Cozumeleno Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

First, I must say this review is long overdue! We were here the end of July and were extremely surprised at the "bang for our buck" here. Having traveled to many Caribbean islands in the past, we realized that we had somehow overlooked Cozumel, so we decided to give it a try. Couldn't have been more pleased!
The property is kept immaculately clean inside and out. The staff all went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The rooms are beautiful and the ocean views are to die for! We had an end suite overlooking the pool that was exceptional . Yes, as some of the past reviews mentioned, the towels may not have been the thickest and the safes are not electronic, but I applaud this resort for being eco friendly and not disposing of perfectly good items that have plenty of life in them. With regard to the maid service being inconsistent; I am assuming that when we didn't get enough towels, etc. it was only because the hotel does not keep an obscene amount of overstock (waste) - all we had to do was call the front desk and fresh warm towels were delivered within 10 minutes!
The beach was beautiful! There were plenty of chairs on the beach and by the pools, although you did have to be an "early bird" to secure a palapa on the "quiet site" :) There was no problem getting kayaks or mini golf equipment - we brought our own snorkel equipment and spent a fair amount of time snorkeling right in front of the property. We also ventured down the beach (to the left as you are facing the water), just past the old abandoned restaurant, to snorkel in the beautiful lagoon. I was thrilled to see an entire school of tuna race right in front of me!
Unfortunately, my husband ended up bed bound with a (thankfully) short lived viral illness for a day and a half on my birthday :(( but the staff in the restaurant made sure that my birthday was still extra special, even if I did have to dine alone! They also sent 7 up and soup up to the room for him. I always felt safe here - even when I was on my own!
Downtown shopping was wonderful and only an $8 cab ride away - although my most prized purchase from the island was an authentic Talavera plate that I scored at the beach club down at the far end of the beach (about a 10 minute walk on the beach - to the right as you face the water).
Thank you El Coz for a wonderful vacation - We WILL be back (likely sooner than later)!

Room Tip: Go for the Ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GolfHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,857
    2,136
    776
    349
    276
See reviews for
1,635
1,955
60
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,544)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. Everyone was helpful and more than friendly. The rooms were very large, clean and comfortable. It rained every day (except departure day) yet we still had a wonderful time. At first I was concerned about the food, since I think we were expecting typical tex-mex. We adjusted our expectations and the food was delicious, ample and with a large variety to choose from.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We loved the hotel, the pools, the snorkeling, and most of all the wonderful people that service the hotel. Everyone was so friendly. They made our stay very enjoyable. We cannot wait to go back! We were there during the hurricanes/tropical storms and still had a fantastic time. The food was even great, which at most all inclusive hotels it isn't. It is a honeymoon/kid/family friendly hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tayphow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was our second stay at El Cozumeleno. There are no surprises with this hotel. Always sparkling clean, unbelievably great customer service and the best location to enjoy everything from relaxing to activities to snorkeling (just steps from your room!). Far enough from downtown to avoid the craziness but close enough to get there in a snap.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor room with ocean view...I think it's the only choice except for ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just returned home after 7 wonderful days at the El Cozumeleno- We stayed on the 8th floor. Which provided wonderful views of the ocean and Playa Del Carmen ( when the weather was clear). Our room was spacious and always kept clean. The food was excellent- the staff was always friendly and helpful. Already planning a return trip next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank red216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angleton, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

First off, a shout out at Scuba_Bob456 from Texas

This was our second trip to El Coz having been there in May ’13. When we made reservations we knew this time was prime hurricane season for the Caribbean. On our arrival it had been raining and was to continue to rain off and on during our stay. Check in was a breeze and we found ourselves on the 7th floor with a terrific view again. Remembering last May, we made sure we got a mattress topper and rented a fridge. My wife’s brother and his wife came down with us and were located 3 doors down. Although it was highly overcast wife and I went down and jumped in the clear, calm water by the long pier.
We noticed that the hotel was pretty empty all during our stay with the majority of the visitors from Mexico due to the national holiday (Diez y Seis) and made acquaintances with several of them that spoke English at the swim up bar.
After Monday (which was a holiday also) the hotel quit serving the buffet at El Cocal and provided menus for each meal. They always had the cook at the griddle during breakfast where you could order omelets, eggs, tortillas, but the normal buffet that always had fresh fruit, different mexican dishes was not provided. We always found something on the menu, no matter what time of day, and never felt shortchanged in the food department. If you didn’t like what you ordered, no problem, the wait staff would get you something else. Swim up bar was not manned as normal but you could always get a drink or drink refill by the roaming wait staff. Yaneth and Lourdes really took care of us as well as Esteban each time. We actually enjoyed our stay just as much as the busier time that was in May. We had the run of the place and received more attention by the wait staff because it was not crowded. Still impressed with the grounds keepers; always working on keeping the place spotless. Maid service was good and kept the room smelling clean and fresh due to the damp environment.
We will be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SB county
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

The staff was so helpful and took care of your every need. Dinners were the best we have had, In fact all the meals were good if you didn't see what you wanted all you had to do is ask and in a few minute you had it. The friendlyest people every could meet. Beaches were wonderful and clean. Pools were so clear and clean. You could tell they carried aobut there jobs. Nicest people you every want to meet. Meet people from all over the world and they said the same thing they all loved the place one person we talked to has been coming there for the last 5 years and said she would not go anywhere else. And we agree we will be back soon

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jadadavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#4 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
7.0 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
4.3 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#17 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
14.0 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#10 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,714 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cozumeleno Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cozumeleno Beach Resort

Property: El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Address: Playa Santa Pilar Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cozumeleno Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your El Cozumeleno Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cozumeleno Beach Hotel Cozumel
El Cozumeleno Beach Cozumel
El Cozumeleno Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing