We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in Cozumel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cozumel Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cozumel Palace
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best in Cozumel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

If you are looking for an amazing resort with staff that are second to none, the Cozumel Palace is the place for you! The staff at the Cozumel Palace are very knowledgeable and will help you with just about anything, usually going above and beyond. The property itself is within walking distance to downtown and between the two cruise ship ports so you are able to watch the ships come in morning and leave at night from your balcony every day (except Sunday when cruise ships are not allowed in port). There is 24/7 room service available for every guest which can be hard to find and the food is awesome no matter what you have or when you have it.

One day we were out all day snorkeling and came back to our room to find a "Welcome Back" cake sitting on one of the tables in our room. We called it a "Welcome Back" cake because it was a little cake sitting on a plate that said "Welcome Back" in chocolate icing. We thought this was extremely thoughtful and the cake was great!

If you are looking for the best place to stay on the island of Cozumel please consider Cozumel Palace for your next visit. You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,747
    600
    145
    67
    43
See reviews for
971
1,869
42
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is the second or third trip for us to the Cozumel Palace (and my husband stayed there many times as Plaza Las Glorias) and it was excellent as usual. It's nice to be close to town, although on this trip (and because the food is so good, and varied, at the hotel) we did not going into town for any dinners as we normally do just for the experience.
We were traveling with friends and we all agreed that Roger (bar/pool waiter) was excellent - he knew what you wanted before you even asked! We also enjoyed visiting with Jose Roger (one of the activity leaders) and he did a great job with the water areobics each day along with other activities and the nightly shows. Enjoying the presentation and tasting experience of the Mayan coffee was the best - it's a work of art to watch the staff make it and it's a dream when it's finally served - I wouldn't even try to replicate it at home.
All employees are very pleasant and strive to make everything perfect for you. I must say the only downfall to this resort are some of the folks who vacation there and who seem to enjoy their own company and their own voice, rather than relaxing and enjoying the beautiful surroundings. During one evening meal in the Mexican restaurant pretty much all we could hear was another guest talking, covering his expertise on just about every subject that came up. Needless to say, that did not entice us to linger over our dinner, but rather cut our dinner a bit short and go back to the room. Despite that dining experience (which I guess could happen anywhere), I would highly recommend the Cozumel Palace as a great place to stay if you are visiting Cozumel.

Room Tip: In our opinion, it's good to stay away from the middle of the hotel area which overlooks the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great location, 5 minutes from the Cozumel airport. What started to be a nice find with our travel agent turned into an amazing 7 day paradise vacation. The first step to the last step we had an awesome time, non-stop over the top service and met some new friends right on the island. The snorkeling was beautiful, the Mayan people were so appreciative and we felt safe in and around the Palace. The food at the Palace was spectacular, no reservations ever needed for dinner and the drink service was readily available. The activities team kept the Palace fun stick around both during the day and evenings. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Top floor, ocean view and make sure your upgrade to Elite package, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodworth, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

I am really late in writing this review but it was still important to me. My husband and I joined two other couples for a week at Cozumel Palace in August, 2012. It was our second time to stay in Cozumel and it was a fantastic trip. The wonderful staff at Cozumel is what makes this resort special. I want to acknowledge just a few of them. The waiters, Francisco, Fausto, and Gabriel are the best! Thanks to my favorite bartender Heiler for making the best Caribbean Sunsets! Also thanks to Arturo in Member Services, Freddie who helped with tours, car rental, etc. It was also good to see Pasquale again. The food was wonderful as always, but I would have to say the Italian restaurant was our favorite. There was only one disappointment in the whole trip. Our favorite hostess Julietta was no longer there. We really came to love her on our first trip. We have been members since 2000 and traveled to Cancun, Puerto Vallarta, and Punta Cana many times but Cozumel Palace will always be our favorite. All the best to the entire staff! Can't wait to return!!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BettyM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We just returned from a two week stay at the CP. The service is simply the best we have ever received from an all-inclusive. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this resort highly and without exception. If they don't have it or you want it, just ask and you may be surprised but likely not as it seems to be the norm.
Yes, you can find some aging of the resort but it has no effect on the total experience, which was excellent. Yes the rooms may be musty but what can you expect with that weather, hot and humid (which is why we went there). They were refurbishing the outside facing of the rooms in one section the whole time we were there but it had no impact on our vacation. The rooms were very nice and clean. The whole resort was always being cleaned by the staff.
This was our second visit to the CP in 5 years and right from walking in the door we were greeted by Rafael who recognized us and took our bags. This must be a great place work as we saw many faces that we recognized from 5 years ago such as the Gabriel and Suhei with the activities staff and Tedoro in the breakfast and lunch buffet.
The food in all the restaurants was excellent with the Italian and Grill our favorites. The service around the pool was exceptional as well with bar and food service. To echo Sun_Soaked_Jo and her review, Francisco (amigo) was exceptional and treated all guests royally while we were there. Jose, Raul and Roger also gave fantastic service.
In the breakfast buffet Tedoro, Gabriel, Fausto, Francisco and Fili (the whole team), could not have been more attentive bringing you drinks as you sit down without asking and of course always getting anything you need and may not ask for. Tedoro,s children, Selene and Ronni are following in his footsteps and area providing excellent service in the Mexican restaurant. Manual at the Grill was a pro and as always “it was my pleasure”, as he would say.
We had our 33 year old son with us and he was always in the pool playing volleyball. He and all of us were amused with all of the games/crafts/classes/entertainment provided by the activities staff. They were all excellent but Roger, Josue, Gabriel, Suhei and Daniel stood out.
I know is sounds repetitive, but the service was exceptional throughout the resort. It was also provided with a genuine smile as we really believe and have been told the staff that they enjoy their jobs and they are good at it.
Thanks CP and staff for making our vacation special.

Room Tip: Choose the X01 - X010 rooms if you want the best views of everything around the resort. Choose X11...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Albertaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The place needs attention and upgrading. The junior suite at $465 USD per night was certainly not worth it - thankfully we only stayed 2 nights. The photos online make the place look better than it is, although the size is great. Our toilet was coming off the wall when we flushed, the sink had a large crack in it and had been there so long that it was a disgusting black line, the hallways to the rooms are tiled so you can hear EVERYTHING (there is a sign outside the elevator to tell you to be quiet, but this doesn't help), heels, people talking, the staff and the kids who realize that you can make cool squeaky noises with your feet, all add up. Our hot tub buttons which were cracked and sticky wouldn't switch off and the engineer had to come and get under the tub and fix the problem. The sheets felt like they not been in a hot wash for a long time. This place was probably great in the 80's, unfortunately it's now needing some love. The staff were friendly and the food was passable but not great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LFM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a trip to the Palace. It was very clean, the staff was remarkable and made for a very relaxing vacation. This trip was the first "all-inclusive" we had ever done so I don't have much to compare it to. But here are my thoughts and suggestions:

Rooms- We stayed in an ocean view junior suite...it was great. It was on the far left side of the resort so it was very quiet. The room and view were wonderful. We used some of our resorts credits to upgrade to this room but I suspect that we would have had this room regardless, and probably didn't need to ask for an upgrade because I did not see a "city view" room while we were at the hotel.

Food-The food was what I expected, nothing spectacular but edible. We enjoyed the Asian restaurant and the Italian the most. The breakfast was OK, and although there is a lot of variety, you tend to stick with what was decent the day before (omlettes, yogurt, fruit, etc). Much of the food is fried with lots of cheese, so if you are a healthy eater, be prepared to let that go. The Asian restaurant had the healthiest options, and you could always get ceviche for lunch! All in all, the food was fine, but just don't have high expectations. It seems as though there are too many items on the menus, and if the resort focused on just a few, they would be of better quality.

Overall resort- The Palace was a great place to soak up the sun, snorkel and relax. The staff is amazing, and so kind and helpful. Rarely were our drinks empty! We had a great time but for those of you looking for a beach vacation, Cozumel in general is not a "beach" location but the water is beautiful. I'm not completely sold on the all-inclusive package but it was a fun trip where we didn't have to plan or worry about anything.

Room Tip: We stayed on the south end and it was very quiet, wonderful ocean breeze and the waves put me right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 178raf85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.0 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
10.1 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#16 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
7.7 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#14 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,353 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cozumel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozumel Palace

Property: Cozumel Palace
Address: Av Rafael E Melgar km 15 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Gonzalo Guerrero, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cozumel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not too long ago, Cozumel Island was revealed to the world with all its charm. Now adventure travelers, divers and nature lovers are discovering the all-inclusive, luxurious Cozumel Palace, the stunning resort bathed by the blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Experience the true meaning of luxury and fun. Enjoy the amenities and attention to detail from the moment you arrive. Our Cozumel Palace will take your breath away! Ideal for families, couples and adventure travelers who love diving and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelsClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cozumel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cozumel Palace Hotel Cozumel
Palace Hotel Cozumel
Plaza Las Glorias Cozumel
Palace Cozumel
Cozumel Palace Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing