We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vow renewal/vacation that we will never forget”
Review of Cozumel Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cozumel Palace
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I renewed our 25th wedding vows at CP, Sept.8th-13th, flying into Cozumel and the resort being 15 min. away(est.) was very convenient. Upon arrival check in was smooth and seem less. The cool facecloth and fresh fruit drink was a refreshing welcome. We had upgraded our room(@ time of booking) to a jr. suite with an ocean view (highly recommended) which was clean, very spacious, and the bed was very comfortable. The air conditioning in the room worked very well and was great when we returned from our after breakfast walk. From check in they direct you to another desk where a person helps you plan your excursions. They do ask if you would like to visit one of their resorts ( yes..a time share), but if you politely decline they don't pursue it any more. The resort credits were very helpful, the amount is dependent on # of nights stayed and you only pay 11% on what you use. These credits can be used towards room upgrade (when you arrive), excursions, scuba diving, spa, romantic dinners, ect. There are amount restrictions on golf and some other stuff but look into it it's well worth it. The excursions applicable for resort credit use are on specific days, finding out the days before you get there might be helpful. The staff are AMAZING, they are so attentive and truly make you feel welcomed, they made our anniversary/vow renewal (vacation) the MOST MEMORABLE time, so much that we DID'NT WANT TO LEAVE. Five star quality food in it's presentation and taste. Sara (front desk) took care of our every need; Danny, Gabriel, Roger and all the entertainment staff kept things lively. I definitely would suggest participating in the activities, you'll have so much fun ; Gaberiel (dive instructor @ the resort) was patient and attentive, my husband had a great time learning to dive. Manuel, Isadore, Louis Angel and all of the dining staff impressed me with each meal; Belem, Bernice and all the wedding/guest relations personnel surpassed what we could have ever imagined our 25th renewal to be, their attention to detail made it the MOST ROMANTIC that we could have asked for. Even though there is not a beach there are sandy "beach areas" with thatched roofed umbrellas to sit under and have coffee/drinks while you watch the cruise ships come in. Snorkeling right there at the resort was amazing and we saw different fish each time. My husband was reluctant to go to an all inclusive but found, especially with CP, it is well worth the money. From the staff making you feel like family, the quality and presentation of the cuisine (We still haven't found a restaurant back home that is equivalent). All the staff made our trip SO GREAT they treat everyone with the best hospitality.
WE HIGHLY RECOMMEND COZUMEL PALACE for your next vacation/wedding/vow renewal.

Room Tip: upgrade to Jr. suite 4th floor great ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,795)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,708 - 1,714 of 3,795 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

We have stayed at other Palace Resorts in the Cancun area. We decided to try Cozumel Palace and we were GLAD we did. It is a smaller property which we like. You get to know the staff and the guests - it starts to feel like family. Flying into the Cozumel airport was easier than the Cancun airport. Transportation from airport to the palace was a breeze and a quick ride. Check-in was simple and easy and everyone was friendly. We had a room on the 5th floor and it had a great view and the room was quiet. We did not experience much hallway noise (that I read about in other reviews). Beds and pillows are comfortable. Towels are big and soft. Towels are available at the pool and at the lounge chairs. There are so many great people who work there I would not want to list names because each person contributed to a wonderful, restful vacation.

We did not do any of the tours because we have done several of them in past Mexico visits. We did rent a jeep and drove around the island which was fun. Driving 'downtown' was a bit nerve racking because the local drivers (of cars and motorcycles) seem a bit reckless to us and zip around any vehicle that they consider going too slow. You have to keep your eyes open both to the left and the right of your vehicle because you don't know which size they will choose to zip pass the vehicle you are driving. Other than this it was a great experience. There are several bars along the drive where you can stop for the type of refreshment of your choice. We stopped at three and felt the food prices were a bit marked up but at the third stop it was reasonably prices and the food was good. People need to realize that everything has to be shipped to the island which can add to the cost of a product whether it is food or a product. The people that live and provide a great vacation experience for the tourists do this as their lively hood and we, as visitors, should try to remember they are not getting rich off your purchase but they do deserve to have make a bit of a profit.

All of the food at the restaurants was good. Our favorite meal was the 'Romantic Dinner' which we paid for with our resort credits and it was well worth the 11% tax we paid. DELICIOUS food and great service.

We enjoyed our fall visit because it was not at full capacity and not crowed. We will go back to Cozumel Palace!

Room Tip: Five floors at this palace. The first floor are the handicap rooms - second floor is a smoking floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We came to Cozumel because many online articles said it was one of the best places in the western hemisphere for scuba diving. The prices at the Cozumel Palace are very reasonable, which is why I didn't expect such great personal service. It was clear that they wanted us to be fully satisfied with every interaction. From car rentals, spa services, 24-hour room service, and open bar, I was pleased. One day we asked for (off-menu) strawberries and whipped cream from room service around 11pm. The manager came up to apologize that they couldn't do it, but that they'd be happy to deliver them tomorrow. I got the sense they sent someone to buy the ingredients, and the strawberries were perfect the next day after we got back from scuba diving.

We had "concierge-level service." Every time we'd leave the hotel, they'd come and clean up our room. Even 2 or 3 times a day. And every day they'd leave a "surprise," either mints, house-made chocolates, or cake. It was a great daily surprise.

They also have four hard liquors available in an in-room bar, right out of big bottles.

To get better service than this in the United States, you'd probably have to pay well over $1500 per night.

Cons / Tips:
* The room doors seem to have a lot of space under them. Put a towel at the bottom of the door to deaden some of the sound transmission while you're sleeping (or while you're being loud in your room!).
* The food was mostly adequate. But maybe that was me; most of the food in Cozumel, either here at the hotel or around the island has not impressed me. I'd say don't come to Cozumel for the food.

Room Tip: Pay for the "concierge-level" service if you like to be pampered a bit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fragglespock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 15 nights for our honeymoon we thought the resort overall was very good.
Pro's:
- Check in check out was efficient and friendly - plus no one during our stay tried to hassle us to buy a timeshare or membership which has happened at other resorts in Mexico.
- Beds were very comfy, rooms nice, clean and spacious.
- staff were friendly and helpful.
- resort credits meant we could drive for next to nothing.
- we received cakes and sparkling wine twice in our room for our honeymoon and also got a free package including the honeymoon dinner which was the BBB eat meal we had in resort.
- close to town for a change of scenery and although there is no beach we like being able to jump straight into the sea and snorkel
- nice pool area with a fast and frequent drink service
- room service is inclusive which is a nice touch and the fridge and coffee maker in the room are bonus

Con's:
The system for booking diving was ridiculous book a one counter get two different vouchers as we booked bigger tanks, then walk to dive shop give them the voucher and pay marine park fee. They really need to look at an integrated system where you can an do all this at once in one place. Also it would be nice if you could use credit for afternoon diving.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank sjo2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We just returned from our 3rd trip to the Cozumel palace. We love this resort. The people are why we return. Sara made our check in process so easy and was so nice and patient with our needs. Ricardo Esquivel arranged our activities for the week and they were all fantastic! Thanks Ricardo you are such a sweet and kind man! Danny my man you are always so wonderful and fun and such a hard worker. Danny, Gabriel, Manuela, Roger, Josue kept us entertained all week. It was great to see Theresa again, she is so sweet. Marcos in the outside restaurant always had our table ready. We however did miss seeing Sughie. Hrea took great care of us girls around the pool.I can not thank Bernice Esquivel and Sylvia Bernice enough for making my husband and best friends birthday so special .This group of people are warm, friendly, sweet and made us feel so special. The palace is our home away from home.
The Cozumel Palace is a beautiful all inclusive resort. You never have to want for anything. You are treated like a princess. The water is so clear and has great snorkling. We swam with the Sting Rays and the Dolphins. We did the chocolate tour which was much more than we expected. We visited Tulum and parasailed. One week just is not enough time to enjoy all the fun, drinks, food, activities and people! We plan on going again next year!
Thanks Cozumel palace for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lparvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The staff at The Cozumel Palace was attentive and very friendly. The service was excellent - fast and detail oriented. We had 15 people in our group and they took good care of each and every one of us throughout each day. They often asked how we were doing, if we needed a drink or food, and were happy to stop and chat for a moment and share a laugh. I've stayed at other places on the island and this is by far the best.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a nice hotel with great service and good location. The only down side is no beach but everything is top notch. There is a big store across the street. Many places to eat and party one block away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rance H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,150 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
7.7 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#17 of 52 in Cozumel
3,788 reviews
10.1 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#9 of 52 in Cozumel
5,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cozumel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozumel Palace

Address: Av Rafael E. Melgar km 1.5 | Zona Hotelera Centro, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $316 - $694 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cozumel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not too long ago, Cozumel Island was revealed to the world with all its charm. Now adventure travelers, divers and nature lovers are discovering the all-inclusive, luxurious Cozumel Palace, the stunning resort bathed by the blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Experience the true meaning of luxury and fun. Enjoy the amenities and attention to detail from the moment you arrive. Our Cozumel Palace will take your breath away! Ideal for families, couples and adventure travelers who love diving and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cozumel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cozumel Palace Hotel Cozumel
Palace Hotel Cozumel
Plaza Las Glorias Cozumel
Palace Cozumel
Cozumel Palace Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing