We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place sets the standard for service and accomodations”
Review of Cozumel Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cozumel Palace
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“This place sets the standard for service and accomodations”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Previous reviews have said it all, for the most part so my review will focus on a few things that we were especially impressed with. The greeting to the hotel with a flower, drink and cold towel was most appreciated. A big thanks to Russell who checked us in. He provided us with a most comfortable and desirable room. Daniel the activities coordinator was most helpful especially on the Chacanaub (sp) snorkle trip. A dive at Chacanaub is worth it for $45 including equipment. You get to see the underwater statues and through a cave. We were impressed with the team effort on everyone's part. When we complimented Ricardo in the asian resturant, he was quick to say that his success was part of a team effort with everyone in the dining room. The lobby bartender during the day (did not get his name) was a superb mixologist and an interesting conversationalist. The nightly entertainment guys also worked as a team and it was a lot of fun for all age groups. Again good teamwork and upbeat attitudes on these guys. The romantic dinner is well worth the resort credits and I would suggest doing it on your last night here after you have been to the other restaurants. It was my 70th birthday and they presented me with a small cake with my name on it!

I was a little skeptical about the dive operation but my concerns were soon mitiated as I did my first dives. A big thanks to Carmelo and Gustavo and their dive team for their extra help on the dive boats and for their concern for safety and diving protocol, The dives both in the water and the organization at the shop were superb. A big thanks also to Antonio who took up the operatoin of this shop some time ago. He has instilled a spirit of customer service and professionalism. I would definately dive with these guys again. Travel time on the boats was a little long that is where you get to know the other folks on the boat.

The staff does an excellent job of keeping the marble floors dry but you should be aware that you need to be carefui especially in bare feet.

In summary, this is a place where everything works and works well...service, food, accomodations, ammenities and attitude. I miss it alaready

Room Tip: If you can spring for the concierge floor upgrade, it is well worth it. Great view, aroma therapy, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ajphoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlCamacho, Gerente at Cozumel Palace, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear ajphoenix

We appreciate you have taken the time to share such an enthusiastic review about your recent visit to Cozumel Palace. We are overjoyed to read that you’ve enjoyed your stay, specially the service, rooms amenities and the diving.

Please be confident that we’ve shared your kind comments with our team as motivation to keep up with our commitment to offer truly remarkable experiences in our guests and we thank you for making us be part of your birthday celebration.

We sincerely hope we can have the honor of welcome you back in not too distant future.

warm regards,

Alfredo Camacho
Public Relations
alcamacho@palaceresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,774
    604
    147
    68
    43
See reviews for
979
1,891
43
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, La
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We just spent a wonderful 10 days at Cozumel Palace. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like VIP guests. The staff is amazing! They are always smiling and checking to make sure that have anything you want or need. Want to say a special thanks to Raul at the lobby bar, & Juan B. at the pool bar! Those two guys sure know how to mix a drink and keep them coming! :) The food was great. There was a lot of variety and we never went a meal without finding something we enjoyed. We did not eat at the Mexican or Italian restaurant, but really enjoyed 2 dinners at the Asian restaurant. Me & the hubby both visited & enjoyed the spa...he had a holistic and a hot stone massage, while I had a mani/pedi and a nutritive scalp treatment. We were very happy to be able to use resort credits for tours/spa. We used ours for Chankanaab, Spa, Chocolate Tour & Stingray Beach. We will be visiting Cozumel Palace again, along with trying out the rest of the Palace Resorts (yes, we bought a membership!) Only issue we have with this resort is that the halls are concrete & windows, so every noise echoes. I was told they are about to begin a renovation soon and will be working on fixing that issue. There are so many reasons I love this place...you should visit and fall in love with it too!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mjrich73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlCamacho, Gerente at Cozumel Palace, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear mjrich73

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your host on your recent gateway to our destination. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to learn that now you part of the "Palace Resorts Family", although would be nice you visit the others Palace Resorts, we truly would love to have you back with us some day.

We highly appreciate your posstive comments here and have shared it with our team.


Kind regards,

Alfredo Camacho
Public Relations
alcamacho@palaceresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Just returned from 7 nights here, and couldn't be happier. Service was great, lines were short, Food everywhere was good -- at the restaurants, from room service, and out by the pool. Snorkeling right in front of the hotel was fun, with lots of sea life roaming around to be photographed. Tours booked through the hotel were all nice and went off without a hitch. We took the discover scuba class from Aqua Safari in the hotel dive shop, and the staff and service there were very friendly and professional. Plenty of chairs by the pools, quick service at the pool bar, & everything was being constantly cleaned. Hugo and Ricardo helped us plan our days, and were always ready to help out whenever we had any questions about anything. The other guests were all very friendly and courteous, a real plus after our last Mexico experience at the Grand Palladium Royal Suites Yucatan. Angel the manager at the restaurants, Miguel in the lobby bar, & Brian the waiter were just a few of the people we would like to thank for making our stay unforgettable. We will be back asap :-) I highly recommend this resort to anyone -- the guests were all having a great time, and that includes families with small children, teens, couples, & seniors. I can't think of a better way to spend a week.

Room Tip: We bought our room from a Palace member, so not only did we get a great price, we also got vip treat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fergus354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlCamacho, Gerente at Cozumel Palace, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear fergus354

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at Cozumel Palace, we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

Is nice to know you enjoyed doing the discover scuba, in Cozumel our coral reef is our main attractive, we also are glad that you were highly satisfied with our service. Angel and Miguel were pleased to be mentioned.

We sincerely look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion and provide you with the exceptional quality and service that characterizes our brand and resort.

Regards,

Alfredo Camacho
Public Relations
alcamacho@palaceresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We just returned from a 5 day 4 night visit at the Cozumel Palace this hotel is a great place to stay if you want to be pampered! We had a loft suite which was perfect for our family of 5 plenty of space , clean and comfortable The pools were great, activities were fun, and the staff was amazingly friendly ,courteous and just went out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as they can from check in,to the waiters ( especially Henri ), the activities coordinator (Daniel) my kids loved playing pool games with him , he's a great guy and is great at his job ! There are so many positive things I could say but the list would go on and on , the employees also work a lot of long hours and do multiple jobs, which is very much appreciated by our family for making our stay a memorable and relaxing one we hope to return one day..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brendaandfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlCamacho, Gerente at Cozumel Palace, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear brendaandfrank

Thank you for taking the time to write an positive review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your comments about our resort and staff are motivating. Heri and Daniel were pleased to be mentioned due letting them know that their efforts are apreciated is an incentive to keep up the good work.

We hope you will not hesitate to spend another wonderful vacation in paradise at Cozumel Palace.

Warm regards,

Alfredo Camacho
Public Relations
alcamacho@palaceresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpentersville, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Let me start by putting some things in context...

We have stayed in several hotels in the Riviera Maya area, and one other in Cozumel (Iberostar).

We are enthusiastic divers, but not hardcore. We will dive most days, but typically only do 2 tanks on those days. Our teenage kids dive, and we prefer to keep them above 60', which sometimes makes finding a compatible dive operation difficult.

The things that are important to us include comfortable beds, great food with some variety, some nicer restaurants (not buffet every meal), great service, high levels of cleanliness, not being overcrowded (fighting for chairs, etc), great pool area, dive operation that is onsite or very easy to access. Things that are NOT important to us include night life, proximity to local restaurants or shopping, and evening entertainment/shows.

Simply put, Cozumel Palace blew us away. They far exceeded our expectations on all of the important stuff. The rooms are large and were spotless. At most Mexican resorts you eventually run into some sewer smell - not here. The beds were decent, far more comfortable than the rocks at Iberostar. The food was great. The restaurants are all first-come, first served, and we never had to wait more than a couple of minutes for a table.

Only complaints on the restaurants is that there are only three: Asian, Mexican, and Italian. There is no buffet available for dinner. I got a little tired of the same menu. But, the quality of everything I had was good.

The service is what really stood out, and we want to call out an individual here: Emmanuel served us pool side most days. He was nothing short of outstanding!!! We enjoyed getting to know him during our stay, and hope that we will run into him again next year.

The rest of the staff was also excellent from a service standpoint. They have been well trained - it shows in everything they do. Every single one was polite, helpful, and anxious to serve.

We chose to dive with Aqua Safari, the onsite operator. We did that with a little trepidation, as Aqua Safari was a standalone operation purchased by the hotel last year, and there are a lot of complaints on the web since it was bought out. However, it worked out very well for us. The hotel is a long way from the most common dive sites on the southern tip of the island, and it is an hour boat ride. They are large boats, and there are some other dive ops using smaller, faster boats. However, I personally like bigger boats, and the other boats are not THAT much faster - might shave 10 minutes off the trip. The boats were not overcrowded - there were usually 8 or 10 divers. We were able to use resort credits for all of our diving, which knocked the price of a 2-tank dive down to about $18 (the tax on the regular price).

Given our kids and depth restriction, we also hired a private DM through Aqua Safari. Another call out here - Miguel was an excellent DM. He took great care of us, kept a close eye on the kids, and found a lot of wildlife for us (including our first ever toadfish and lionfish sightings). The other DM's we encountered seemed really good as well.

We did find it a little weird that they pass out weights at the dive shop, rather than on the boat. I'd have preferred not to have to lug them around.

Each room comes with resort credits. Aside from diving, we used them for a couples massage and a lobster dinner. There was never any issue using the credits, however you have to pay 16% tax on the "value". I will say that, in some cases, the 16% tax felt a lot like the true value of the service.

Though it didn't matter much to us, the hotel is only about a 10 minute walk from the cruise ship port, which meant there was shopping close. There's also a Walmart-type store across the street. This was actually a concern to us when we arrived at the resort, most of the ones we've stayed at were more secluded. But I must say that the hotel has done a terrific job of insulating guests from the street side.- never knew it was there.

There is no beach, which stinks a bit. However, there is some great snorkeling right at the hotel shore. The water depth is 10 or 12 feet, and there are lots of tangs, Sargent Majors, and other reef fish. My kids claimed to have seen a couple of small rays.

The pool area is somewhat small. There are two main pools - probably 3000 sq ft total - one for swimming and one for activity. The activity pool had volleyball going nearly all the time.

We really didn't have to fight for chairs. We did gain a preference for a certain spot, and would stake that out, but chairs were generally available. Towels are easy - no cards or anything to track.


All in all and awesome resort and we will definitely return as soon as we can!

Room Tip: Our group had rooms on the second floor away from the elevators. They were quiet and the view was gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlCamacho, Gerente at Cozumel Palace, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Michelle B

Warm Greetings from Cozumel Palace, we did not want to miss the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us.

Your feedback is very valuable, we are delighted to learn that you’ve enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests and we have taken special note of your pleasant observations.

It is good to know that you did not encounter an inconvenience with our Dive shop in house (Aqua Safari). The main attractive of Cozumel is the coral formation so diving and snorkeling are "must do" activities.

We will await your return.

Meanwhile we wish well,

Alfredo Camacho
Public Relations
alcamacho@palaceresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Just home from our third stay at Cozumel Palace. Once again, we were not disappointed. I unfortunately developed a tooth abcess day 2, requiring numerous visits to the local hospital. The Cozumel Palace staff could not have been more compassionate to me! Everyone kept asking me, as well as my son and husband how I was feeling. The doormen arranged my taxi's and the bartenders made me fruit smoothies. Their compassion and help to our family was greatly appreciated! As in past years, Teodoro and Gabriel gave us wonderful service every morning, Ricardo in the evenings, Heri, Emmanuel and Roger saw to our needs all day, and Edgar, Carlos and Darwin managed our schedule, which kept changing! We'll be heading back in January for a vacay do-over so I can enjoy the wonderful food I missed out on this trip!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaspoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlCamacho, Gerente at Cozumel Palace, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear lisaspoodles

Thank you very much for your second review of us on Trip Advisor, each stay you honor us with your comments.

It was great to have again with us and we can not wait for the next time, I will make sure to share your positive comments with our team members to letting know that their efforts are appreciated and have not gone unnoticed.


Cordially,

Alfredo Camacho
Public Relations
alcamacho@palaceresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Our family found it hard to find much of anything to complain about. I felt the hotel and the staff did everything to make it perfect, and I'm sure making everyone happy is pretty much impossible. It is a little bit of a "party" atmosphere, but hey ... it is vacation. Any issues (and they were small) would be with the guests. They make it clear it is NOT okay to reserve chairs/lounges around the pool, but unfortunately guests routinely grab a stack of towels before breakfast and spread them on the lounges before continuing their day. I find it frustrating to find nearly all lounges reserved, but only a few actually using them. A second issue was the Italian Restaurant option which required long pants for men. I thought this was a hint the restaurant was attempting to provide an environment of fine dinning, but when a family of six showed up with a child in a stroller, I knew it would not be what I had hoped for. Yes, the child cried and the adults carried on multiple loud conversations at the same time. No chance for a nice quiet meal for the other dinning guests. Now, a couple of "shout-outs" for the staff: First, when checking my American Express statement a couple of days after arrival, I found the charge to be approximately $160 more than what I owed (and signed for). What happened is AMEX used a currency conversion rate far below the official rate at the time, effectively making themselves a quick $160 simply because I used their card. I brought this to the attention of Sara, the front desk supervisor. She suggested they cancel/reverse the AMEX payment for our week's stay and use my VISA card (Chase Bank) instead. It worked! Thank you Sara for saving me $160. Secondly, after my last scuba dive of the week, and returning my gear to our room balcony to dry, later that afternoon when packing I could not find my prescription dive mask. I then remembered I must have left it on the dive boat. Unfortunately the dive boats return to a marina each evening, they do not stay at the resort. I explained to Antonio at the dive shop just before closing of my problem. He checked around and could not find that the boat staff had left my mask before leaving that afternoon. He suggested the boat would be back in the morning before we checked-out of the hotel, and hopefully my mask would be on board. At this point I figured it was a loss, and I was looking at a hassle and expense of replacing a dive mask and prescription lens. About an hour later we received a phone call in our room from Antonio that he had located my mask and now has it at the dive shop. Actually the entire staff were wonderful during our stay. I am sure our family will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butchhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlCamacho, Gerente at Cozumel Palace, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Butchhall

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are certainly pleased to learn that you enjoyed the service of our resort and Aqua Safari Dive shop.

About what you mentioned with the AMEX credit cards is correct, we have an exchange rate set in Mexico which may vary from the one set by American Express bank, this is not regulated by Palace Resorts in anyway, fortunately it was possible to assist you in this matter.

As a hotel company we will continue to create wonderful guest experiences where personalized service is concerned in an effort to become a highly regarded resort in Cozumel.

Sincerely,

Alfredo Camacho
Public Relations
alcamacho@palaceresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.0 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 52 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
10.1 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#12 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
7.7 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#14 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,433 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cozumel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozumel Palace

Property: Cozumel Palace
Address: Av Rafael E Melgar km 15 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Gonzalo Guerrero, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cozumel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not too long ago, Cozumel Island was revealed to the world with all its charm. Now adventure travelers, divers and nature lovers are discovering the all-inclusive, luxurious Cozumel Palace, the stunning resort bathed by the blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Experience the true meaning of luxury and fun. Enjoy the amenities and attention to detail from the moment you arrive. Our Cozumel Palace will take your breath away! Ideal for families, couples and adventure travelers who love diving and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cozumel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cozumel Palace Hotel Cozumel
Palace Hotel Cozumel
Plaza Las Glorias Cozumel
Palace Cozumel
Cozumel Palace Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing