We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I just returned from our vacation February 2-9th. I really enjoyed the resort. No major issues. We had room 214 good view of the ocean and conveniently located near the lobby - however a little loud at night as it is near the karaoke bar. We did have a few issues with our room but one call to the front desk an someone came up to our room right away. Snorkeling right at the hotel is wonderful. I've been to a few all-inclusives before and I must say they were constantly coming around asking if we wanted anything to drink. The drinks were watered down but that didn't stop some guests from having too much. My favorite drink was the blue lagoon. I thought that this resort is a great deal. The saving chairs/palapas is ridiculous. People are saving them the night before. This should not be allowed. There are plenty of chairs (I preferred the blue chairs closer to the ground) but they need more palapas/shade. Overall, we totally enjoyed our vacation and the resort.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessrd24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,913
    2,183
    795
    358
    283
See reviews for
1,683
2,016
63
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,590)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anoka, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was our first experience with an all inclusive, and to mexico. Needless to say, we were extremely satisfied with the experience. The accomodations were tremendous, very clean rooms, many different things to do with the resort, or just relax by the pool. My first experience snorkeling, and it was amazing! Beautiful clear water, very colorful fish, and even an octopus. The wait staff were second to none, but 2 in particular stood out in my mind. Michele, was one of the waitresses in the lobby bar/karoke/super bowl celebration area, and Fernando waited on us almost every night in the deluxe restaraunt. These 2 people were amazing, and absolutely worked their tales off to be sure that we were taken care of, but infused their personalities into taking care of all of our needs.....simply amazing. The dinner food in the upper end restaurant was amazing.....as good as any high end restaurant that I have been in, with superior service. The breakfast and lunch buffet's were a step down, but still very good, with great variety. The only down fall was having to get up at 3:30 every morning to put towels out on the lounge chairs by the pool. If you didn't have this done by 6:00 a.m., it was pretty slim pickens to find a chair! It was well worth the effort to get out of bed though!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The hotel has a great sandy beach and some of the clearest water ever! There is a pier, so left side of the pier calm, calm, water with LOTS of fish and so clear, it's like being in a pool (but with fish swimming all around). Right side of the pier, waves, so not as clear but still fabulous! Rooms were large with great views, and ALWAYS keeps clean and sand-less. The indoor restaurant was best for dinner and even though you need to get 'reservations" (and have to get up early to get them or they are all gone : ( but you can eat there every night if you get your reservation. The buffet is open air and right on the beach and has great food for breakfast and lunch!
Staff friendly, they all spoke english so well I had a hard time practicing and learning more spanish. : )
Able to walk up beach for at least 2 miles, and always felt safe. Only cost $7 to take taxi to downtown for shopping...also everyone friendly, and always felt safe.

Will go back to Cozumel and will stay at El Cozumeleno!

Room Tip: Booked a "partially obstructed balcony" with expedia, we got 2 rooms on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tia2zach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan city,in
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The workers at this resort go beyond trying to make your trip wonderful. The room was always clean. Food was good. Great time. Snorkeling out front of the resort is great. The water is very clear. There are many types of fish to see. You can also take a walk out on the pier and see a lot of fish on your way. If you take some bread with you, you can feed the fish as you walk.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jp57MichiganCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MINNESOTA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have been back to the El Cozumeleno Beach resort for the 3rd time Feb 1st. I can not say enough about the staff - all are very personable. The hotel is very clean. Breakfasts & lunches are better then the evening meals, one of the couples who have traveled with us agreed that the food in the evening was not as apealing as the past years. We actually ate down town a couple of nights because of that.
For your money I would highly recomend this property. The hotel should work on getting more lounge chairs available for the folks on the beach and maybe enforce a rule of not being able to save your chairs the nights before. We were up at 4 AM and found all the huts and loungers already saved. When talking to others they had said the chairs had personal items on them the night before at 10 PM. Some of the wait staff that stand out are Syliva, Michele, & Jose. All of them are very good at their jobs but these 3 really go the extra mile.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaDano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the resort! The staff was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed most of the food. Our biggest frustrations was the cold pool water and the lack of lounge chairs. We don't like to get up at 4:30 to put something on a chair to reserve it. We heard from others they got up at that time to get chairs under the awnings. We don't understand why more Lounge chairs are not purchases so reviews can be more positive. We enjoyed snorkeling right off the beach! Overall, we enjoyed our relaxing stay!

Room Tip: To get a good view, ocean front rooms need to be 4th floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The resort was beautiful! Very clean and immaculate! The rooms were spacious and the view was spectacular. The staff was very accomodating and willing to help with anything that you needed. We will make sure to put El Cozumeleno on our list of fine resorts. We also had a powerboat ride to Passion Island which was an added tour that we did not pre planned. It was a bonus to highlight our trip.

Room Tip: corner suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bauer36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 52 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
7.0 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
14.0 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#12 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,811 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cozumeleno Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cozumeleno Beach Resort

Property: El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Address: Playa Santa Pilar Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cozumeleno Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Cozumeleno Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cozumeleno Beach Hotel Cozumel
El Cozumeleno Beach Cozumel
El Cozumeleno Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing