We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good time, too short”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cozumel Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cozumel Palace
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A good time, too short”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Our (family of 4) stay started off a little shaky. We were hoping to upgrade our room from a junior suite to a loft suite, but found out that you could not do that with resort credit. The Cozumel Palace web site is not clear on that. I'll say that if you are 6'4", and wife is 5'10" a double bed is just too small. The junior suite was otherwise very nice. We did get upgraded to the loft suite for the last 3 (of 5) nights. The loft suite is a must for families. Service was great. Food wasn't bad, except for the Asian restaurant; they just don't get it.

We spend a day at Playa del Carmen Beach Palace, did the 90 minute presentation to get a $200 off of a trip to Xichen Itza. Didn't buy into the vacation club; do the math. The beach at Playa del Carmen is spectacular.

The $1500 resort credit is pretty good if you know what you are doing. We used it for snorkeling, spa treatments, and tequila to bring home, and still left a few hundred on the table. You will be paying 11% federal tax on credit you use.

Room Tip: If you are a big/tall person get a king size bed. For a family of 4 the loft suite is a must. King...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,748
    600
    145
    67
    43
See reviews for
971
1,870
42
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Simply put, another great Cozumel Palace experience. This was our 4th year in a row at the site, and the staff and quality of the Palace remain consistently high. As always, great to see some of the same staff there year after year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cozumel Palace. We do not typically stay at "all inclusive" resorts, but Cozumel Palace changed our minds! Its location is perfect for walking into town and ferry docks. The hotel offers a number of excursions, and you can rent a jeep from the desk in the lobby. You can also snorkel from the hotel. The best part about Cozumel Palace is the staff. All staff were accommodating to every request. Gabriel and the pool staff offered many activities and made everyone feel welcome to participate. Juan, the sommelier, offered us many great wines and always had a suggestion ready for us when we arrived for dinner no matter which restaurant we chose. Carlos, our server at Bugambilia, spent a lot of time with us making suggestions for drinks, appetizers, entres, and activities on the island. Leticia greeted us by name at breakfast by the last few days of our stay. Their hospitality persuaded us to ensure we will return!

Room Tip: Definitely worthwhile to use the travel credits for an ocean view room. Also, the hotel offers firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here a decade ago when it was called Plaza Las Glorias, and returned from June 2-9 with our kids, my sister's family, and his parents to celebrate his 50th birthday. The stay was amazing from beginning to end, and the staff is INCREDIBLE. Our kids (8, 9, 11 and 12) rated the activity staff (Daniel, Manuela, Nube, Paola, Gabriel and Roger) the "best part of the vacation!" They kept our kids (and us!) thoroughly entertained--everything from water aerobics to bartending lessons to yoga on the beach and jewelry-making. We spent almost all of our time on the property, it has all the amenities and the spa was great (used resort credits to get a couples' massage). The hotel is clean, and the food is very good (I wouldn't say "fantastic" but definitely good and always available--no one is going to go hungry or thirsty at the Palace). Surprisingly to me, the shows were also very good--they had one nightly poolside, and they were quite entertaining (the breakdancing show where they brought in professional dancers was a particular hit with the kids). I didn't experience any of the high-pressure time share sales tactics that I read about in some reviews--we initially booked a visit to the Palace's sister hotel in Playa Del Carmen that was to include a sales presentation, but when our plans changed and we cancelled, no one bothered us about it. We did visit the Playa property on our own, and received the same first-rate service and hospitality there with our Palace bracelets. I would caution to think cafefully before taking kids on the Chichen Itza trip that I booked through the hotel--it was a 16-hour day and the kids got really cranky--not the hotel's fault, just a word of caution to parents that you might want to check out the ruins on the island or try Tulum instead. The Dolphin Experience at Chankanaab was absolutely INCREDIBLE....expensive, but it's money well spent and we were able to use resort credits to cover most of it (beware that they don't let you photograph your dolphin swim, but a professional photographer is on hand clicking away and happy to sell you a CD of your pictures...to the tune of about $300 for 8 of us, but again, the pictures are great and it's a once-in-a-lifetime experience). My husband arranged for a local dive shop (Dive with Martin) to pick him up and drop him off every day at the hotel dock, which was really convenient. The only real "downside" I can think of is that the rooms are very damp from all of the humidity--to the point where our bathing suits or wet clothes would never dry when you hung them in the room, and papers (like our passports--yikes!) became almost soggy in the hotel safe. This might be a problem for some with allergies or respiratory issues, but I think it's just unavoidable with the tropical weather this time of year. I travel frequently for business and have stayed at some great places--The Palace will not disappoint. Strongly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xyz70_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairieville, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Hotel was amazing. Staff and facility were better than expected. This was my first trip to Cozumel Palace and I will definitely be back. We had the 1500.00 resort credit and it was very useful in keeping the activities booked. All the food was amazing, breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Also took advantage of 24 hour room service.

Room Tip: Ocean view room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I cannot say enough about the staff at this resort. Each and every person from the front desk to housekeeping made us feel welcome and had a "make it happen" attitude. The entertainment staff were awesome with my children as well as the rest of my family. This was our third trip to Cozumel. We used to stay here when it was Plaza Los Glorias. It is like a new property compared to before. It is an excellent place for families and adults. Not a late crowd but there was always entertainment before bed that was at times no less than spectacular. The food was very good with 24 hour room service. I went with Dive with Martin for SCUBA. I was picked up promptly every morning at the Palace Pier and would highly recommend them as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in 203. It was very quiet and comfortable with a hammock. We slept well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was our third trip to Mexico, second to Cozumel. This place is by far our favorite, for a number of reasons, in no particular order.

1) It's reasonably priced, AND the $1,500 resort credit goes a long way. We got massages, a snorkeling trip and scuba lessons. These normally would have cost at least $100 each.

2) It's located in the heart of San Miguel, so if you feel like doing a little exploring in the local shops, they're all right out your front door. There's a supermarket across the street for literally any need--from luggage to cigarettes. Jeep rental is out the front door too, so if you want to check out the other side of the island (And you should.) It's fast and convenient.

3) The staff is amazing. I celebrated my birthday down there, and one of the bartenders, Jesus, went out of his way to surprise me in the pool with a custom-decorated cake. That was just one example of how awesome they were.

4) The rooms are amazing. Ocean view, in-room jacuzzi, hammock on the balcony. You cannot beat it. The resort itself is intimate but not cramped, so everything's close together and accessible.

5) The food is fantastic. 24-hour room service, but I recommend the buffets and restaurants, where the food was very high quality.

6) There's no beach, but it doesn't matter. Hop off the pier into the pool, but if you really crave sand, they've got some sandy areas with beach chairs to recreate the feeling.

7) Most all-inclusives keep you stocked with beer and soda in the room. These guys also keep you in liquor too, if that's your thing. There's a full bar in each room.

8) The pools are terrific, and not crowded. There's a great swim-up bar, and also a dry bar alongside the pool. The staff is amazing.

9) Nice workout facilities (though I never used them.)

10) VERY few children on our visit. Which is nice if that's your thing. (It was mine.)

11) Staff is awesomely friendly, and the place is sparkling clean.

12) Terrific entertainment poolside at night, ranging from a Mexican carnival to fire dancers.

That's all I can think of for now, but I highly recommend Cozumel Palace for your next stay.

Room Tip: Our Oceanview Junior Suite was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.0 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
10.1 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#16 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,044 reviews
7.7 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#14 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,356 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cozumel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozumel Palace

Property: Cozumel Palace
Address: Av Rafael E Melgar km 15 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Gonzalo Guerrero, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cozumel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not too long ago, Cozumel Island was revealed to the world with all its charm. Now adventure travelers, divers and nature lovers are discovering the all-inclusive, luxurious Cozumel Palace, the stunning resort bathed by the blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Experience the true meaning of luxury and fun. Enjoy the amenities and attention to detail from the moment you arrive. Our Cozumel Palace will take your breath away! Ideal for families, couples and adventure travelers who love diving and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cozumel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cozumel Palace Hotel Cozumel
Palace Hotel Cozumel
Plaza Las Glorias Cozumel
Palace Cozumel
Cozumel Palace Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing