We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre Resort, Wonderful Wait Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Ranked #23 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mediocre Resort, Wonderful Wait Staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week at "El Coz". The reviews were pretty accurate, the beds are horribly hard, the pillows even worse. A bit strange to have actual keys to our room and the safe. Our room had an old, musty smell due to ac not working. Had to speak to Expedia rep. to finally get it fixed as the hotel staff didn't seem to understand what I was telling them. At one point, they went up to fix the smell and ended up putting those horrible urinal blocks in the bathroom which I promptly pitched in the trash! There were some shows while we were there but they were not advertised well by the resort so we didn't attend them. The pools are very cold as they are shaded by the resort in the morning and the evening. The chairs are in high demand, let alone the "Huts" on the beach. I got up at 5 each morning and was able to reserve a spot but, would not have been successful if I had slept in at all! The resort really, really needs to invest in more chairs. The food was just ok at the buffet although we are not picky eaters, after a week, I was tired of seeing leftover vegetables for breakfast. The hot omelets were awesome. Also, we ate in the indoor restaurant one night and it was a bit better. The beach was amazing and we were able to get in the water several days (warmer than the pool). You could see different fish swimming around with you which was kinda cool. The wait staff and servers in this place do a fantastic job! They are the most hard working people I've even seen, they seem to get to know you, what you're drinking and def make your stay worthwhile. We rented a car one day with another couple we met and toured the island of Cozumel which was really beautiful. We went to a pool/beach area where the pool water was warm (thankfully) they had chairs in the pool for people to use. The beach are was well maintained but the water was a bit murky so we didn't go in. It was only $2 to get in to use the facilities all day and it seemed to have lots of things for the kids do to like trampolines on the beach and in the water (see pic). Went to "Cococuts" for lunch but didn't get in as it was crowded and very unorganized. Got back in the car and drove to Mezcalito's where we started out as the only people there. The drinks were really, really good!! We also went shopping near the pier where the cruise ships dock, about $7 for the cad ride each way. This is an experience in itself, you must learn to firmly and politely say "No Thank you", keep walking and don't make eye contact with the vendors, lol!! Pretty typical tourist "junk" but it was still fun. Finally, we were told that this resort has the best beach for swimming and snorkeling in by many of the locals. Would we go back, mmmm, wouldn't be my first choice.

Room Tip: Try to book in the newer section to avoid the musty smell of the older rooms. We had a room on the 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Teri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,884
    2,164
    789
    354
    281
See reviews for
1,667
1,987
62
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,568)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
iowa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Staff was excellent. Very friendly hard working and friendly. Food in dining room was served luke warm most of the time, morning and evening. Special desert took 15 minutes to arrive. Buffet had variety and I thought was ok, but others in our group thought it was poor. Grounds were clean. Spring breakers need a lesson in courtesy and should have some rules placed on them at arrival.

Room Tip: Try to stay in south building up on a higher floor. Call desk if you have no hot water, we put up wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruiser10106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

THE GOOD
Snorkeling in front of the hotel was wonderful.
Front desk and most wait staff were very good.
Fine dining restaurant was nice.
THE BAD
Buffet was not even mediocre.
There were birds flying all over the buffet area.
Bartenders were generally slow and unfriendly and we tipped.
Everything in the rooms needs updating especially the matresses.
We have stayed at other comparably priced resorts throughout Mexico that were a better overall experience. We will not go back unless the property is updated.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina; but from Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Spent the last week of Feb at El Coz. This is one of many trips that I have stayed there. Everyone from the front counter, (Martha, Francisco) to the rest of the staff were great. Food is to be expected from an AI. Whenever I did not like the buffet, just order from the menu. You can also order off the menu for certain items. Just be creative and ask. Fernando, Mateo and David were great bar tenders. And a thanks to Silvia the server. She runs around all day to make sure every one had a drink at the north pool/beach are. Room was nice, clean and cool. Can't wait to go back this summer...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Butch65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We travelled here as a group of 9 (ages 25 to 60). We were all very happy with the excellent service from all servers in bars and restaurants. The rooms are dated but very clean and quite large. Our view from the 8th floor balcony was spectacular.
Our group had a great vacation but most of us were disappointed in the food. Buffets and restaurant food was never hot!
Lack of chairs was certainly an issue. There are not enough on the beach or by pools. We feel this could be an easy fix by just purchasing more chairs. If you weren't up marking your spot by 2 or 3 in the am you were lucky to find somewhere to sit.
El Coz is a lovely little resort with (small) but nice beach.
Again we had a great time but thought that I would be honest with our few disappointments!

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoSt59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I loved staying at El Cozumeleno. The service was great! Snorkeling was amazing! I especially loved having a beautiful view of the ocean AND the pool!! We enjoyed the SOUTH (new) building it overlooks the main pool (swim up bar). I believe quieter people would enjoy the older (North) building more. The rooms are nice, and they are big (I heard the older rooms are even bigger, WOW that would be a BIG room).
The food was ok.....there was always something, for even the pickiest of eaters. The beer was good, and it was cold.
Another added bonus is the proximity to the airport, and town. Less than 10 minutes!!!
The only things that I think El Coz could improve on is:
1.) night life (a little more entertainment at night)
2.) Putting bar fridges in EVERY room.
(Although they gave us a styrofoam cooler to use instead).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank souc_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a great time at Cozumeleno. We stayed in the older part of the resort. Very quiet and very clean. I can't say enough about the staff, 95% of them always had a smile on their face and made you like they wanted you to be there. We were in room 604 and be aware that the elevator does not go up to the 6th floor, you have to walk up 1 floor, but we found that view and the quiet was well worth it. Food at the buffet is OK lots of Mexican, and lots of choices. The ocean is cristal clear and great for snorkeling. A few of concerns is limited outlets in the old section hard to charge stuff, TV has very poor reception and I really miss a coffee maker in the room, not near enough lounge chairs you need to be up at 6am to get one. But even with the few concerns this was a great time and we'll be back.

Room Tip: room 604 limited outlets, poor TV very snowy, Great ocean view, good AC, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob5013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
7.0 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#16 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
14.0 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cozumeleno Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cozumeleno Beach Resort

Property: El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Address: Playa Santa Pilar Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cozumeleno Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Cozumeleno Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cozumeleno Beach Hotel Cozumel
El Cozumeleno Beach Cozumel
El Cozumeleno Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing