We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“may way is ready. diving with the pros”
Review of Palancar Reef

Palancar Reef
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Snorkeling Tour and Cozumel Beach Party
More Info
$51.00*
and up
Caribbean Combo - Sailing, Snorkeling and Sunset
More Info
$54.99*
and up
Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs
Ranked #1 of 159 things to do in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful reef sits in about 80 feet of water and is a popular diving spot.
Cozumel, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“may way is ready. diving with the pros”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Charro "Don't be a Burro" started diving in Cozumel in 1968 as a divemaster with Aqua Safari. In those days the diving was undiscovered and each dive was an adventure. Over the years he learned English, was certified as one of the first instructors on Cozumel and introduced thousands of divers to the wonders of the reefs. He ventured out on his own in 1989 with his first boat the Sinaloa, attracting many of the divers who had been diving with him over the years. His independant dive operation had been known by many names: The Sinaloa, Dive the Mayte, Charro & Sons...but most commonly, simply as "Charro".

Thanks to excellent diving and friendly atmosphere found on his boat, Charro's business has grown into a successful dive operation. His sons, Carlos & Simon, grew up as part of the dive community, helping on the boat and in the water when they were kids. It was a "natural" for them to join Charro's operation and now the three of them work together as boat captain, sailor and divemaster. Each trained and certified to perform all positions.

The Mayte has now replaced the my way . But the friendliness and excellent diving remain the same.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank divin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,055 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,491
    430
    99
    22
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Joplin, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Palancar Bricks was excellent”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Very popular reef, with good reason. Lots of marine life. Good visibility, current changes in velocity though.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaribeJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level 6 Contributor
454 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Wow, just wow!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We dove Palancar Gardens and Palancar Caves during our 9 dive trip. These two were definitely my two favorite sites. The coral formations were absolutely amazing. The swim thrus were a lot of fun as well. We had ~150' vis and 81 degree water on both dives (diff days). There was a good amount of fish and critters but the star was the coral and their formations. Definitely two sites I will be back to.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“What a dream!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We did it. I was afraid of encountering some friends that I rather only see in films. We did see two barracudas, one was HUGE but they didn't bug us at all. I was quite surprised how much they ignore us if we don't cross their paths. We also saw a turtle and a large ray- which was stunning. What a beauty. Cozumel is so blessed to have these reefs that are full of colors and life. Do it, even if you are a bit of a chicken like me, just do it. Is such an amazing experience. I was also quite surprised that they were kids doing it. We had a woman in our tour that she did not swim very well so she was using a life vest and the circle one so she could look but her torso was never fully in the water. Really an experience for pretty much anyone.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Solci13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Amazing Corals”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Dove the reef with Aldora divers. Stunning Corals - mountains of purples, browns and greens towering above us provided great swim throughs. Visibility was apx 100' at 75'depth. The star here is definitely the Coral but there were plenty of amazing fish to see. We watched a lobster climbing along the Coral - it's body was at least 3 foot long.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kkiddkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palancar Reef also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Palancar Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing