We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpectedly lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beachouse Dive Hostel Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Unexpectedly lovely”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My wife and I spent a night here before heading to the mainland to explore, but we would have loved to stay longer. Tina and Adolfo are awesome, chill people who run a clean operation. They're a wealth of knowledge about the whole region, so if you're curious about something, just ask. (Merry Christmas again, you guys! We'll cook you up some more gnocchi when we swing back through!)

It's close to San Miguel, while still being off the beaten track for cruise line passengers. It really is a great value for the price: the place has a very comfy, homey vibe with a great communal kitchen space, and a couple of areas to relax. Super-pretty beach like, a 30-second walk away. Really neat little gem that we will certainly be visiting again when we're back on the island. We would have loved to try out diving with Adolfo, but time constraints--definitely next time, buddy!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCloakAndBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachouse H, Owner at Beachouse Dive Hostel Cozumel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear my friends, Thank you so much for this great Review. I rebember you well and we wish you both the best. Hope really one day you come back, so we can have more chats and enjoy our beautiful island. Take care wish you all the Best. Saludo Tina, Adolfo and Co.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    31
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
112
49
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My partner and I stayed 3 nights at the Hostel and did two 2-tank dives with Adolfo. The room and house was clean, spacious, and bright. We were given as much space, time, and help as we needed. Tina helped us settle in with useful information about the island, and managed to locate a rental car for us when literally every other (automatic) car on the island was unavailable. Wi-fi was excellent - even better than a lot of the 4,5 star hotels on the island, thanks to Adolfo's rig. Oh - and a private beach with lovely calm water 2 minutes away? Amazing!

Also, I cannot commend the diving any more. Adolfo and crew were attentive, humourous, easy-going, and everything was personalized. If you don't like diving with big companies and groups, come right here. My partner and I managed to have the lovely boat by ourselves with the crew both days! If you head to the marina with Adolfo, you'll get to ride his bad@ss jeep!

If you're staying here, it would be highly recommended/necessary to:

1) Have some mode of vehicular transportation arranged - be it bicycle, moped, car or otherwise, as indeed it is about 10 minutes from the city (by car).
2) Bring your groceries; it is only residential nearby.
3) Bring your own towel if you're fussy about the quality of them - I had A LOT of tiny lint balls all over my hair, face, and body whenever I used the towels there.
4) Have good tolerance of heat/humidity as there is no a/c. It really wasn't an issue for us with 2 fans going and windows open, but we can see it being one for others. It's a 'hostel' after all, albeit an excellent one!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krntsng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Our stay at Beach House Hostel was absolutely wonderful! Tina and Adolfo are way more then hosts. Within minutes, they will make you feel at home, and by the time you're leaving, you will be tearing up, feeling that you're leaving long life friends behind. Whether it's going diving with Adolfo, having crazy-laughing chats with Tina, or going for a solo walk by the beach at night... your stay at The Beach House will be a true experience of the best that Cozumel has to offer! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kabilea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights. Tina and adolfo were more than helpful and made us feel at home. Adolfo took us with his dive company which was great value, and the spots we were taken to were incredible! Do not miss out, and make sure to go to palancar reef. We did 3 dives, and were given some great guacamole on board!
They offer good price for car/scooter rental, as taxis are expensive. I suggest rent a scooter and explore the island. Dont get ripped off by companies next to the ferry.
There is a gorgeous beach next to the hostel. Good kitchen to make food in as restaurants are downtown. Nice clean, big rooms. Homely. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justiney88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachouse H, Owner at Beachouse Dive Hostel Cozumel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear J. Thank you so much for the great review and that you both enjoyed the Beachouse Cozumel, even with rain. Saludo Tina and Adolfo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent 1 night in the private king room, and wow this place was clean! Comfortable bed, large bathroom, everything was spotless. Tina was very friendly, gave us a ton of info about the area and beaches, where to eat etc. It's a 60 second walk to some beautiful beaches. Be advised though to pack in some groceries if you're planning on staying there for a few days, as there is very very little in the surrounding area. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and felt at home. Would have stayed longer expect of the distance from town. Only complaint would be the lack of A/C, it gets very steamy in the room even into the late night. Thanks again highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cteclipse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachouse H, Owner at Beachouse Dive Hostel Cozumel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our home hostel and we appreciate your feedback. We apologize if you feel very hot in the room, somehow they may not have read that we can not provide A/C for this great price. We provide many fans in every room. We feel for the price we offer good value We have a great self-catering kitchen to work in - we recommend always bring some food with you. . There is 2 restaurants (Playa Azul and Buccanos) which provides breakfast/lunch/dinner (open from 9 am to 5pm) only 10 minutes Beach walk from our hostel. We hope that all of our guests will enjoy their stay with us in the future. We will always strive to achieve the best customer service and client satisfaction that we can offer."
Tina and Adolfo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Located in the north shore, full of peace with cool people, its like being in home! If you have the chance, you have to meet Adolfo & Tina and of course the rest of the family....Budha & Chelita!!
Good price, nice place, tasty food, save, clean, peacefull etc etc etc!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiguelEcheva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachouse H, Owner at Beachouse Dive Hostel Cozumel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear M, Thank you so much for the super great time with you. We still miss you we hope soon you come back. Saludo Tina and Adolfo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We originally planned to stay 3 nights at beach house Cozumel with Tina and Adolfo but extended our stay for a further 2 nights. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable and the common areas were great. We really enjoyed cooling off in the pool in the garden and met some great fellow travelers. Tina was really helpful with arranging car hire and taxi services (a necessity if you want to get around Cozumel as the beach house is about a 10min drive to downtown). She was a great host and gave us lots of useful advice as to where to visit on the island. The only complaint we have is that although there were many fans provided in the rooms, there was no air conditioning and this meant our nights were very hot.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms both upstairs, the one was en suite... Try book the en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andycawds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachouse H, Owner at Beachouse Dive Hostel Cozumel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear. Thank you so much for your nice review. We had a great time with you.
From Positive to Negative, these review will enable us to better our product in the future, and ensure that our customers receive the highest form of Customer Service. We apologize if you feel very hot in the room, somehow they may not have read that we can not provide A/C for this price. We provide many fans in every room. We feel for the price we offer good value We are not located in town. Taxi's and Rentals are available from us for your convenience. Even you stay in the City you need to rent to go to the best beach and you here on the best side. We hope that all of our guests will enjoy their stay with us in the future. We will always strive to achieve the best customer service and client satisfaction that we can offer."
Tina and Adolfo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
7.3 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#21 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
1.8 mi away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
0.7 mi away
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
0.4 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachouse Dive Hostel Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachouse Dive Hostel Cozumel

Property: Beachouse Dive Hostel Cozumel
Address: Country Club Lote 36 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachouse Dive Hostel Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great place to relax, away from the city in a quiet country club environment just steps away from a private beach. It a house, home - very friendly atmosphere and easy to meet other travelers. Cooking facilities - great kitchen to work in - free coffee, purified water / we recommend bring some food with you for breakfast etc. We provide excelled food delivery service for a good price, if you don't wanna cook. There is 2 restaurants which provides breakfast/lunch/dinner, open from 9am to 5 pm, 12 min. Beach walk from us. Private pool, free beach towels,wi/fi, Free island map, tour/dive/kite surf information and more - everything you need is here - Location - we are 3 miles north of Cozumel downtown and a few steps from the best white sand beaches (note: there are no beaches in down town Cozumel, you must travel. Look at the maps.) We recommend to rent a scooter or car in Cozumel. We can help you with that. We get always the best deal for you, just ask. 4 rooms - spacious - each with own bathroom - (no a/c) ceiling fans throughout and fully insect screened, hot water. Services - excellent scuba instructor adolfo - learn how to dive with us Best kite surf conditions on our beach (nov-april). We know all the experts. The Beachouse can organize all activities, like diving, fishing, kite, paddle board, horse back riding and more. Lastly....we make this place awesome for anyone who is coming to cozumel! Cu soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Beachouse Dive Hostel Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachouse Hostel Cozumel Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing