We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly the best! There have been changes!”
Review of Cozumel Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cozumel Palace
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at the Palace for two weeks from the 16th September, the weather was ok but a couple of rainy days. First of all there is the well documented issue of the palace credits. First of all they are not all a rip off. What you have to remember is that you have to pay 11% tax on the credits you use. as an example we used the credits for a days diving on a hard boat with two dives, the cost to us was six dollars, hardly a rip off. On the other hand we had a romantic meal, cost of credits $350.00, we had to pay the 11% tax only, now the meal was good, but all the meals at the palace are good, this year they did not include the lobster, so not a bargain by any means. Last year the chefs came out regularly with titbits they had prepared, not so much this year. Probably budget cuts have hit them too. Credits can also be spent on a trip to the dolphins, only a hundred yards awayalso a great deal and a visit to the stingrays and spa, also excellent value for money. So NOT a rip off!
The only real disappointment we had was on our last day the hotel was opened up to over a hundred guests from a cruise ship. They spent the day shouting, getting drunk, causing arguments and being sick. we of course complained, particularly as there was no warning, we would have taken the day out of the hotel if we had been warned. This is not what we expected from this hotel. we were offered a honeymoon dinner, however as we were all inclusive this was little comfort and we did not accept. In summary a lovely island and still a nice hotel, if you are going ask if there are any functions like this planned.

Room Tip: Have your first free dive at the hotel then use Dive paradise, turn left out of the hotel and walk a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaveTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,773)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,243 - 2,249 of 3,773 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

My fiance and I went here in April for vacation. Upon arrival we were greeted with a nice cold drink and used the credits to upgrade our room. The upgrade was great except they put you on the first floor near all the stores and salon. To me that room location doesn't really feel like I'm secluded or staying in a hotel. With that said the rooms were clean and nice.

Now to the part of the trip that wasn't so pleasant. On the 2nd to last night we were there, my fiance and I ate at the Italian Restaurant. Once we were seated we noticed how hot it was in the dining room. Well he ordered a chicken pesto meal with pasta and I ordered a pasta meal with chicken. Before coming I read some reviews to be aware of the meat so as I'm always paranoid I wouldn't eat my chicken. My fiance ended up eating his and lets just say three hours later he was sicker then a dog. I don't think I have ever seen someone so miserable. I mentioned this to the front desk and no one seemed to care. I feel that after seeing the food preparation and the way meat just sits around and is discolored when taken out of refrigerator, that I will never go back to this resort. I know that food poisoning can happen anywhere but if you saw the way the meat looked I wouldn't eat it if I were you. So the last two days were miserable and all we wished was that we could go home.

Otherwise the pool was nice but if you are looking for any beach I wouldn't go to Cozumel. Lets just say we will never return to any part of Mexico again, as we were disappointed when we went to Cancun a few years back. Having been to Aruba, St. Thomas, Bahamas, Hawaii, and St. Martin I wouldn't waste my money in Mexico.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moshiekm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Good drinks, good food, great service! After a disappointing stay at the El Cozumeleño, my husband and I switched hotels for the last two days at our trip. What we missed at "El Coz" we got at the Cozumel palace...plus some. If you are looking to relax and be comfortable, this is the place to stay. Everything we ate and drank was great, even lunch by the pool. And to top it off they upgraded our room free of charge. I would definitely go back! We've stayed at many all inclusive resorts in Quintana Roo and this was definitely one of the best.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank MigedyMigedyMAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We needed a get away and we found the perfect place. The staff was very good to my wife and I. From the cool wash cloth to the last handshake before getting in a taxi for the trip home.
The staff went above and beyond to make our trip easy. Off season and we had a great time without crowds. Ocean view rooms are great ,breakfeast on the balcony. 24/7 Room service menu has something for everyone. Just get on a plane and relax and let the Cozumel Palace take you away.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 6969Shawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I really had a great stay here. Our first trip to Mexico. The service was the Best we have ever Had!! I have travelled to 18 countries since 2004. You could snorkel and see great things right off the pier at the hotel. My husband scuba dives and had a great experience with their dive shop with small trips and great service and safety awareness. The romantic dinner on the beach is a must!! Excellent food and beverages. They had some good entertainers in the evenings as well. The staff is very attentive and helpful. My husband is a chef and we were both impressed by the quality of the food. We give this resort 5 thumbs up Linda Freudenberger ,

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trixielovejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The day of check in was a very good experience.
-Check in process was both in Spanish & English - very impressive
-went over all the inclusive package deal & amenities
-went over our hotel credits that was given to us during booking
-this resort is family owned & pays for English classes for their employees - all staff spoke English

Room:
-upgraded
-pool view w/ hammock & ocean view
-great size
-hot tub
-best bar ever!
-security box included
-a bottle of wine
-bubble bath

Services:
-phenomenal
-hardly had to go to the bar
-concierge was great helped us book all our activities
-everyone was polite, energetic & very welcoming
-very clean resort
-activities everyday
-very engaging place
-safe

Overall this was a awesome resort. Right by downtown, great view, great services, good food, room services! the best all inclusive package I have invested in so far. The island itself was great with a Mexican caribbean feel to it. It is a very beautiful place! Not too congested or crazy like Cancun, very relaxing! Love it, and would def. come back again. Recommend this resort to everyone.

Room Tip: If you have credit within your all inclusive package deal, upgrade the room its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

love love love the staff, they make you feel like family and will go out of their way to make sure your stay is as good as it can possibly be. Clean modern hotel, spacious clean rooms with fantastic food and a beautiful view. You can't go wrong choosing a Palace hotel in Mexico.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JBGramz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.0 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,135 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
7.7 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#18 of 52 in Cozumel
3,746 reviews
10.1 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
5,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cozumel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozumel Palace

Address: Av Rafael E Melgar km 15 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Gonzalo Guerrero, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $304 - $686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cozumel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not too long ago, Cozumel Island was revealed to the world with all its charm. Now adventure travelers, divers and nature lovers are discovering the all-inclusive, luxurious Cozumel Palace, the stunning resort bathed by the blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Experience the true meaning of luxury and fun. Enjoy the amenities and attention to detail from the moment you arrive. Our Cozumel Palace will take your breath away! Ideal for families, couples and adventure travelers who love diving and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cozumel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cozumel Palace Hotel Cozumel
Palace Hotel Cozumel
Plaza Las Glorias Cozumel
Palace Cozumel
Cozumel Palace Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing