We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The good, the bad and the ugly”
Review of Cozumel Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cozumel Palace
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The good, the bad and the ugly”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Let me start by saying that we never actually spent the night here. We were staying at the Sun Palace in Cancun (which is the best, period). We decided to venture out and took the ferry to Cozumel, and decided to visit a sister hotel, the Cozumel Palace. When we inquired at the front desk about spending the night, the person (Sara - who - IMHO - should not be working the front desk) was quite rude in her approach to telling us that since we left our things in our room at the Sun Palace (yeah no [--], we paid for that room), that we would have to pay for a room at the Coz Palace. OK - I didn't actually expect to get a room for free. But when she said we would have to pay $402 for a room, that's when the conversation went bad, the UGLY. She was so rude about it. We walked away, and went and had our way with the place, since we could. We swam in the pool, ordered a few drinks, enjoyed the sunset and the band. They did give us a hospitality room to cleanup for dinner. The room was dirty, already used and used towels all around. Not impressed.........at............all. We went to dinner at the Mexican restaurant. It was just so/so. After dinner, decided to check again at the front desk about a room, and now the price was only $300. Isabel was very nice about it. It's amazing how two different people can basically be telling you the same thing, but because of a better attitude, it comes off so much better. She even got the night manager (Alfredo) involved. The price was getting better, but still not good enough. Not when we could take advantage of everything else here. I could not pay that much just to rest our heads. So I looked up another hotel on Kayak (Hotel B) and stayed there for $110 with tax. Just a bit of a scooter ride up the street.

I do not understand why the Coz Palace would do that? They knew we were staying at their sister resort, so we could take advantage of the all-inclusive bene's at their hotel too. They obviously had a room open, since they were quoting us prices. They chose to leave the room empty for the night instead of getting a couple hundred bucks out of us? I probably would have paid $200 if they would have just said that in the first place. It cannot cost that much to clean the room.

So we left and slept elsewhere. We came back to Cozumel Palace the next day and got some towels and waters, the staff was very nice. While leaving our bags there, we took off for the day of sightseeing around the island.

Overall - Cozumel Palace left us disappointed, and hence the bad review.

The GOOD:
- Isabel: She was so nice and pleasant. Again she was pretty much telling us the same thing as Sara, but in a much better way. She even tried calling the Hotel B to make us a reservation, but I could get a better price myself on Kayak. I gave her $10 anyway.
- Other servers and waiters, front desk staff - holding bags, getting towels, waters, etc.
- the view - the western exposure makes for a beautiful sunset

The BAD:
- Alfredo, the night manager - who should have made a better decision to offer us something other than the street price - especially since we were staying at a sister hotel.
- no beach
- hotel seems kind of small and cramped

The UGLY:
- Sara, very rude leaving a terrible first impression. She should be in the back room somewhere, not at the front desk.
- the dirty hospitality room

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zoohwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,774
    604
    147
    68
    43
See reviews for
979
1,891
43
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Coast
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was our 6th scuba trip to Cozumel and the first staying at the Palace. My wife and I planned this trip as an early 10th anniversary vacation and it was worth every penny. From the moment we landed at the airport and were met by the taxi guy to checking out, I enjoyed every moment. Much of this was due to the highly professional staff, clean and well maintained facilities and spirit of fun and teamwork that all the employees had. We dove with the in house Dive Shop, Aqua Safari. Sharp folks there! Great teamwork on all the boat routines. The only small glitch we had was during the check in. Our package deal stated 500 hotel credits for a room upgrade. As we were standing there consuming the lovely welcome drink and washing our face and hands with a hot towell, we were informed that the promotion had expired and we had to pay cash for an upgrade. Having done this type of negotiation in our past trips, I was unphased, my wife however mentioned this to me twice during the vacation....that means she was a bit miffed. The ended up honoring the upgrade from the street view to the ocean view, allowing us to use 1000 resort credits. I am glad we did. This minor drama aside, the managers here make use of all areas of the resort with a relaxed dignity. The air conditioned lobby has stunning views of the ocean over the pool. The barmen are very competant and were not taken aback by any of my archaic requests. The ample choice of three excellent resturants should leave none wanting. Choices for Breakfast lunch and dinner rotate. I had no average food here. The grounds are well maintained as was our ample room. Snorkeling in the lagoon proved to be chock-a-block full of critters. I had a hard time spending the remaining 1000 resort credits entirely and I was there for ten days. We will return for certain.

Room Tip: Go with the ocean view. You didnt travel all that way to cheap out when you get there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coldbrewky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We chose the Cozumel Palace based on the reviews and were pleased with our decision. We talked to couples who stayed elsewhere which confirmed we made the right choice. The hotel is at the end of downtown which made it easy to walk to shopping, etc. This all-inclusive hotel is small and cozy compared to some Mexican resorts. If you want super-sized then best to go somewhere else. The hotel, rooms and grounds are clean and well maintained. We were in room 304 which was on the far end with great views of the water and swim with dolpins attraction. The only negative is that our room was near the room service staff door which was sometimes noisy at night hearing carts and clattering dishes, etc. We had nothing but good experiences with the staff. They have a nice pool area, access to snorkeling and diving and a man-made beach area. I was concerned because my husband likes "a beach" but he admitted to being satisfied with their alternative. They don't have tons of outside shade options but we were able to get a palapa if we put our stuff out early. The pool waiters were attentive and kept us stocked with beverages and food. We tried every dining option and were very satisfied. Food is above average. Restaurant portions are not huge which was fine with us. If you want more food then order an item from each available course. We liked that the buffet atmosphere was not a free-for-all like some resorts. When entering the buffet restaurant, you have to check in and be seated at a table. This thankfully made people be more civilized and not raid the buffets. The bars and rooms have a good selection of alcohol and better quaility than some all-inclusives. The fitness room has 3 treadmills, 2 bikes, a stepper, free weights and a piece of equipment that offers multiple workout stations. We also tried the spa and the couples massage was great. For those who get "resort credits", they aren't all that easy to use up and remember you have to pay 11% on what you use. About the only negative part of our stay was having to deal with the customer service staff to arrange tours and use resort credits because they would try to get us to sit in on the "membership" sessions. Of course they swear it isn't a timeshare! Even if you say no, they will call your room later in the day to ask again but stopped after a couple days. We have no idea what the membership gets you so maybe we missed out but wasn't in the mood to be pressured on vacation. Overall though we had a great stay here and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms 304 to about 312 were near room service entrance/elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A_RAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

i returned to Cozumel for the first time since 1988 with my wife for our 10th anniversary. Cozumel was a bit raw then but is no longer. it is beautiful. our stay at the Palace was extrordinary and beyond words. we so loved it very much. the people working there are also extrordinary. ALL of them. we started with pre-arrival contact with the PR director, miss Berenice Esquivel, who smoothly paved the way for our arrival. upon arrival we were instantly greeted outside by the bellmen. i interacted constantly throughout the week with them. their proffessionalism and efficiency were second to none. i recall Pasqual and Isaiah and i'm sorry i cannot remember other names but they were all equally wonderful. at the front desk we were greeted by an incredible young woman, senorita Ana. Ana is a beautiful young woman with a gorgeous smile and lovely dimples which are omnipresent because she is ALWAYS smiling. her poise and dignity and grace were evident throughout the week. we were granted the room of our choice and could not have been happier. i want to say that ALL the young women at the front desk were equally beautiful; equally kind and equally helpful. when i say beautiful i not only speak of of outer beauty i also discerned beauty in spirit in all of them. quite a combination ,eh?? next would be senor Ricardo with credit planning. an efficient ,proffessional, get it done, kind of guy. gracias senor Ricardo. now you have our room concierge, Luis.. day bartender inside ,Juan Manuel. night barman outside Juan. night server Francisco, whom i spoke of life and family with.. also the outside night manager? maybe..i forget his name because i respectfully refered to him as mi jefe all week..the breakfast servers were AWESOME..all these people and more i have the greatest respect and admiration for..i could go on and on but iwant to say; please don't miss this place. i have been traveling to the caribbean for 30 years on and off and this is by far my best experience. after 24 hours there, my wife and i came to the decision that there is no need to search further. we will only come here from now on..the diving and snorkeling in Cozumel is second to none.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yanqui7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central City, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The worry with all-inclusives is the food, right? No worries here! The food is awesome, no matter which restaurant you choose! The breakfast is way more than expected. The drinks are never watered down, and there is a basically a bar in the room as well. The rooms are wonderful, and the views from the deck are fantastic. Use the hotel credits for everything! Spa, tours, swim with dolphins, special dinners, upgraded bottles of wine...all you pay is the taxes. Now for the staff...EVERYONE, housekeeping, pool guys, bellmen, front desk, reservation desk, bar, restaurant, activities...EVERYONE is friendly, and willing to go above and beyond for you. They know your name, and use it, by the 2nd day of your stay. No beach? who cares? Sand just gets everywhere anyway. The snorkeling is right there for you to enjoy.This was my 6th stay here, and they never cease to amaze me! Go here, love it, recommend it...You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: At least the 3rd floor for a great view. Ends are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiplersville, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed a week at Cozumel 4/27-5/4. The resort was beautiful and exceptionally clean. Our room was comfortable with a great view of the gulf. The resort is built on rocks, so it doesn't really have a sandy beach, but you can snorkel or do shallow scuba dives in front of the resort. We were able to see several types of fish when we snorkeled there. The vacation planners saved us a lot of time by helping us with scheduling and plans and were very knowledgeable about all of the excursions. We did the Discover Scuba at the resort, but didn't really enjoy it. We had taken scuba lessons at home, but lacked our open water dive to become certified before our trip. The dive master that we were with required everyone in his group to hold hands with everyone in a line while we were in the water. It was terrible! Everyone kept getting tangled up in a string that he had attached to us. Another group that went out the same time as our group but with a different dive master had a great time. They all said they'd love to have their guide again. All of the food was good, but we enjoyed b'fast & the Flamingo Grill the most. Every thing was elegant in appearance. The nightly shows were good with everyone having a lot of fun with audience participation.
We stayed 1 week at Cozumel Palace & 1 week at Royal Sands at Cancun. We enjoyed everything about Cozumel Palace much more. This is only considering the resorts, not the surrounding areas, but even with that, we enjoyed Cozumel much more than Cancun & really felt safer there.

Room Tip: We had a jr Jacuzzi suite that was very spacious, had a large Jacuzzi, & a king bed. Being direc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My wife and I are currently spending a week at Playacar Palace but spent one day at Cozumel Palace just to check it out before we return this October to spend a week at Cozumel Palace. From the moment we stepped out of the cab we were treated like royalty. Everyone was quick and very eager to do everything they could to make our stay most pleasant even though we were only day guests. I can only imagine what it will be like staying there for a week. We can hardly wait to return. We spent most of our time at the pool and Roger took excellent care of us. I don't see how anyone could keep up the pace that he did with the heat we were experiencing that day but he did and always with a smile on his face. He said he was looking forward to seeing us this fall and I truly believe he meant it. Palace Resorts should be very glad that they have such an attentive staff as they do at Cozumel Palace. As for Playacar's review, I am waiting until I return home to write that one - too many other things to enjoy than being on my computer. Hasta luego

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiringelsewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.0 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 52 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
10.1 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#12 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
7.7 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#14 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,433 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cozumel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozumel Palace

Property: Cozumel Palace
Address: Av Rafael E Melgar km 15 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Gonzalo Guerrero, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cozumel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not too long ago, Cozumel Island was revealed to the world with all its charm. Now adventure travelers, divers and nature lovers are discovering the all-inclusive, luxurious Cozumel Palace, the stunning resort bathed by the blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Experience the true meaning of luxury and fun. Enjoy the amenities and attention to detail from the moment you arrive. Our Cozumel Palace will take your breath away! Ideal for families, couples and adventure travelers who love diving and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cozumel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cozumel Palace Hotel Cozumel
Palace Hotel Cozumel
Plaza Las Glorias Cozumel
Palace Cozumel
Cozumel Palace Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing