We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozumel diving with a professional full service dive operation”
Review of Blue XT Sea Diving

Blue XT Sea Diving
Ranked #15 of 324 Outdoor Activities in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Founder, owner and Texas native Christi Courtney started Blue XT~Sea out of her island home, tooling around on a moped with a "Keep Austin Weird" sticker on the gas tank. With very little advertising and much goodwill, we grew to become one of Cozumel's best-loved dive operations. It wasn't just the famous surface-interval muffins and other snacks, it was the personal service that has set us apart from the very beginning. In October 2005, we purchased our second dive boat, Bandida II. Many of you know the story of how Wilma destroyed her before getting her launched - but we persisted and launched her in April 2006 and she operates alongside our original boat, Shamu providing greater choices and flexibility for our divers, snorkelers and guests.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed April 25, 2011

I would highly recommend Blue XT Sea diving to anyone who wishes to have an incredible diving experience in Cozumel Mexico. I feel the most significant difference with Blue XT Sea diving verses other Cozumel dive operations is that they have smaller groups usually having a maximum 6 divers per boat which provides very personalized and professional attention to each individual diver at all skill levels.

The dive boat captains and dive masters impressed me with their professionalism and knowledge of the beautiful reefs and abundant sea life. Another key feature is that they personally take care of your dive gear between each days diving. We found our dive gear clean, prepped and ready when they pick us up on the dock in the morning.

We stayed at the El Cid resort which is right on the Ocean which allowed us to be picked up by the dive boat on the resort dock in the morning. This really made things easy for us. Overall we could not be happier with our diving experience.

Date of experience: April 2011
2  Thank diving_geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"pedro pablo"
in 19 reviews
"dive op"
in 22 reviews
"surface interval"
in 30 reviews
"boat captain"
in 24 reviews
"fresh towels"
in 5 reviews
"stay hydrated"
in 3 reviews
"the reefs"
in 20 reviews
"full service"
in 6 reviews
"valet service"
in 6 reviews
"dive times"
in 6 reviews
"casa mexicana"
in 4 reviews
"experienced divers"
in 13 reviews
"each morning"
in 7 reviews
"cozumel waters"
in 3 reviews
"small boat"
in 9 reviews
"always on time"
in 5 reviews
"repeat customers"
in 6 reviews
Filter

231 - 235 of 249 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2011

Have dove with Christi several times now. My wife and I and 3 boys (now 13, 16 & 19) have really enjoyed everyone associated with this company. My youngest got his advanced certification with them last year (while the rest of us enjoyed the diving!). This year, my oldest and I went for a week of great diving.

Small boats mean for less crowded dives, and more flexibility. Experienced dive masters assess skills quickly and tailor the diving and in--water oversight accordingly.

Christi herself is great to work with and knows the island very well. She gives honest feedback on hotels, etc. Last year we booked ourselves at El Cantil (which she recommended and we loved), and this year she booked us at Casa Mexican - where we also enjoyed a great stay.

I don't have a bad thing to say about this company - we look forward to many years of great diving with them!

Date of experience: March 2011
1  Thank GJ62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Christi and her crew at Blue XT Sea are wonderful. This was our first diving trip to Cozumel. Blue XT Sea was a referral from the dive master at our local scuba shop in Colorado. We dove with the same group of people all week, so we were able to make new friendships. My husband and I are new to diving, only 3 years. The group we dove with were much more experienced and really helped us advance in our diving. Miguel and Pedro are great dive masters with a lot of experience. They were great at pointing out the sea life. One day we even saw 11 Eagle Rays and finished up with a pod of 20 dolphins swimming by durning our safety stop. That was awesome! Each morning when we first would get on the boat our gear was already set up and ready to go. We dove by our computers. My husband and I were usually the first to surface and Hector the boat captain was always there in a couple minutes to help us out. When we got back on the boat he had our water bottles refilled and then he would set up our gear on the new tank and give us a towel. He kept the boat very clean and neat.
Christi is very nice and she even booked our hotel at Casa Mexicana for us. That is a very nice place. All in all our trip is wonderful and we are already on planning another trip back next year. Just wish we could go more often.

Date of experience: February 2011
1  Thank Brenda_Mike2123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

From Leon and Patricia, this was our first time diving in Cozumel. It was a great experience and Blue XT did a fantastic job. We were very impressed with the dive master. He gave us the plan, discussed safety in detail, and dived the exact profile that we had discussed. He pointed out a lot of unique sea creatures and we really enjoyed the underwater tour that we took of the reefs. But, one of the best parts was the surface interval. The food and drinks and fruit made it perfect for waiting for the second dive! Thanks a lot, and we are already making plans for next year when we will be returning.

Thanks.

2  Thank Leon055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Let me follow that statement up by saying that I have made over 400 dives with Blue Xt~Sea and I would not even consider anyone else. They have certainly spoiled me. I have dived with several other shops on the Island and for my money Blue Xt~Sea is tops. When I arrive in Cozumel I get checked in and take my gear to the shop. That is the last time I touch it until it is time to go home. They keep the gear every night and rinse it and dry it and then the next morning when they pick you up at your hotel your gear is on a tank and waiting for you. Even after your last dives before heading home it is rinsed and dried and packed for my trip home.

Between dives the surface interval is always at a beach club and there are always warm fresh baked goodies and plenty of fruit to eat. Of course there is always all the water you can drink.

For my money the DMs are the best on the Island. Arturo has a degree in Marine Biology, and Pedro has made over 10,000 dives all in Cozumel, and Miguel is one of the best videographers on the island as well as an excellent dive master. There is not anyone that knows the sea life or the reefs better than these guys.

Dives are always by your computer and they will allow you to dive to that computer. No short dives because someone else has to go up. I have made 2 hour dives with them several times; they will not rush you at anytime.

I would without hesitation recommend Blue Xt~Sea to anyone going to Cozumel. In fact my 11 year old grandson wants to be certified and I will trust him to anyone else but Christi and her crew at Blue Xt~Sea diving.

Christi is and angel on the island and is the most honest and strait forward person that I have had the pleasure of dealing with. Now you see why I do not even consider going anywhere else.

Thank You for your time.
Chuck Peterson

2  Thank Chuck86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue XT Sea Diving also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Blue XT Sea Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing