We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy for El Cozumeleno!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Cloud, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Crazy for El Cozumeleno!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at El Cozumeleno from 2/13 through 2/20/13. The service at El Cozumeleno was excellent from the Bell Hop to all the servers in the dining room (especially Estaban and Marcos) and the servers on the beach (we LOVE Silvia, Marisol, Lourdes, Wendy, & Michelle -- what attentive, pleasant, & fun gals!). The beach is breathtaking! There were not sufficient lounge chairs for the number of guests, however. The rooms were well maintained by the maid service. The air conditioning was not adequate. We did voice this concern and maintenance was sent, but there was no improvement. There are a wide variety of activities available if you choose to participate -- something for everyone. Upon departure, it would be nice to have at least 2 taxis loading guests headed to the airport; there is plenty of room at the front entrance of the resort. It We loved the proximity to "downtown". There is a fantastic restaurant, The Lobster House, that is within walking distance of the resort. If you love lobster, make sure to stop here during your visit (we dined there 3 times!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TammieGrismer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,928
    2,194
    798
    359
    284
See reviews for
1,694
2,029
63
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,597)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, Iowa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I was very impressed with the El Cozumeleno, rooms were nice, but didn't spend much time in the room anyway. Loved the deck.. Food was good, drinks were fantastic. Attended a friends wedding on the beach, and it was very nicely done.
The wait staff was awesome, Marisol was the best of the bunch, really treated us like family!
The only downside was the coffee in the lobby was always empty in the morning, wasn't a bad deal as it was a short walk to the pavillion, but would have been nice to have it closer.
I would highly recommend this resort!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chagoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have just come back from another vacation at El Cozumeleno and love this place. We had our son and family with 5 kids between 8 years old and nine months. They had a fabulous time and want to come every year. There were many activities for them from snorkeling to miniature golf to giant chess pieces to movie nights besides all the pools and getting food anytime they wanted. They loved the Mexican show. It is a safe place and their parents were able to have a wonderful time also. The rooms are clean and spacious. The staff are so friendly and attentive. I highly recommend this place for family vacations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stay for 7 days in early February 2013. The most beautiful thing is the ocean view from the room. Amazing courtesy from staff except the front door attendant who was rude once for telling us where to park our moped rental. Nice cocktail at our arriving.. Food is very good and well presented in the restaurant a la carte. Portion are small so make sure u are not that hungry. Wish they could have a real bar or more then a la carte restaurant.. lot of choice at buffet for lunch. Nice snorkling area right in front of hotel.. We rented the jetski rite from the hotel for 30 min.. We paid 55$. Dont take more then.30 min.. They will short ur time if u take 1 hr. We also had massage on the beach early in morning.. Service offer at the hotel.. Amazing!!! We play at minigolf.. Its fun .. They have 18 wholes . I recommend to go for relaxing.. Not so young guest... Average was 40 y.o ... Not like Cancun at all. I will deffinetely go back of the prices are good this winter. Im matt

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ucallmedj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We are so glad we choose Hotel Cozy. Everything went Perfect! Francisco help me to have Roses put in my Rm for my wife, and two other rooms 1508,1602 for our two daughters that came with us on the trip. Giovanni ( the Bartender in lobby) was a great guy, very kind and I enjoyed talking to him while waiting for family to come down. There were other staff that we talked to during our stay also they we're all friendly. I wished I could remember all their names one girl's name I think was Sandra? You have some very nice, pleasant, happy employee's and it show's. We love visiting Cozumel for past 3 yrs.. Last year twice. We will never stay in another Hotel on any of our future visit's. wished we had of stay'd with you before. See ya in jun-July !
We loved the different activities to do there at Hotel.
We loved the Resturant on the beach. It was wonderful to have meals there on the beach.

Room Tip: Our room was on 5th floor , with beautiful view of ocean, higher the better, so you'll be able t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vksa27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed at the El Cozumeleno Beach Resort Feb 2-Feb 9th, 2013. This was the 2nd time staying at this resort. First stay was in March 2011. Customer service seemed much improved this year. Wait staff was wonderful. Easily able to get Absolute Vodka at 3 of the 4 bars. They also had a dark and regular beer choice at most of the bars. The view of the ocean is absolutely incredible from almost any place you are sitting at this resort, which is why I will return again. Food was good, not fantastic. But each meal I could find several things to eat. The sit down restaurant was very good, upscale choices, food preparation and wonderful service. You need to make a reservation each day, but that was no hassle either.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weneedsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The bed are uncomfortable, but all your doing is sleeping there, so it does matter. It was beyond amazing! The staff was incredible, views are amazing, very clean and willing to help. The breakfast omelettes were to die for!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara2717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,038 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
7.0 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
2,132 reviews
14.0 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 52 in Cozumel
4,846 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cozumeleno Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cozumeleno Beach Resort

Property: El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Address: Playa Santa Pilar Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cozumeleno Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Cozumeleno Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cozumeleno Beach Hotel Cozumel
El Cozumeleno Beach Cozumel
El Cozumeleno Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing