We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abuelo Gerardo

Abuelo Gerardo
Ranked #57 of 359 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Affordable breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

After paying top-dollar at our hotel for breakfast we decided to go into town to drop off our laundry and have breakfast. They brought out fresh toasted bread. My eggs moluneno were tasty: 2 fried eggs over tortillas, coves in red sauce, peas and diced ham with plantains and beans on the side. My husband ordered the huevos Gerardo: Two fried eggs over toast with sauce and cheese on top, also with plantains and beans on the side. My kids ordered pancakes and French toast. But both my children were enamored by the drinks they ordered which came in huge goblets--horchata and a fresh blended strawberry milk made with real fruit. Our whole breakfast for 4 with beverages came out about $20. Del Mar laundry is 3 blocks away, around the corner too on 20 ave sur between 1 sur and Juarez.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lotusberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    46
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

The best place in town!! Friendliest service and the best fish you can get in this part of the world!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gahanoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
156 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Love Abuelo's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stop here every trip I make to Cozumel. After 8yrs, it is still one of my favorite. I love their ceviche and their fish cannot be beat. Excellent! Will go back again next year.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AbroadDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Quebec
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best seafood plater on the Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

If you want fresh fish this is the place to go....

It was our first visit to Abuelo Gerardo but it won't be the last. We had great food, great friends and now a new friend in Alvaro the owner.

Would recommend this place to everyone in the future....

Mile gracias Alvaro...

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lyner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubrovnik, Croatia
1 review
“great :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

The best restaurant in Cozumel, great sea food and staff :)

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunfl0ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abuelo Gerardo also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Abuelo Gerardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing