We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Can't wait to go back! Excellent service! Secluded. Plenty of activities to do at resort. I suggest a reef room. Snorkeling is great. Food is good. You are close to the shops and restaurants, if you want to venture out.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Reed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for have been writing and have been sharing your comments. I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our team services and facilities. I certainly know my colleagues will be equally pleased to know their efforts are making a memorable stay for you.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Cordially,

Henry Walther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,761)
There are newer reviews for Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

613 - 619 of 1,761 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

This was my fourth stay at the Presidente Cozumel and once again it was outstanding!! Our pool view room with outdoor shower was spotless and the air conditioning works perfectly. The grounds are meticulously cared for and each and every staff member goes out of their way to make you feel welcomed. We enjoyed eating at the restaurant and ordering room service. Our stay was quiet and we spent time at the beach and at the adult pool. The internet unfortunately does not consistently work however, this really is the only fault I can find. Snorkeling is wonderful and I hope to be able to return next year!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tekko1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you !

We certainly appreciate your comments about your recent stay in our resort, It was a real pleasure.

Hopefully you can visit us once again in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

When booking our vacation, my wife and I decided on Cozumel. Since neither of us had been there before, we went on trip advisor to check the places out. Presidente Intercontinental was rated the highest and for good reason. The room was great, the food was excellent, the staff were most helpful, the snorkeling was great. Everything was exactly how people had said it was. It was very quiet, relaxing. We would definately come back to Cozumel and to this hotel. There is no need to try to find anything better.

Room Tip: Reef rooms have a great view of the ocean. Pool view rooms are very quiet and have a nice balcony.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your review and positive comments which I am sharing with all the team.

It is very rewarding to read comments like yours since our main goal is to exceed guests' expectations. We continue working on innovation, being authentic and original, and most important in satisfying our customers every time.

I am glad you had another memorable stay and we look forward in welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We made a quick weekend trip and stayed at this resort. Our room was perfect with a little terrace to enjoy the gorgeous weather. The ocean near the hotel was calm and perfect for swimming and there is a nice white sand beach for hotel guests. The staff was helpful and friendly. We were able to negotiate breakfast buy get one free which made the buffet worth the cost. I would suggest pool view by the adult pool because it was so peaceful and relaxing.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank simchah3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you !

We certainly appreciate your comments about your recent stay in our resort, It was a pleasure to serve you like always.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your room, the hotel beach and the friendliness of our staff.

Hopefully you can visit us once again in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We had a wonderful week at this extremely casual, low-key, mellow resort, our first time in Cozumel. Although this hotel is 5 star for the island, if you are used to staying at a Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton or One and Only type resort you need to re-set your expectations...this is a 4 star laid back, authentic Mexican hotel.

Arrival- perfect! Our plane landed at 11:25am, quickly made it thru immigration, luggage was waiting for us, customs, made it to the shared van window ($9 USD, P/P), van filled quickly, made 4 stops and arrived at the P.I. by 12n. Our SBF room was ready and we were in the room by 12:10pm. YEA!!! (sweating it as we dropped of other vacationers at their hotels...wow did we make the right choice).

Overall- flip flops are the footwear of choice, I can't stress how casual this hotel/local in general is. If you like styling your hair, wearing make-up, heels, dressing up for dinner...forget it. Cozumel is the 2nd most casual island we've been to next to Saba in the Caribbean. Everyone dives or snorkels and we did also. Wake-up, dive/snorkel, sun and fun, eat, drink, sleep, repeat...

Room (SBF)- large 700 SQFT, comfy bed and linens, large comfy towels in the bathroom, tons of storage for clothes, dive equipment, nice bathroom with tub, inside shower with good water pressure, double sinks, good lighting, outside rain shower area is around 12x10 and open air, 15x10 stone patio with 2 loungers and table with double glider, great view of the beach and ocean, these are first floor rooms and we would highly recommend. Free 1.5L bottled water/daily. $400++/night

Pool/beach- Adult pool with plenty of loungers and palm tree shade (we never used since the pool bar wasn't manned), the main pool over-looked the ocean and had 20 papalas with loungers and 30 sun loungers, the main beach has 15 papalas, 18 sun lounger sets and both ends of the resort are reef front with a pier/steps into the ocean for snorkeling and have 20 sets of loungers with papalas. Both pools were heated and the ocean was at 80 degrees.

Capacity- many workers told us the hotels capacity was at 20% which was great for us but sad for the resort...at times, we were the only people at the pool, at dinner there were maybe 1-2 other couples in the restaurants at any given time.

Diving/snorkeling/Scuba Du- Our room was 20 steps from the dive shop/beach, Scuba Du was efficient, friendly, helpful and top notch. The rate was $89 USD, cash, having your own equipment, hubby did 9 dives including a night dive. Visibility was perfect, boats were good, everything was on-time, if you've been to Grand Cayman, you will be slightly disappointed in the under-water world in Cozumel, otherwise...you'll love it. Snorkeling is available 24/7 on the reef at the resort.

Food/drink- We ate every meal at the resort. Breakfast was $34 USD and yummy, everything you'd want or order off the menu. For lunch you have 2 restaurants to choose from and can wear your bathing suit, Alfredo's ($100-$200/couple for dinner), Napa Grill ($150-$250/couple for dinner) and the main Mexican restaurant all have great choices, yummy food and are worth the money.

Tennis- 2 grass courts, no fee and available all day

SPA- we had the Mayan couples massage, $650 USD+ tip, one of the best massages we've had ,they used hot candle wax, we were the only ones in the SPA, used the whirlpool, Turkish bath, showers, viewed the "sweat lodge" (they don't call it that, if we had more time we would have tried a 90 min. service where a Sharman performs a ritual in the hut followed by massage).

Fitness Center- small but hubby got a good full body work out daily, plenty of towels and water.

Bring bug spray with DEET!!!

Timeshare people- what a pain...every time you walked past the lobby, you have to be forceful in your NO if your not interested in the pitch or they follow you.

Maintenance people and housekeeping- every employee was working hard and quickly every time we walked by. We tipped our maid $5/day and $3 for turn-down service and our room was kept perfectly with fresh sheets daily and extra towels galore.

Maintenance of the hotel in general- the owners should consider forgetting the timeshare idea which will only bring a lower income type vacationer to the hotel (the type that shop at the supermarket for food/beer/pop vs. spending $$ at their resort) and instead spend money on painting the interior and exterior, power washing all the stone (which is everywhere) replacing missing pool-towels, painting or repairing the pool chairs that are peeling/rusting...all the cosmetic type things that need done so when vacationers go home, they say "I can't wait to return, tell their friends, co-workers, family, you have to go to the P.I. in Cozumel for your next Mexican vacation".

Service- everyone was friendly but we wouldn't say "service oriented", we would have spent way more money on drinks if given the opportunity, meaning...being asked...Omar was the exception. He is clearly the best waiter at the pool/main restaurant. Also, Alfredo's and Napa Grill staff was excellent.

All in all, we would return and recommend to others with set expectations...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elf.dml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your comments about your recent stay at the Resort. We always looking forward to have valuable guest like you and meet needs and expectations and your feedback help us very much on this matter, I am sharing your nice comments with all the staff.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcome you again very soon, to this “su casa” in Cozumel.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Me and my wife stayed here from January 29-February 2 and had a great time. We stayed at this resort last year and decided to return again. There where not many people at the resort this time of year and it was very quiet and peaceful. We stayed in an ocean front room next to the beach and could walk to the beach in just a few steps. During the week we had the beach to ourselves and on the weekend only two or three more couples shared our side. I went scuba diving every morning with the on site Scuba Du staff and boats. They where good ,very knowledgeable and helpful. My wife went to the spa a couple of times and said it was very nice. The food was good at the restaurants but for the same price you can get a cab into town and back for about the same price. We enjoy eating out at many of the great restaurants in Cozumel so we usually go out at night. Last time we stayed we had money stolen out of our room so we where more careful this time. It did seem as though there was always staff trying to come into the room at all times during the day for some reason or another. Everything was clean and we had a very great stay at the resort and will defiantly return again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dscaddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you !

We certainly appreciate your comments about your recent stay in our resort, It was a real pleasure served you.

Hopefully you we can see you once again in a near future.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This was our ninth visit to the hotel and as always the relaxation starts with the grand driveway entrance into the property which is lined with different varieties of palm trees and other tropical vegetation. The hotel has several different types of rooms, from a presidential suite near the beach to tower rooms, which I would not recommend. You will find all that you expect in a 4 or 5 star hotel, from free WIFI to European, USA and Mexican television channels. The service has always been exemplary, and most importantly, the beds are top quality and extremely comfortable.

We prefer rooms on the ground floor with a view of the adult pool, specifically 2102 thru 2122. The best and most private of these are 2108 thru 2118. These rooms have a pool and garden view and a very relaxing patio, but in addition to an inside shower, you will also find a walled in private patio outdoor shower with tropical flora. We HIGHLY recommend that you try these rooms.

Breakfast in the main restaurant is very relaxing and carefree. All the food, breads, fruits and juices are delicious and it’s a great way to start a very relaxing day of snorkeling, horseback riding, visiting the town of San Miguel or reading your favorite book.

Room Tip: Do not stay in any of the tower rooms, there is an adult swimming pool and a family swimming pool.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Presidente InterContinental Cozumel Resort & Spa and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay.

I am very pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you regard our hotel to be one of the best. Thank you sincerely for commending our service team in this regard. Your kind recognition will be very well received.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to “su casa” in Mexico.

Sincerely,

Henry Walther,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,100 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,729 reviews
4.7 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#14 of 52 in Cozumel
3,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
0.9 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
511 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#18 of 52 in Cozumel
2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera a Chankanaab km 6.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $240 - $913 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidente InterContinental Cozumel Resort & Spa is the perfect balance of energy and ease. Adventurers love the scuba centre and nearby Chankanaab Park. Bringing the kids? The resort s Chiqui Club will keep them busy all day. When you want a slightly slower pace, you can head for our stretch of white sand, the exotic Mandara Spa or Cozumel s shops.After a 25 million dollar investment, this resort offers upgraded facilities and a unique vacation experience for the discerning traveler. The place to discover three experiences: great Dive, unique Spa treatments and Golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente Intercontinental Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Presidente Intercontinental Cozumel Resort And Spa
Intercontinental Cozumel
El Presidente Cozumel
Cozumel Presidente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing